We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #17 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My favorite hotel in Paris - by a long way

Very quiet old chateau inside the peripherique (and quite close to the highway for easy access). When you walk through the front gate you feel as though you are home.

Some rooms are 2 stories and some 1. If you have a preference you should indicate that when you make the reservation. I prefer 300 and 400 series rooms facing the front.

Library Bar is my favorite anywhere - atmosphere is perfect for a drink before dinner, after dinner or - ideally - both.

Concierge service is also excellent - friendly and very knowledgeable.

Hotel staff are excellent - friendly for sure and always seem happy. That is rare in a hotel - but then the Saint James is more like a home than a hotel.

There is a meeting room for small business meetings. It is downstairs and very quiet.

About 5 minutes walk to Metro (Port Dauphine or Victor Hugo)

If you can live without hustle and hassle then Saint James is heaven.

Room Tip: 300 or 400 series rooms facing the front are my preference 2-story rooms are good for couples tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Argyle41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Argyle41,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this very kind review. It is a pleasure for all of us to read that you consider the Saint James Paris your home in the city, as this is precisely what we are aiming at. Thank you also on behalf of our teams for mentioning them, it is true that everyone does their best to offer a caring and personalized service in a friendly and peaceful atmosphere. Combined to the one-of-its-kind chateau setting we have the pleasure of working in, it is the promise of a unique experience for each of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back regularly and will always serve you with the same attention.
Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel Saint James is a luxury hotel in a nice small garden. It is comfortably located close to the RER station Avenue Foch and the metro station Porte Dauphine. I got an upgrade - junior suite which was spacious, nicely decorated and properly equipped - caffee maker, safe and other amenities which you would expect in a hotel of this class. The bed was very comfortable. Since the suite was under the roof, there were only roof windows. Therefore my room was a little dark. The hotel service was good, check in and check out were fast and efficient. The breakfast was included in my room price and it had a form of buffet where everyone was able to find something to be pleased. Of course, the relation between price and value is not very good but it is a usual situation in hotels in big European cities.

Room Tip: Roof junior suite is a good choice as it is comfortable and quiet if you do not mind that there is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Mr B.,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post this kind review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the services of our team as well as our facilities.
The Saint James Paris is the only chateau-hotel of the city, set in its private garden, and our rooms and suites are much larger than the Paris average (a Superior room is 375 square feet), making it a much better value than many other properties.
Each room is different and we will be pleased to assign you a room on another floor for your next visit, hopefully soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We jut spent a few days at the Saint James. Wonderful service. The concierge was extremely helpful with everything. They kindly upgraded us and gifted a nice bottle of wine on our arrival as we were celebrating an anniversary. Room service was excellent.
Decor very eclectic. I felt a bit like Alice in Wonderland but that didn't detract from the stay at all.
It is a little off the beaten track but hotel organised taxis and there was a metro stop close by.
All in all a very good experience

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Mrs W.,

Thank you very much for choosing our crazy-chic little château for your birthday and for posting this kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us as well as the services of our teams. The upper part of the 16th district is one of the most exclusive areas of the city, and we are just off the boutiques and restaurants of Victor Hugo avenue, at a 10-minute walk from the Arc de Triomphe and 15-minute walk from the Trocadero.

We all hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in a near future!

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

And to think that my husband had originally wanted to stay at the George V when we visited Paris, we are so glad that we changed our plans!

St James did not fail to meet our expectations, and in fact exceeded them when we were informed of our up-grade to a Junior Suite, what a delightful surprise.

The staff at St James were, without exception welcoming, helpful, quietly efficient and friendly - from reception to housekeeping and all in between!

Our room was incredibly peaceful, which to be honest we didnt expect in the middle of Paris. The bed and bedding were of a very high standard (pillows amazing), and the decor although sumptuous was calming and restful. I can honestly say that I havent had such a good nights sleep in an hotel.

We ate in the restaurant twice during our stay. Both times, the meal was amazing; food, wine, cocktails and service all excellent. A bit pricey, but overall worth it. Dont expect fast service, the whole point of this hotel is to relax and enjoy the atmosphere.

I had read another review on Trip Advisor that mentioned that the hotel was a bit far out from the centre of Paris, which is partly true. However, if you enjoy walking and the weather is good, then the centre is only a reasonable walk away, and if you dont fancy walking there are metro and RER stations only a couple of minutes up the road.

So, having tried very hard to think of any negative issues that we could report, well I really cant think of any. Suffice to say we didnt want to leave and cant wait to go back. St James isn't just our favourite hotel in Paris, but possibly Europe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy_Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for changing your plans and for choosing to experience our small Relais & Châteaux property! It is a real pleasure for all of us to read that we managed to exceed your expectations. We want each of our guests to feel at home in our crazy-chic little chateau, so providing an efficient but friendly and personal service, and making sure our guests enjoy peaceful nights, are our priorities. I am happy that the awarded cuisine of Virginie Basselot and the selection of our sommelier Micaël Morais were to your liking!
During your next visit, please also try the exclusive Guerlain treatments of our spa. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon and will keep working to make sure there will never be any negative issue for you to report!

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Amazing Hotel Location
Staff are a CREDIT to ST James They were So Very polite,Discreet, Respectful,Upmost attentiveness & friendliness
The Food the fusion of flavours & textures,Thank You for Upgrade

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Dawn68-11,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for posting this very kind and efficient review! It was a pleasure for us to welcome you, please visit again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed here for 5 days in april 2014. Overall I enjoyed the experience very much so. I only have a few complaints, that certainly are shadowed by the sheer beauty of this magnificent hotel. My first major complaint is the food at the restaurant. The last night My girlfriend and I decided to try this place out, the food was really not very good. I had to eat my main course alone, because the waiter didn't have enough confidence to bring out my girlfriends chicken, because it was overcooked he said. The wait was not worth it because her chicken was dry and very salty, as was my lamb. We paid the cheque and promptly went back to our room. Other then the food being legitimately awful on this particular night, the hotel was gorgeous, the staff relatively friendly and helpful, the spa was great, the food very expensive but worth it( the burger was delicious) I definitely recommend this place, and when I'm in Paris again I would stay here again I loved it.

Room Tip: buy water from a nearby store, the water was 9 euro's and a rip off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Mr M.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our little chateau in Paris. I am happy to read that the décor of our house, the service of the teams and our spa in partnership with Guerlain were to your liking. I am truly sorry about your bad experience at the restaurant, and also genuinely surprised: the cuisine of our Chef Virginie Basselot is widely acclaimed and was awarded a Michelin star, so please be assured that there will be no further disappointment. Thankfully your other culinary experiences were satisfying.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back regularly in the future and to become your crazy-chic home in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

What can I say - an exceptionally lovely property, tastefully elegant and chic. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite as well which sealed the deal, as it were. Breakfasts were lovely. Reception staff were welcoming and Pascal, the concierge was helpful and charming.

I would definitely stay at the St. James again and am eager to try other hotel members of the Relais et Chateaux portfolio.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear DoctorY,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for posting this very kind review! We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Saint James Paris soon and are confident you will have a wonderful time experiencing Relais & Châteaux properties throughout the world.

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#25 of 1,802 in Paris
797 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maison Souquet
Maison Souquet
#1 of 1,802 in Paris
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#46 of 1,802 in Paris
1,102 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#19 of 1,802 in Paris
472 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Spa Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $390 - $838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing