We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #24 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Iv'e stayed in Hotels all over the world and I always try to find something that is unique with great amenities and service. This Hotel just rose to the top of my list and is my favorite thus far.The location is in perfect walking distance to Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysee. It is decorated very traditional but whimsical and at the same time invokes the energy of a childrens party.You feel as though you are visiting a family member because of the coziness and warmth of the decor.The food, service and staff help was impeccable! I couldn't wait to get back to the Hotel at the end of the day, and here I am in one of the most beautiful cities in the world.This Hotel is a real treat and everyone should experience a Hotel like this one.

Room Tip: Staff will do it for you, they are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Ms D.,

Thank you so much for experiencing the Saint James Paris and for your praising review! Our whole team is delighted to read that we are on the top of your list, as we do our best to help our guests feel at home in our whimsical little chateau.
We look forward to becoming your personal address in the capital!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    125
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
164
657
34
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the chateau. Its truly unique, beautiful and the staff is very helpful and pleasant. The location is very close to the Port Dauphine metro and a 20 min walk to the Eiffel Tower.

The library bar, the decor and the elegance makes you feel at home in 1920s Paris with all the modern day conveniences.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Mr K.,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for this very kind review! We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice quiet location away from the maddening bustle of ten thousand tourists, yes. That is a plus.Walking distance to Arc de Triumphe, Champs Elysee etc, rue Victor Hugo and all that. Yes again. Great looking chateau from the street - tick - but, thats kind of where this ends.
On stepping inside this magnificent building, I am totally lost.
When it came to the bedroom - what were they thinking ? The room we stayed in was a unpalatable mix of Rob Roy meets Moulin Rouge. The leopard print fabric walls had all the aesthetic appeal of a night in a bordello but when combined with the scottish tartan bed fabrics and awnings, the faux oak parquetry 'carpets' , the metallic tiled bathroom, and bright red accents, I was left feeling decidedly tacky, and more like a late night out with a drunken 'famous french designer' in the midst of his kilt wearing phase..and 'experimental' at best. I cant see how any interior design team could tick this off as a good idea for a 5 star hotel..
The library bar was elegant and very pleasant, and the staff were helpful and polite, of this I compliment them. But to stay in Paris and want to desperately get out of my hotel room all the time, is not the romantic weekend I envisaged. And cheap throw blankets at the foot of the bed leave me always with a nagging cleanliness and hygene question, similarly dark corners and low lighting the same.
It may just be a matter of personal taste, for sure, but I want an elegant and luxurious feel to my Parisian hotel experiences - this one left me particularly uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Wear dark sunglasses at all times...and you may not notice the decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank EmaJayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for recognizing the service of our staff and the atmosphere of the library-bar in your review. I am sorry to read that you did not feel at ease in the “Last Queen of Scots”, inspired by Giles Foden’s novel “the Last King of Scotland”, especially since each room is unique. Had we received any notice during your stay that your room did not suit you, we would have been pleased to offer you another one.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a very special hotel. The location is central as we were able to walk to the Arc de Triomphe and take cabs elsewhere at a decent price. The hotel itself is like a movie setting. It was the former residence of the President of France and still holds the grandeur and elegance of a fine chateau.Service was superb. My wife and I stayed there for 6 nights. Our dinner in the restaurant was the best that we had in Paris....and we ate at some darn good restaurants in town. Service was fabulous. The staff and concierge go out of their way to assist you and make you at home. Our room was splendidly decorated. We really couldn't have asked for more. We wouldn't stay anywhere else on our return to Pari.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bell34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much to your wife and you for choosing to stay with us and for this extremely kind review. We are truly glad you liked the décor of our little chateau, the cuisine by Virginie Basselot and the service of our teams. We all look forward to welcoming you back and to becoming your home in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel pokes fun at is aristocratic heritage, think of Phillipe Starck's ghost chair, but there is nothing stark about this decor with its lush but comfortable OTT neoclassical, trump l'oeil whimsy. I especially loved the carpet woven to look like a parquetry floor. Tucked away in the smart 16th e, it is away from traffic and tourist, but very close to the metro. I enjoyed the bird song and mixing it up with the locals in the neighborhood restaurants, especially La Stella, when I could drag myself away from the excellent dinning room at my new home, that is. The people (and Pilu the cat) make the place of course. Charming and obliging. The place works well, but not perfectly, and somehow that adds to the charm. This is one hell of a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Ms E.,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are all delighted to read that our home, its décor, our cuisine and services met your expectations. We work daily to create a truly homey atmosphere to each of our guests, so your calling us your "new home" is a great reward. We look forward to your next visit with the hope that you will find our services both perfect and charming.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My stay at your the Saint James was absolutely incredible. The staff from check in to the restaurant made me feel at home and made the Chateau feel like my own private retreat. The suite and amenities as well as the gym and spa were as luxurious as promised and I will definitely be returning on my next trip to Paris. Having stayed at various places in the city I can say without a doubt that my stay at the Saint James was the best, and will likely be my go to spot for all future trips to Paris. Upon check in we were upgraded to a suite with no prior mention of this option which only made the stay even greater.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Mr K.,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for this very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and felt at home at the Saint James Paris. Be sure it will be our pleasure to serve you again in your own private Parisian retreat.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, WA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. I only spent a few hours there as a jet-lagged traveler. I had a Garden room which is basically in the basement but was decorated in painted leaves. Awesome water pressure but no door on the shower, so it spilled all over the floor. Huge and bulky room key so leave it at the desk. The gym or fitness room had plenty of equipment, primarily with French directions. Be prepared to know the metric system. The hair dryer was large but you had to hold the button to keep it on

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tlcjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for this kind review. We hope to welcome you back soon for a longer stay and will be happy to put the directions of our fitness equipment in English for you.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#22 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#23 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Maison Souquet
Maison Souquet
#2 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#21 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#13 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#20 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing