We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! What an amazing place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #25 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow!! What an amazing place!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We headed over to Paris for an overnight visit as were having dinner with some friends who live in the 15th. We wanted something a bit special with secure parking.

We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was fantastic, gorgeous, stunning! I love interior design and was actually quite speechless for once. I was skipping around the room at one point!

As many have already pointed out the location was a 15 minute stroll from the Eiffel Tower which was perfect for us as we were only there overnight and weren’t on some crazy tourist trip. Perfect location if you drive over as you quite literally turn off the motorway into town, 10 mins in and you’re there. A very quiet affluent area.

It was probably the best night’s (hotel) sleep I’ve had in a long time in the biggest bed I’ve ever slept in although it was the attention to detail in the décor that quite astounded me.

If I’m going to be really picky I would have expected the concierge to be a bit quicker of the mark in coming down the steps to meet us. We were out of the car and taking our overnight bag in before anyone acknowledged we’d arrived (with the sound of our car’s exhaust you’d hear us a mile away).

We also had lunch in the Library bar however the service was quite slow. They brought us coffee when we’d ordered champagne and we waited 30 mins for our croque monsieur (I’d drunk my champagne by the time the food came).

Booked through Mr and Mrs Smith we had 2 x complimentary cocktails vouchers which was a nice touch.

Don’t ever like to go back to the same place twice but this would be worth it for a special romantic stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovelylass38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing to experience the Saint James Paris and for this extremely kind and enthusiastic review. We are happy to read that your liked our “crazy-chic” décor imagined by Bambi Sloan as well as the calm of the property. I am truly sorry that our valets were not able to meet you immediately as you pulled up and that you experienced a delay at the Library-bar. We have taken your comments into account and will do our very best to avoid such situations in the future.
Should you change your mind about not staying at the same place twice, we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    130
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
172
707
38
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is walking distance a lots famous places for example Eiffel tower and Chams Elysee.Dekor was so modern.The food service and staff helped us .They were so kind thank you all.The library bar the decor and elegance makes you feel like at home in 1920s Paris definitely a place to go in paris and I think it was popular.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your kind review. We are all glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the décor of our home. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The St.James was an obvious choice for a romantic honeymoon getaway for a couple of nights. The location is not quite central but still close to a lovely park and the Eiffel tower and easy enough for the metro.

The whole of the hotel has been finished to a marvelous standard, very opulent and chic without being ostentatious or pretentious - a difficult balance. The central staircase is simply amazing.

We stayed in the Pavillion D'Amour after a generous upgrade from a junior suite. It was one of the gatehouses to the property and was on 3 floors with a spa in the basement (with a steam room and the largest bath I've seen - even had a remote control). Everything else in the room was fantastic, period furniture, tasteful fabrics and silk wallpaper with a great bed.

My only grumbles were perhaps little things but when you are paying over £800 a night for a room, you might expect not to worry about? Room service was s l o w, sometimes I had to ring 3 times and wait half-an-hour to get a response, dirty plates and glasses were not cleared out of the room after room service had been in (and then not replaced when they were), the ironing board (when it did arrive) was older than the hotel (and then left for the duration of our stay despite being asked twice to have it removed). There were other things but I don't want to spoil the review - perhaps they were short staffed that weekend?

Definitely a place to go in Paris and I think it was popular judging by the hardware parked outside. Lovely ambiance and grounds - but be prepared to pay and wait a little time for room service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Mr Gilchrist,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing the Saint James Paris for your honeymoon and for describing our house and the Pavillon d’Amour in such flattering terms. I would also like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and to ensure you that these are by no means representative of the quality of service we offer and are recognized for. I am at your disposal should you wish to share the details of your experience with me. In any case, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for a truly perfect stay.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Iv'e stayed in Hotels all over the world and I always try to find something that is unique with great amenities and service. This Hotel just rose to the top of my list and is my favorite thus far.The location is in perfect walking distance to Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysee. It is decorated very traditional but whimsical and at the same time invokes the energy of a childrens party.You feel as though you are visiting a family member because of the coziness and warmth of the decor.The food, service and staff help was impeccable! I couldn't wait to get back to the Hotel at the end of the day, and here I am in one of the most beautiful cities in the world.This Hotel is a real treat and everyone should experience a Hotel like this one.

Room Tip: Staff will do it for you, they are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Ms D.,

Thank you so much for experiencing the Saint James Paris and for your praising review! Our whole team is delighted to read that we are on the top of your list, as we do our best to help our guests feel at home in our whimsical little chateau.
We look forward to becoming your personal address in the capital!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the chateau. Its truly unique, beautiful and the staff is very helpful and pleasant. The location is very close to the Port Dauphine metro and a 20 min walk to the Eiffel Tower.

The library bar, the decor and the elegance makes you feel at home in 1920s Paris with all the modern day conveniences.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Mr K.,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for this very kind review! We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice quiet location away from the maddening bustle of ten thousand tourists, yes. That is a plus.Walking distance to Arc de Triumphe, Champs Elysee etc, rue Victor Hugo and all that. Yes again. Great looking chateau from the street - tick - but, thats kind of where this ends.
On stepping inside this magnificent building, I am totally lost.
When it came to the bedroom - what were they thinking ? The room we stayed in was a unpalatable mix of Rob Roy meets Moulin Rouge. The leopard print fabric walls had all the aesthetic appeal of a night in a bordello but when combined with the scottish tartan bed fabrics and awnings, the faux oak parquetry 'carpets' , the metallic tiled bathroom, and bright red accents, I was left feeling decidedly tacky, and more like a late night out with a drunken 'famous french designer' in the midst of his kilt wearing phase..and 'experimental' at best. I cant see how any interior design team could tick this off as a good idea for a 5 star hotel..
The library bar was elegant and very pleasant, and the staff were helpful and polite, of this I compliment them. But to stay in Paris and want to desperately get out of my hotel room all the time, is not the romantic weekend I envisaged. And cheap throw blankets at the foot of the bed leave me always with a nagging cleanliness and hygene question, similarly dark corners and low lighting the same.
It may just be a matter of personal taste, for sure, but I want an elegant and luxurious feel to my Parisian hotel experiences - this one left me particularly uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Wear dark sunglasses at all times...and you may not notice the decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank EmaJayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for recognizing the service of our staff and the atmosphere of the library-bar in your review. I am sorry to read that you did not feel at ease in the “Last Queen of Scots”, inspired by Giles Foden’s novel “the Last King of Scotland”, especially since each room is unique. Had we received any notice during your stay that your room did not suit you, we would have been pleased to offer you another one.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a very special hotel. The location is central as we were able to walk to the Arc de Triomphe and take cabs elsewhere at a decent price. The hotel itself is like a movie setting. It was the former residence of the President of France and still holds the grandeur and elegance of a fine chateau.Service was superb. My wife and I stayed there for 6 nights. Our dinner in the restaurant was the best that we had in Paris....and we ate at some darn good restaurants in town. Service was fabulous. The staff and concierge go out of their way to assist you and make you at home. Our room was splendidly decorated. We really couldn't have asked for more. We wouldn't stay anywhere else on our return to Pari.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bell34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much to your wife and you for choosing to stay with us and for this extremely kind review. We are truly glad you liked the décor of our little chateau, the cuisine by Virginie Basselot and the service of our teams. We all look forward to welcoming you back and to becoming your home in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#26 of 1,801 in Paris
726 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#29 of 1,801 in Paris
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,801 in Paris
1,823 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#37 of 1,801 in Paris
779 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#27 of 1,801 in Paris
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#15 Spa Hotel in Paris
#23 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing