We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #21 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a wonderful 9 day stay here. The staff at the desk and concierges were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. Easy access to the metro and a nice quiet neighborhood location make the St. James a real gem. Very interesting decor.

Room Tip: Choose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr L.,

Thank you so much for choosing the Saint James Paris for this long stay! We are all happy to read that you enjoyed the size and décor of our rooms and the service of our teams. It will be our pleasure to welcoming you back, hopefully soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    128
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
171
680
37
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Our first experience of France spent in this hotel. Great convenient location, directly opposite the metro stop. Room size was very good and spacious considering the talk about rooms in France were very small and pokey. The wifi in room also very handy. Can not really fault the room really and was wonderful to have a window that opened out to take in the outside atmosphere.

The overall impression of the hotel was that it was very classy however, becoming quite tired. It seemed to be undergoing some sort of renovation but a lot of the common area such as walk ways and lift foyers were in complete and still operating as though it was normal business without explanation.

Downside was that we reported that our safe did not work at least 5 times. We were given advice how to fix it but it did not fix the issue. We constantly reinforced that we had tried this and they would send someone to fix it. After 4 nights it remained broken and continued to remain broken at time of check out.

Except for this service fault the stay was enjoyable. its location was brilliant for an evening stroll around the opening to the Louvre or to the river but please be warned that all of the restaurants in this area are very pricey for what you get. We found much better priced restaurants on the other side of the river or in Notre Dames neighbourhood.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr B.,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your first time in France! We are glad to read that you enjoyed the size of our rooms, which are especially large for Paris, and the warmth of our team. I would like to apologize for the unforeseeable maintenance works that needed to be done during your stay but am happy that they did not alter your global impression about our home. Regarding your safe, we are sorry for the trouble caused and we will inquire to see what happened exactly.
The 16th district is certainly one of the most exclusive in Paris so many restaurants are of high standards and priced accordingly, but there are also some very affordable options that our concierges are always happy to recommend.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a truly perfect stay in a spotless property.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
255 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Saint James is an experience. From the moment you step in you receive a very familiar welcome as if you were one of their old customers (they maybe thought I was someone else...) nevertheless the place is incredible, splendor of an old "Palais" with the incredible designs and the most creative ideas to furnish the walls. The rooms are absolutely spectacular, the bathrooms are incredible. It is actually a very fun place where every meter has something to discover, from lamps, paintings , ceiling, sculptures...A mix of modernity, Empire, French, English and aveniristic approach. A savant mixture of light, colors and ideas make this hotel UNIQUE in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms who give on the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGastronomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Gastronomist,

On behalf of all of us here, I would like to thank you for choosing the Saint James Paris for your stay and for this very unique review! We want each of our guests to actually have an experience instead of a hotel stay, and we work on a daily basis to make them feel at home. So please be assured that we did not mistake you for someone else!
I am happy to read that you enjoyed the world Bambi Sloan created for us, taking inspiration from the wealthy Parisian homes from the turn of the century and adding her refined witty touch.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and to become your home when in Paris!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently spent seven nights at the hotel and were celebrating a few special occasions. The hotel is quite off the beaten path, but on the metro line. This was not an issue for touring, but we found that most of the restaurants that we wished to frequent were on the left bank, quite far from the hotel so location became an issue. The hotel was good enough to upgrade us to two connecting suites so we had plenty of room. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The beds were comfortable and for the most part the staff was courteous and helpful. The housekeeping did a reasonably good job servicing our rooms daily. While we would recommend the hotel, we note that the eclectic decor can be off putting at first. We also noted that the breakfast service in the restaurant was very poor, to the point that we switch to room service in the mornings, noting that it was the same price. The fitness center has restricted operating hours which was not convenient and has some physical problems, such as a damaged floor. In addition, the equipment is aging. The fitness center is in need of an upgrade. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but we somewhat disappointed with the level of service and note that the hotel is beginning to show signs of age.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr H.,

I thank you and your family for staying with us for 7 nights and for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am sincerely sorry you felt that breakfast service was not up to your expectations, especially since we receive so many positive feedbacks on this department. This is the reason why, as you know, we refunded breakfast the days you were not satisfied and mentioned it to us during your stay.
Our fitness, open from 7:30am to 10:00pm, offers up-to-date equipment and is maintained on a daily basis by our technical team, just like the rest of the property.
Our concierges Clefs d’Or are always happy to help prepare the stay of each guest, in particular to advise and book the best restaurants located in the direct neighborhood.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I cannot say enough about this hotel. It was perfect. My family of 5 (children ages 12, 9 and 2) stayed there for 5 nights. Upon arrival, we were greeted at our taxi and we all were amazed at how beautiful the outside of the hotel was. The inside was an elegant mix of funky chic and beautifully classic. Our room was not ready for an early check-in, but they took us to the spa where we could shower and change. As soon as we were finished, we were shown to our rooms and then all around the hotel. Our rooms were gorgeous and very large with a ton of closet space. We were told that the hotel didn't have adjoining rooms, but to our delight they were! My toddler was given a teddy bear upon arrival that he kept with him the whole trip, and my older kids loved that they had their own room with a funky decor. We didn't want to leave the hotel! Everyone went out of their way to be helpful...carrying our stroller down the steps, bringing items to the room that we needed, calling cabs, etc. It was located in a very quiet neighborhood, but not far from local cafes and shopping. We did need to take taxis to the popular Paris attractions, but this was not a problem. I would go back to Paris just to stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, but our rooms were 407 & 408. Very nice and quiet. When I go back I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mrs S.,

On behalf of all our team, I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for this heartwarming review. We do our best to make our guests feel like at home and children are more than welcome in our crazy-chic little chateau. I am glad you felt welcome and taken care of, and that your children enjoyed staying in the “Last Queen of Scots” room. Be sure it will be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at the hotel with my husband and young daughter. Check in was efficient and a staff member took us direct to our room and showed us around. The suite was elegant and spacious with the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. We visited the the library bar for a light meal and a drink on our first night and it was a very relaxing environment to unwind after travelling. Location is great as you are tucked away in a quiet pocket so feel quite secluded yet everything is easily accessible. A Metro is nearby but you can also walk to the sights (Arc de Triomphe approx 10 mins away). I was a little unsure how the Hotel would be for a family stay but the staff were all excellent and made us feel welcome. It was a special treat for my little girl to find a black cat sitting on the staircase on our return one evening.
Highly recommended.
http://awelshgirlinaus.blogspot.com.au/2013/08/a-few-nights-in-paris-hotel-saint-james.html

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Beth521,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with you and for this great review! I would also like to thank you for spontaneously posting this extensive article with original pictures on your blog; we were all thrilled to read it. It was our pleasure to welcome you, we love having families consider us as their home in Paris!
It is not always easy to have Pilou, the furry housemaster, stick to his PR duties but he is often around to be spotted!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I recently spend our 10th wedding anniversary at Saint James Paris. After heavily researching where in Paris to to spend such a special occasion, I found the Saint James. My expecations were very high and Saint James far exceeded my expecations.

The moment we arrived at the hotel in the fountain courtyard, we knew we were in Parisian paradise. From the grand staircase to the library bar to the hot air balloon themed garden, we felt like royalty. The crowning jewel came upon check-in when we were upgraded to a spectacular suite. It was completely regal and decadent yet very romantic. The suite was extremely spacious and the bathroom had a very romantic french porcelain bathtub and rainfall shower. We had a wonderful view of the garden with the hot air balloon canopies.

I would suggest having breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast was competely indulgent with fantastic pastries, omelettes, meats, cheeses and the best coffee ever. My wife and I dined at the restaurant our last night there and the food was amazing. We followed our meal with a drink in the library bar then jetted off to the Eiffel Tower for a midnight kiss under the sparkling tower.

Saint James is in a great, quiet neighborhood close to a lovely little square (Victor Hugo) and the Arc de Triomphe. The metro is very close as well. There is also a beautiful park nearby with a series of lakes that was great for jogging. The spa looked great as well but only had time to try the steam room.

Overall, a truly wonderful experience. My wife and I fell in love with the hotel and fell in love with each other all over again in Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor facing the garden or fountain courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mr S.,

We thank you very much for finding -and choosing- us! It is a great pleasure for us to read about your experience and we are truly glad we managed to exceed your expectations in every aspect of your stay.
We all look forward to welcoming you back often and to become your preferred romantic getaway!

Your sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#24 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#31 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#10 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Trocadero
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
#45 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#13 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing