We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #25 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Absolutely First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Second visit to the St James and it was unbelievably good. Fantastic room with one of the most comfortable beds ever. Bar and restaurant were exceptional. Every member of staff from management to the cleaners are very polite and happy to be of service.

We shall definitely return for a 3rd time visit very soon!

Room Tip: At the front overlooking the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for staying with us again and for your enthusiastic review. We are truly glad you enjoyed your previous stays with us and look forward to serving you again soon in your Paris home.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    124
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
163
654
34
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night over the summer and loved it so decided to return with our little dog for three nights over Christmas. We have enjoyed the most superb stay again and it has been a delight staying a little longer this time.

The hotel has a unique and yet homely feeling, decor is unusual and very stylish throughout the hotel. The library bar is a wonderful space to relax in after a hard day sightseeing. For me breakfast cannot be beaten, the best fresh French produce - amazing home made jams, fantastic fresh bread and croissant and beautiful fresh fruit and yoghurts. Cooked options also available.

Staff are excellent and all are without exception very friendly and helpful.

Our room was beautiful again and this time faced out on to the front, the view of the fountain and trees lit with Christmas lights was magical.

A really wonderful stay, cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odebash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for staying with us again and for posting a review! We all hope you and your dog will make the Saint James Paris your home away from home and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here recently to celebrate our wedding and it was far and beyond the most beautiful hotel we've seen in Paris. More like a chateau than a hotel, we were impressed from the moment we walked up to the entrance, and even more pleased when we were surprised at check-in with an upgrade to a suite! The concierge was very helpful and friendly as was most of the staff that we encountered. Our suite was amazing, spacious, and we enjoyed every little detail. Cannot comment on the restaurant since we had other reservations, but we wished we had tried at least the library bar for a drink. Next time! Would recommend this place for a special occasion and would not hesitate to go back ourselves. A special thanks to Florence in banquet for surprising us with the suite : ) Perfect stay and experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andeempls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for choosing our little château as a setting for your wedding and for posting this very kind review. We all send our best wishes of happiness and look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We did this hotel on our last night in Paris , the placed looked lovely- and it is! To our great delight we were upgraded to the junior suite which was amazing, colourful and spacious. The decor is opulent and rich, as soon as we stepped inside the hotel, the sweet smell of the christmas pine mixed with the mouthwatering aromas from the kitchen hit me!

This is a place to relax and enjoy, as it was our last night we spent all our time in the hotel- we used the library bar and then splashed out on dinner at the restaurant which was soo tasty , both lamb and venison dishes were superb, with everything on the dish a perfect complement. The chef does an amazing job .

My only niggle is we were charged 25 euro for 2 items of clothing to be ironed, as we initally wanted to do this ourselves and were told we couldnt in the room , they kindly offered to do this for us, and no charge was mentioned and assumed this would be included in the 5 star service , but it wasnt. If I had realised the charge I would have pushed to do this myself as it literally was a 5 minute job. This may be typical for this class of hotel so I should probably put this down to my little experience in such a sumptuous hotel.

We really were ecstatic with the upgrade, and the service from the staff was warm, I am dreaming of going back one day to re-live a similar experience . This hotel is usually out of our price range ( in saying that if this hotel was in London it would probably be a lot more pricey , so we are lucky ) , but it looked too good to be true, and I booked based on the reviews and pictures! If you fancy a treat- go for it, Paris is the perfect romantic setting for this equally perfect indulgent hotel , the memory will be worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyv27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for your last night in Paris and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! Having our guests recommending us to fellow travellers is the best reward for us.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in a near future!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager

PS : Please note that for security reasons we do not allow ironing in our guestrooms and that all charges are stated on the laundry order forms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The food, the "home", the decor, the hospitality, The French at their best!
We had a fantastic time during our recent stay! Everyone of the staff at The Saint James went way beyond our expectations! The Concierge planned two fantastic adventures for us, the Chef made some of the best meals we have eaten (the pumpkin soup and vegetable soup, amazing!)
We felt like we were guests in a home of a good friend. Our only wish is that we could have stayed longer. But we will be back again, very soon I hope!

Carl & Linda Shay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Shay,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for your very kind review. Please consider the Saint James Paris as your home away from home with lots of French friends looking forward to serving you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was blown away upon driving into the entrance of this magnificent establishment! In the heart of Paris, you enter the gates and drive onto a circular driveway around a magnificent fountain. The hotel itself is like an exquisite chateaux instead of an hotel. From the Manager Yves, to every single member of staff that I encountered, I was blown away. The decor is unlike anything that I've experienced: theatrical, opulent, somewhat circus-like in it's majestic sense of play!

My room was beyond description but I will try! The room opened up into an atrium where the Paris sky could be seen through the glass ceiling. Curtains were then drawn back from this room into the lounge area where I was met by a grand piano no less! Even the carpet detail was brilliant in that it was designed to look like parquet flooring! The light switches were covered in the matching wallpapers in every room without appearing to have a seam anywhere - how they managed this, I am not sure but even that detail was considered. This room then lead through a dressing room, onto the bedroom which had the most wonderful windows where the surrounding elements were mirrored so that you could see the Paris city reflection onto these mirrors too. The bathroom was massive and sumptuous and had gorgeous dressing gowns including tiny ones for kids - too cute!

I spent the evening dining in the hotel restaurant and the food was simply sensational - my favourite being the foie gras encapsulated in a green apple jelly so the contrast between the richness of the foie gras and the tartness of the green apple, was simply genius. All the restaurant staff were fantastic.

Hats off to the entire team in executing effortless attention in the most magnficent surroundings. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaAponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Ms Aponte,

Thank you very much for your extremely kind and extensive review! I would also like to congratulate you on the way you described our “beyond description” Music Suite (nr 510). If you allow I shall keep it for guest inquiries! We all look forward to welcoming you back soon to our Parisian château.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Quel surprise! An extraordinary hotel slightly out of the way but well worth the detour. Striking decor throughout, delicious food and very attentive staff. What more could one want? We will definitely return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxuryloafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this very enthusiastic review! We all look forward to welcoming you back soon and to become your Paris hideway, just off the boutiques and restaurants on Victor Hugo Avenue.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#22 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#24 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Maison Souquet
Maison Souquet
#3 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#23 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#14 Spa Hotel in Paris
#21 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing