We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many good points, let down on the details.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agora Saint Germain
Ranked #524 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Bollington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Many good points, let down on the details.”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

There are many good points about the Agora Saint Germain.

The main ones being:

- It's very central, in the 5th Arr and close to the RER B station St. Michel Notre Dame which is on the line from CDG airport and theres a metro station just around the corner.
- It's very close to the Seine also, but it's not noisy and in a quiet position.
- The breakfast is very good and the pastries/breads are from the wonderful Eric Keyser's who are just around the corner.

The Comfort Room we had, and paid slightly more for, was on the third floor and was very quiet but was small - along with most hotels in Paris. The bed was also small, standard double bed but as described.

The let downs were small but really for a central Paris 3 star should be looked at.

It was February and when we arrived, the bedroom was baking hot. The Air Conditioning wasn't working and the heater was in full. It wasn't that cold outside. We mentioned this to reception and was told that the entire hotel either has to be heating or A/C! Very odd situation. Anyway asked the cleaners to turn the heater down. Even in the OFF position the room was very hot and thankfully we were in a room facing away from the street so we were able to have the window open at night.

The second thing was the curtain was hanging off the curtain track when we arrived. I mentioned this to the reception as it didn't really do an effective job of keeping out the light. The attitude of the receptionist was pretty much, "yes...and..." couldn't care less. The least I would've expected was an apology but none was forthcoming and so the curtain stayed hanging off, letting the light stream in.
When you're paying over 100 euros a night for a room, the service should be slightly better.

Obviously this was just our room, so I wouldn't let it stop you from booking here as it is a generally good place but we were just slightly peeved by the nonchalant customer service at times.

Room Tip: There are rooms available facing away from the road but the road itself is quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmlabbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    470
    114
    19
    21
See reviews for
108
524
37
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Have stayed here twice. This hotel is five minutes walk from Notre Dame and just off Rue St Germain. The nearest Metro is only a two minute walk away. I enjoy this hotel because it is situated in one of the little villages of Paris, near the market square with local shops. Go one way and as mentioned you are at Notre Dame. The other way takes you up to the Pantheon.
The hotel is comfortable and clean and the staff are eager to please and helpful.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdaddy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is what I would call a boutique hotel: smallish, with few amenities. I've stayed in a number of these around the world and this was one of my best experiences. The service staff is lovely and extremely helpful. The rooms are neat and tidy. The bathroom is bright, clean and up-to-date. We were there in winter and the rooms were a little too warm for my taste, but the windows opened and let in the perfect breath of fresh air. We had a balcony room and I enjoyed standing outside and watching the activity on the street below. Great city-view in the Latin Quarter. The hotel was in walking distance of the Seine and Notre Dame. Lots of good eating places were nearby, including Breakfast in America where we could get a real American meal for a modest charge. An easy Metro ride took us to the Eifel Tower, the Basilica of Sachre Coeur, Montmantre, the Arc de Triomphe and the Champs Elysee. (Pardon, please, the French misspellings!) I would recommend this hotel to anyone desiring to tour Paris on their own. It's the perfect location.

Room Tip: A balcony room puts you above any street noise and gives access to a better view of the beautiful ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RadioStar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Excellent choice. The location is really good, maybe the best place to go out and eat at night. Hotel staff was very helpful and very friendly. The conditions are very good, the room was always warm and tidy ... one excelent choice in price / quality ratio

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvilela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Charming location in the Latin quarter, the hotel is located a bit further away from the "heart" of this historic district, but still a short walk to the Seine, Notre Dame, St. Germain des Pres, St. Michel, etc. You do have a few public transportation options here including the RER directly to CDG airport or a metro stop a few steps away. A relatively quiet location in a small street, it is surrounded by very good cafes/restaurants and bakeries. It has a true Parisian feel thanks to its a bit less touristy location. A very small hotel like others have described, its rooms are also small as should be expected in historic districts of Paris. The comfort category that we were in has a few welcoming features such as a small fridge and coffee/tea maker. The personnel at the front desk could be a bit aloof, such as not acknowledging your presence right away. Don't know how much help they would be if you needed something urgent. But if you just need a comfortable room in a nice location, this hotel will do nicely.

Room Tip: Look for special deals on the own website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice now and it has been fantastic both times. We are planning another trip back in the spring and will be staying a third time. Yes, the rooms are small, however, this is standard in Paris. The rooms are clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and inviting. Great staff, great location- so close to everything. I highly recommend!!

Room Tip: We were upgraded on our second visit- personally, I wouldn't pay the money for a bigger room. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NinaByrne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

GREAT location, super friendly front desk staff and they all spoke excellent english. Even though I wanted to try my rusty Francais...

My wife even liked it. We ate breakfast there every day and the baked goods were fabulous.

Room was small but clean. Bed was just OK. It was very cold outside when we were there, but the room was very nice and toasty!

The Price was excellent too! What we liked best was that the subway was only 1 block away and it was in the heart of St. Germain and the Latin Quarter -- Lots of good restaurants. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhettRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#503 of 1,802 in Paris
567 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Quartier Latin
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
#449 of 1,802 in Paris
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#176 of 1,802 in Paris
903 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#324 of 1,802 in Paris
971 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#278 of 1,802 in Paris
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Saint Germain

Property: Agora Saint Germain
Address: 42 rue des Bernardins | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#390 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#502 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Agora Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Agora Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing