We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #24 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Long Weekend in Paris”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at your hotel. The facilities were magnificent, with all the unique and individual touches making all the difference. The room was so charming and elegant that it stands out against the typically generic and often dingy facilities/rooms.

Furthermore, the pleasure we received and the memories we retain were greatly enhanced by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We need to extend particular gratitude to the concierge team who were invaluable as they listened well to exactly what we were seeking and then went above and beyond to ensure they came up with appropriate recommendations and then ensured we got into those venues.

Needless to say, we would enthusiastically stay with you on future visits to Paris.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you very much for this kind testimony. Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon to our Parisian Relais & Châteaux property.

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    130
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
172
707
38
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Out of this world experience. 3 days of shear heaven. Interiors that were stunningly beautiful. True 5 star quality in every respect. Staff were multilingual and totally professional.

Dinner at the hotel outstanding cuisine and service "par excellance." Out the top drawer.
Location perfect and so convenient. Wine selection impressive.

Breakfast service - in room presentation average with the food which unfortunately was ice cold. Horribly disappointing. Expensive however worth the effort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kindest review. We are glad you liked our new décor, our services and our cuisine. We have taken into account your comment about room service and will ensure that it is up to your expectations next time you visit us.

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. My room was upgraded and was huge. I found the hotel to be close to the metro and was very convenient to the conference venue that I was visiting. The staff were fantastic and service great.

My only issue was that I was bitten multiple times all over my body in bed one night. I informed hotel reception that I was concerned they might have bedbugs, but was reassured that this was unlikely. "perhaps Mosquitos" was the response. It was definitely not a flying insect. Something had crawled from my back, down over my buttocks, legs to feet, biting as it went. Now that I am home I have spent hours decontaminating my clothes and luggage to ensure that nothing has travelled home with me.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kiwitravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for your post. We are pleased you liked our chateau-hotel, its spacious rooms, its location and the caring service we offer. The Saint James Paris has just been fully renovated and provides new bedding in every room. Our attention to details includes a constant and thorough watch for intruders of any kind. We have never had any bedbugs at the hotel and none have been found in your room after a complete check. We are truly sorry you were bitten by an insect that night and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

When I started to plan my first trip to Europe I was overwhelmed with the amount of information about this to do and places to see. I was planning a marriage proposal to my girl friend, and Paris seemed like the obvious place to plan the surprise. After emailing a couple of hotel restaurants for menus etc. I settled on the Saint James. Christian, the Concierge helped me plan not only a memorable dinner, but a wonderful night time tour of Paris by Limo with Champagne afterwards. Laurence the driver was a great host and his timing impeccable as we arrived to view the Eifel Tower just on 11pm as it lit up and I asked the big question...how could she resist ? ! As a Luxury Hotel owner in New Zealand, I was keen to experience something unusual, but traditional in Europe. I didn't stay as I was travelling with children, but can highly recommend the space, staff and restaurant - just wonderful, Thanks !!

Room Tip: Ask the concierge to arrange a limo tour of Paris at night with Champagne - the perfect end to a won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan_from_Ohtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing the Saint James Paris. We were glad to be part of this very unique moment and look forward to welcoming you back for a romantic stay in our little chateau.

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The building is really lovely, the decor a little nuts. We stayed in a room with leopard print wallpaper, leopard print window shutters, a "parquet effect" wall to wall carpet, a bath on a mini-stage with red velvet curtains ... apparently it was the English hunting lodge room or something. Still, the bed was fantastically comfortable, the toiletries Annick Goutal, the bath and shower superb, so a top quality hotel experience in many ways. What really distinguished the hotel though was the Sunday brunch. Even if you don't stay here, it is really worth booking a table for this feast. The decor in the restaurant and library bar, where brunch is served, is more in keeping with the bones of the building and therefore (matter of taste) a more sumptious environment to relax in. And the brunch is amazing - fantastic quality, fantastic variety, beautifully laid out. Well worth the expense.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelEnthusiast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your very kind review. Each of the rooms & suites of our “crazy chic” little chateau tells its own story and you stayed in the “Last Queen of Scots” room. Next time you check-in, we will pleased to give you a tour and let you select the room that matches your tastes best. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel is truly beautiful. The concierge was so helpful. This was my first time in Paris and he helped us get around and told us all the great things to do that werent the typical Paris things (I.e. Eiffel tower). The garden is just amazing and the rooms are very spacious and well kept. This hotel was recently renovated so everything is new. Although we did have a few minor problems. On our second night the power went out in our room... And only our room. They could not figure out what was wrong so they moved us to another room. We didn't mind moving but at about 2am we had someone walk into the new room that we were staying in. It was quite frightening to wake up to. Especially when whoever walked in left the second they knew someone was in there and then the front desk could not explain why someone had a key and wondered into our room. Luckily the hotel was very nice about it and comped a night because of this. Other than that it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PEF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Madam,

We are glad you enjoyed the Saint James Paris and our services, except for the two problems you experienced one night. As told when I came to meet you the next morning, we are truly sorry you had to move rooms for a minor problem that should have been solved right away. One of our staff then made a mistake when he did not check if your new room was still unoccupied. I agreed with you that this is not acceptable and waived your charges for that night. Be sure that this will not happen again and that we would be pleased to welcoming you back if you chose to stay with us again during your next visit to Paris.

Sincerely,

Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Last week we stayed two nights at the Saint James Paris. Our expectations were quite high since I also work in the travel industry and my friend is an interior designer. But the hotel was really stunning and we were both very very impressed.
From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave everything is top notch.
Upon arrival the voiturier parked the car and helped us bring in the luggage, the check-in goes very smooth and Laetitia the very nice lady at reception showed us around and gave us a bit of information about the building and the room. I was quite intrigued by all the hot air balloons on the wall paper and the balloon shaped lamps. Saint James was apparently the first place where hot air balloons went up in France. It also reflects on three balloon shaped pavillions which are being used as bar area when the weather is nice.
We stayed in one of the suites and the room was very spacious and beautifully decorated. There's a lot of attention to detail and we could not fault anything. The metro-tiled bathroom with bathtub and separate shower were very relaxing after strolling through the streets of Paris.
The hotel has a very convenient location, only at 15 minutes walking from the Champs-Elysées and there's a metro only a few steps from the hotel.
We would like to thank Mr Monnin and his entire staff for the great hospitaliy they showed us. It is very rare to find this level of service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank becs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Madam,

On behalf of all the team, I would like to thank you for your extremely kind review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and we are glad you appreciated our new “crazy chic” atmosphere as well as the efforts we put in making our service special and caring. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#28 of 1,801 in Paris
726 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#29 of 1,801 in Paris
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,801 in Paris
1,823 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#39 of 1,801 in Paris
780 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#26 of 1,801 in Paris
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 43 Avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#14 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Business Hotel in Paris
#22 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 49 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with one Michelin star - Chef Jean-Luc Rocha, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing