We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, clean hotel, so so hot though!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agora Saint Germain
Ranked #578 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at the hotel in mid July and I did know in advance that it would be hot and that there wouldn't be any AC so I don't blame the hotel, but it still made the nights pretty uncomfortable. The front desk staff were great, very friendly and accomodating. They locked our luggage up when we arrived and allowed us to check in a few hours early. The room was small, but I expected that. It was clean and served our purpose. Convenient location, easy walking distance to a couple of metro stations & notre dame. We wouldn't mind staying here again but maybe not when it's so hot!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 961 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

Loved staying at the Agora Saint Germain. Room was clean and cool and the bathroom was surprisingly good size. The location of the hotel lends itself to not too much noise from the street below. The staff are friendly and helpful. A few streets away from Notre Dame. I will go back to the Agora Saint Germain next time I'm in Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We are a group of 8 adults and one child of 5 years old travelling to Paris this August. We have booked this hotel 10 months in advance to stay for 5 nights and they gave us a quote of €1300 for 3 bedrooms and €490 for one basic room. A few days ago we contacted the hotel to confirmed the booking and the hotel told us that we have to pay extra as we are not allowed to have the child in the room that cost €490. And the price to upgrade for the room was €1200 which mean we have to pay extra €710 for a 5 years old child. This force us to look for another hotel because it was just too much to pay. We also have to change all the hotel pick up and transfer for all the tour that we booked. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Catherine Nguye... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our room was smallish as is typical of most older European hotels, but was very clean and modern. The first impression from the front desk staff could not have been better and the friendly helpful and cheerful service was always the same throughout or stay. The location was perfect for walking to the Seine, Notre Dame or the Louvre and many other sights. There is an overwhelming array of shops and cafes nearby to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

You couldn't ask more of a location -- walkable, close to landmarks, but off on enough of a side street to be very quiet for a city, and this is one of the world's great cities.

Our room looked out on Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet, a church with an attractive profile, wake-up bells at 7:40 a.m. (take note if you want to sleep in until 9) and a fascinating recent history. Things around the corner: a nice open-air market on most days, a laundromat with helpful students from the neighborhood often hanging out (they were a big help navigating the coin system), a variety of stores and restaurants. It's the 5th, so there are many historical sites (including Notre-Dame, Hemingway's haunts, the Pantheon and St. Etienne du Mont) within 10 minutes walking distance. The Louvre and the Pompidou are an easy 15 minutes away if you don't get distracted by other spots.

Breakfast breads were a tribute to French baking, coffee was excellent, and the yogurt and hard-boiled eggs added enough substance to keep us going until 2 p.m. or so. This was about as early as we were able to grab lunch on most days -- so much to do, so many places to see!

Once we narrowed our list to a few choices, we cruised the neighborhoods using Google Street View. This stood out in the virtual mapping, and reality confirmed everything we saw.

Staff was cheery and helpful. I happened to eavesdrop on a couple of high-stress phone calls, and they were unshaken under that tension.

The room was small, as expected, but was clean and well-maintained. Air-conditioning worked! Windows opened widely.

Room Tip: Taking the RER-B from CDG would be a money-saver. We didn't do it because we were nervous about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Discovertude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in this wonderful little hotel for 5 nights, in two rooms for our family of four. We booked deluxe rooms directly with the hotel over the net, for an excellent rate. The rooms were quite small but sufficient, and the bathroom was clean, bright and adequate. Upon arrival I wasn't so sure about my choice, but the hotel grew on us each day, and now I couldn't imagine a better place to stay. Breakfast was in a delightful stone walled basement, with a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bread, cheese and ham, and of course great pastries. The waitress prepared fresh cappuccinos, coffee or tea as you liked, Boiled eggs were my choice, and for a small fee of about 3 euros they would make you fresh scrambled eggs, omelettes, etc. The location of the hotel is outstanding, about 150m to the Metro Maupert Maubin, or about 300m to St Michel, for the RER train to Versailles or the metro line to connect with the RER to Paris Disneyland. Travelling around was so easy! The young lady on reception went out of her way to help us; she lent us umbrellas for the rain, advised us many times of how to get around, helped us with laundry, what a gem for the hotel she is. Wifi was included in the rooms, which are air conditioned. We could not have been happier with our choice, and I doubt that even had we paid double elsewhere for a 5 star, we could not have had the wonderful experience we did at the Agora St Germain. Oh, we freaked out a bit with the ringing bells of the beautiful church across the road, but they stop at about 945pm and don't start up again until 745am.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe rooms for size and view to the beautiful church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Finuala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights while in Paris. The location was the best part of the hotel, but aside from that the staff was very friendly. This was a great location - very close to the Metro and about 3 minutes from Notre Dame. The bathroom was very clean, and the room was fine. The carpets were worn and the walls could use a good scrub, but otherwise we were pleased with our stay for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkukuk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#372 of 1,804 in Paris
1,006 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#253 of 1,804 in Paris
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#570 of 1,804 in Paris
583 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#593 of 1,804 in Paris
563 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#195 of 1,804 in Paris
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Saint Germain

Address: 42 rue des Bernardins | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#389 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $113 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agora Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agora Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing