We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Thought I'd died and gone to heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #16 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Thought I'd died and gone to heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

What can I say - an exceptionally lovely property, tastefully elegant and chic. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite as well which sealed the deal, as it were. Breakfasts were lovely. Reception staff were welcoming and Pascal, the concierge was helpful and charming.

I would definitely stay at the St. James again and am eager to try other hotel members of the Relais et Chateaux portfolio.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear DoctorY,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for posting this very kind review! We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Saint James Paris soon and are confident you will have a wonderful time experiencing Relais & Châteaux properties throughout the world.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    115
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
153
617
30
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights on a mini honeymoon. got a lovely upgrade and champagne, breakfast in the room every morning, they even decorated the room with flower petals, not exactly my cup of tea, but the wife loved it. Concierge was very helpful, from tips for using the metro to booking at 2 very hard to book restaurants.
Decor was very parisian, red, black and leopard print in our room, not to my taste but nicely done.
The hotel is set in its own grounds and is very peaceful at night.
A very good hotel at a very reasonable price, we looked at the bristol and a few others first and were amazed at the quality from the saint james. thanks you very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Mr H.,

Thank you very much for choosing to spend your mini-honeymoon with us and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our property as well as the services of our Concierges Clefs d’Or. Each of our rooms and suites is different and I am sure we could have found one matching your personal taste better, please do not hesitate to ask next time you visit!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back often to our little chateau in Paris.
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

What a surprise! An extraordinarily grand and elegant hotel slightly out of the way but well worth the detour. Striking decor throughout, delicious food and very attentive staff. What more could one want? We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxuryloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Luxuryloafers,

Thank you very much for finding us! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your experience at our little chateau, hidden in its gardens, minutes from the Trocadero, Victor Hugo avenue and Champs Elysées. As you kindly mentioned, we do our best to offer a truly caring and personalized service, and our Chef Virginie Basselot just received her first Michelin star.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Bambi Sloan did a great job redecorating this charming hotel. Staff, especially at reception was very friendly and helpful. We have felt like home, especially with Pilou the black cat who gave the hotel its personal touch.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uhuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Uhuj,

Thank you very much for your very kind review! It is a pleasure for all of us to read that you enjoyed the crazy-chic décor imagined by Bambi Sloan for our home, as well as our services. Pilou and our entire team look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

A truly unique hotel, beautiful rooms, was given one with two floors. Wonderfully appointed rooms, great service. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the quiet gardens for a drink. Would stay here again in a heartbeat, a great Parisian experience a million miles from the tourist traps located more centrally.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zane_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Zane_8,

Thank you very much for choosing our little chateau and for taking the time to post such a kind review! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us in our Parisian home, surrounded by its gardens, yet at a 10-minute walk from the Arc de Triomphe. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

You would get better value staying elsewhere. While the staff was very nice, they did not do a good job with following up with requests to make the stay better. One example was the temp in the room. I asked multiple times for someone to come check the system (the room was stifling hot). Each time, I was told someone was on their way but no one checked on it. Finally, someone did come and they said the air con is not "on" in the winter and I should open my window. At some point, while there was still things wrong with the room, I knew it wasn't worth bringing to the attention of the staff. Breakfast was good, room decor was nice but very dark. They highlight of the stay was the spa. It was excellent. Worth staying elsewhere and then just booking a separate appointment.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank JSPrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for staying with us and am truly sorry to read that your felt one of your requests was not handled efficiently enough, especially since you generally liked the service of our staff, the décor of your room, the quality of breakfast and the Guerlain treatments of our spa.
We will ensure a better communication on heating and air-conditioning to avoid future misunderstandings. Should you choose to give us another chance, please specify that you would like a brighter room, as each of them is different. I am also onsite and happy to meet each of our guests for any questions or issues they would like to address during their visit.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Perfect in every way! Beautiful property, exquisite furnishings and artwork. Delicious food and wines. Professional, friendly, helpful staff. Everything one would expect from a Relais & Chateau property!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 605Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Mrs A.,

Thank you so much for staying in our Relais & Châteaux property in Paris and for writing this very kind review! I don’t know if we are perfect in every way at all times, but we strive to offer a genuine experience to each of our guests with a truly personal and authentic service in this fantastic and very unique setting.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back often in the future and to become your home when in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#19 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Opera / Bourse
Maison Souquet
Maison Souquet
#4 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Trocadero
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
#30 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#10 Spa Hotel in Paris
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing