We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pure indulgent treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #17 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

What can I say about the Saint James? Fabulous hotel with an impeccable level of service. My wife and I stayed here last week for two nights as a special treat as it was our honeymoon. We were very impressed by the grand setting being apparently the only remaining chateau-hotel in the city. The hotel lies in the upmarket 17th arrondissemont and is only a short walk from the metro along Av. Bugeaud or Av. Victor Hugo.

The grounds and approach to the hotel are grand with an attractive archway and fountain. You really feel that you are about to enter something with a little extra. The doormen and reception staff were attentive, polite and helpful at all times. Our room was ready despite an early check in and after a courteous welcome, we were shown to our suite which we had been upgraded to. A complimentary bottle of good quality champagne awaited us to celebrate our marriage only two days earlier. A very nice touch.

We have stayed in impressive hotels before, but the interior decor of the Saint James really impressed us. Bambi Sloan has done an amazing job of restyling the hotel in a grand and traditional but very unique style. Our suite was easily the best room we have stayed in, particularly the level of detail, comfort and the conservatory style entrance. Sitting there sipping champagne with the light flooding in , surrounded by plants and comfortable faux antique furniture made it feel like our little Parisian sanctuary.

The room (508) was so comfortable with a king sized bed and extremely quiet. It felt like there was nobody in the other rooms, it was that quiet at night. Apparently the Dali Lama himself stayed in several rooms on the same floor. I'm sure the tranquility of the Saint James would have pleased his holiness too.

On our first night, we decided to enjoy the comfort of the hotel and dined in the restaurant. Although (reassuringly) expensive, the meal and wine were delicious and prepared to a very high standard. The service again was faultless and the chef was even presented to us for a brief conversation (translated) by the Maitre d'. Worth every cent and we would definitely recommend for a special treat.

The breakfast was included in our stay and we chose to eat in our room, such was the space and comfort. The coffee, eggs benedict and fresh bread were delicious. We could have stayed in the room for the whole two days (and several days more) if we hadn't one or two sights to see around Paris.

We felt very privileged to spend three days and two nights at the Saint James and why not? It was our honeymoon in Paris! We'd love to stay again. Perhaps one day for another special occasion?

Room Tip: If you can push the boat out, get a suite. Well worth it and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKsnowboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear guests,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for choosing us for this very special occasion and for taking the time to post such an extensive and praising review!
The Saint James Paris, in the upper part of the 16th district, indeed offers a very unique setting and atmosphere in Paris. Each of our rooms and suites is very quiet and peaceful, especially the ones on the top floor with their conservatories under the glass roof.
We are delighted to read that your choice proved right and that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience, including your dinner at our Michelin-starred restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back for the many anniversaries to come!

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

My partner took me here as a surprise for my birthday and I was blown away. The hotel is stunning from the frontage to the lobby to the room everything is beautiful. No complaints at all the room was quiet nothing wrong and champagne waiting! We didn't have the breakfast we just had a bread basket but this too was lovely.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Emlondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Emlondon_10,

Thank you for spending your birthday with us! It is a pleasure for us to read that you liked the dramatic yet warm décor of our little chateau and of its rooms & suites (each of them is different).
Next time, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you longer for you to discover our signature cocktails in the library-bar, the large buffet at breakfast, the gourmet cuisine of our chef, and treat yourself with the exclusive Guerlain treatments at the spa!

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed hear during French Open. Rooms were very spacious unlike most European Rooms. Service was excellent. Food at hotel was also very good. Also a very good place for families and Pet friendly. The bed was comfortable. Also was very close to the metro as well station to take you to Versaille was walking distance from hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khiajosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for posting this very kind review. We are all happy to read that you enjoyed our especially large rooms as well as the Michelin-starred cuisine of Virginie Basselot and the service of our teams. The Saint James Paris is altogether a romantic hideaway, an enchanted chateau for families and their furry friends, as well as a home for travelers on business trips.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

For sure the best Hotel I have stay ever. To resume it was PERFECT. Everything was just amazing from the reception to the laundry service. I have no bad comments for this Hotel, every time I will fly to Paris, I will not think twice, and if they will be fully booked, I will not fly to Paris.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Adilson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Mr N.,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for posting this extremely kind review. We do our very best to accommodate each request and to offer a truly personalized experience to each of our guests in the unique setting of our little chateau.
It is a great pleasure for all of us to read that you have already chosen to make us your home when in Paris, and would like to ensure you that it is with equal pleasure that we will welcome you back for each of your hopefully numerous visits.

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had a great stay in Paris, partly thanks to Saint James. Fantastic hotel, we had a great room with really nice street views. Very comfortable beds and nice deco. Comparing to other hotels we stayed previously in Paris it is a gem. Great breakfast with a wide choice. Really recommend it,.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Mr B.,

Thank you for choosing us and for posting this very kind review! We are all happy that we could contribute to making your trip to Paris memorable and that the décor of your room and the choice at our breakfast buffet were to your liking.
We thank you very much for recommending us to fellow travelers and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

A very beautiful hotel both inside and out. We were fortunate to get a room on the third floor which had great views of the streets (and skylights!). We had dinner and the hotel and were quite impressed with the service and quality of the food. We also had a chance to have lunch and drinks in the library bar which is a wonderful setting. Every staff member was very helpful with any request. Thank you for making our Parisian holiday weekend special!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Mr P.,

Thank you very much for choosing the Saint James Paris for your holiday week-end! I am very happy that you liked the unique décor of your top-floor suite with its turn-of-the-century conservatory set under the glass roof, your dining experience in the library-bar as well as the personalized service of our teams.

We all hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in a near future.
Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was booked as a Christmas present for my Dad and I and it exceeded all expectations. Every member of staff was smartly presented, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel itself is impressive and beautiful and lovely to have drinks in the library bar at the end of the evening. The rooms were comfortable and immaculately clean. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was a lovely surprise. It was peaceful and luxurious and a perfect place to stay whilst in Paris. I would 100% recommend this hotel.

Whilst the breakfast was lovely and very good quality, I still probably wouldn't say the selection offered was worth paying €39 pp for as there are many places near by where you could get breakfast for much less, however the breakfast room is beautiful so if you're in the mood to treat yourself, it was a lovely experience and the service was high quality.

The hotel is a very short walk from the Victor Hugo metro station so very easy and convenient to travel around Paris from the location of the hotel. The concierge was also very happy to order taxis. We used Paris Shuttle for the first time from the airport, which was €30 for two people. Cheaper than a taxi but you share with other people, so depending on when the other people are arriving at the airport / where they are staying in Paris, you can end up waiting around a little bit. I think the best value is to jump on a train from the airport and it's very easy to do, but, with luggage, the shuttles are convenient.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that there are any bad rooms in this hotel and it was lovely and quiet even with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEI123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for offering the Saint James Paris as a Christmas present to your father and for recommending us “100%” to fellow travelers! It is a pleasure for us to read that your choice proved right and that you enjoyed the décor and atmosphere of our whimsical chateau in Paris as well as the personalized service of our teams.
We are located in a very convenient area for visitors: an upscale and safe neighborhood at a few minutes’ walk from shops and restaurants, major museums and of course the Trocadero and Champs Elysées. As you kindly mentioned, we are also very close to 3 metro/train stops and easily accessible from both airports. Private transfers can be booked with our concierges as well.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your father back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#24 of 1,804 in Paris
804 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maison Souquet
Maison Souquet
#1 of 1,804 in Paris
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#18 of 1,804 in Paris
665 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Narcisse Blanc Hotel & Spa
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#20 of 1,804 in Paris
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#9 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $402 - $921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing