We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #13 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Unforgettable hotel! The decoration is beautiful the service is great, concierge made all kinds of reservations for us and the room was so beautiful we had a hard time leaving in the mornings! Small chatuex style in the middle of paris, the location is perfect.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bibiana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Ms Z.,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for posting such a kind review! I am happy to read that you enjoyed the décor and exclusive location of our little chateau in the heart of Paris, as well as the caring and authentic service of our teams with a special mention to our Clefs d’Or concierges!

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    109
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
149
600
28
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a night in St James, it was amazing! We got upgraded to the Suite. We also brought our Lab to the hotel. After the check in, the staff would walk you to the room, on the way, she would explain the facilities and restaurants to you. In the room , the dog's mattress and bowl were well ready. Everyone loved my dog, make me felt very welcoming. Unlike the typical and general well known of 'French' attitude's service, the staffs in St James were very polite, friendly and warm!
Location wise, 5 mins walk to metro line 2, 20 min walk to Arc de triumph and 20 min walk to tracadero where you get the view of eiffel towel. at the same time, could have a coffee sitting down at the cafes nearby and enjoy the view. Since it is close to Arc de triumph, from there, you can easily walk to the Champs Elysees. A walking lover like me, would recommend to walk from the hotel to arc de triumph, then to champs eleysees, then to jardin de tuileries then to musee de louvre.
Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Mrs M.,

I thank you very much for choosing us and am very glad that you – and your Lab!- enjoyed the caring service of our teams.
We aim at making each of our guests feel at home in our little chateau, conveniently located in the 16th arrondissement, at walking distance from the Champs Elysées and Trocadero, but also very close to the boutiques, cafés and restaurants of Victor Hugo avenue and around.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, maybe for a bit longer, to try the Michelin-awarded cuisine of our chef Virginie Basselot, the Guerlain treatments of our spa, and of course to unwind in the garden with its themed bar!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

A magic place that lives and breathes the Relais Chateaux principles and you very quickly feel "home"(well, wish it were home !!) or rather in a peace heaven at the center of Paris. Stayed there for a difficult business trip and i believe that the service and attention i received have contributed to making it a sucess. Close the Porte Dauphine Metro line 2 and a stone throw away from everything that has to be seen. Want to mention room service I used every night which is very good, simple and healthy and served very very fast. I loved having a Nespresso machine in my room with free capsules (i hate having things at my disposal in a room but where you get charged everytime you use them). Last the little garden at the back gives you the opportunity to have a drink outside under a big airballoon. Merci Saint-James and staff !

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Ms G.,

It is a great pleasure for each of us to read that your felt the magic and homey atmosphere we aim at offering each guest with a caring and personalized service, and on behalf of our entire team, I thank you very much for including us in the success of your business trip. I am glad you got a moment to unwind under the air balloons in the garden.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon, to try the Michelin-starred cuisine of our Chef Virginie Basselot as well as the Guerlain treatments of our spa.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This lovely boutique hotel aims to please. From the moment we entered through the gates of this stately home we felt transformed to another time of refinement and old world charm.
The staff have extended themselves to assure our stay is comfortable and memorable.
The rooms are well appointed and the decor is charming. Much bigger than what you get in Paris at more-pricey hotels and the location is within walking distance to the Arc and Champs de élysées. There is a really nice onsite bar and restaurant offering both French and American favorites but the piece d'resistance is the on site spa treatments - simply awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Ms N.,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that the location and crazy-chic décor of our Paris home were to your liking, as well as our especially large rooms and the menus of our Michelin-starred restaurant and library-bar.
Our confidential spa is one of the only few worldwide to offer Guerlain treatments, provided by Pauline and her team.

Be sure it would be our pleasure to serving you again, with the hope you would consider the Saint James Paris your home away from home.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

It was my wife's birthday and we picked Paris to celebrate. The stay at St James was amazing and the neighborhood is great. What a great choice! From the authentic French design to the great service it was an absolute pleasure to be staying here. WE can't wait to come back for her next birthday.
Thanks so much St. James!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for choosing us to celebrate the birthday of Mrs S. We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed our Relais & Châteaux property, located in the very chic 16th arrondissement. We all look forward to serving you again next year, and hopefully often in the future!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A spectacular hotel! Beautiful! The moment you enter the property it is an escape from the hustle of the city. Enchanting spaces from the garden to the library bar. Each room has its own distinct character. The service was above and beyond!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LNJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear LNJoy,

Thank you so much for choosing us and for posting this very enthusiastic review! I am glad you enjoyed the location, décor and unique feel of our little chateau as well as the caring and authentic service of our teams. Please visit again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnegie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We came to Paris for our honeymoon and chose this hotel for our first stop. What a great choice! From the authentic French decor to the great service it was an absolute pleasure to be staying here. I advised the hotel of our honeymoon prior and the room was waiting for us with rose petals and champagne. We dined at the restaurant which was great and had drinks in the library bar which was fantastic. The room was quiet and hotel within easy reach of the Eiffel Tower and metro. Overall I cannot speak highly enough of Saint James and would not hesitate to stay there again on our next visit to the wonderful city of Paris.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for choosing us as a hideaway in the French capital for your honeymoon and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy that we could help create memories during this very special time and that you liked each aspect of your stay.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#19 of 1,812 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maison Souquet
Maison Souquet
#5 of 1,812 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
La Reserve Paris - Hotel and Spa
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise
Hotel La Tamise
#4 of 1,812 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#8 Spa Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#10 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing