We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely use this Hotel again !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Agora Saint Germain
Ranked #525 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Spent ages trying to decide where to stay for 3 nights early November and with so much to choose from, we felt quite lucky with our selection. Reasonable rates for central location (we paid £90 per night per room approx.) and the hotel was nicely situated 5 mins walk to the Seine, and Notre Dame, up a relatively quiet side street a short walk to shops, restaurants, market, and some bigger stores. Close to a couple of Metro stations, so very convenient, but less manic on this side of the River. As it turned out we had a pub showing Sky Sports nearby and a seriously good record/cd/dvd store round the corner so I was in heaven.

The room was small, but the bed was a good size and the bathroom sparkling with a small bath / shower and newly tiled floor. I really appreciated a soak after a long day tramping the streets!

The staff were marvellous - so helpful, and despite finding out they had made an error charging us for a breakfast we never had, they rectified this immediately on my return to the UK.

Room Tip: We faced the street and there was some noise from people and bells, but it was generally still quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainGoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 974 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is very central, under ten minute walk from the St Michel metro to and from airport. Hotel clean, modern, room has mini fridge. French doors open for fresh air. Reception staff always friendly and helpful. Lots of small shops for cheese, breads, fruit and wine within a half block of hotel.

Room Tip: Room with French balcony facing side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our room was very small, when you opened the door you nearly fell in the bed. The space for your clothes was limited, ok if your only staying for a couple of nights. The bedside lamp did not work, the bathroom had cracked floor tiles, but the shower was good, The lift is not suitable if you are claustrophobic but you can take the stairs. The breakfast was very basic continental with help yourself sachets of tea and coffee, they will give you a jug of hot water. The receptionist staff are excellent very friendly with good english and very helpful with helping you find your way around Paris. Paris is the most expensive city I have ever been to, £9 for a vodka and tonic was normally and £5 for a small cup of coffee

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Enjoyed a week here recently. Comfortable, clean room with big double bed, sparkling bathroom too. Walk to Notre Dame, Le Marais, Rue Moufettard, the Luxenbourg Gardens and more.

This 3 star hotel is a gem and the staff are friendly and helpful. I hope to stay again next year.

Room Tip: My rooms at the front of the hotel had french doors opening onto the balcony, lovely fresh air in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulineM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is located in the Quartier Latin area of Paris, on the left bank, very close to the famous "Boulevard Saint Germain". Illes de cite (Notre Dame) is at walking distance. Musee D'orsay and Louvre are also about 20-30 mins away by walking. The Metro station (Maubert Mutualite?)is just 100 meters away. The staff at the reception and in the cellar-cafe (for breakfast) were friendly and helpful. The open buffet breakfast is 11 Euros per person, but it is worth the price. Room size was OK, but we had a room with a window looking inside the building. So, the photos on the web page are somewhat misleading. (This may be considered an advantage by some people as it will be more quiet). One other issue is the rooms are definitely not sound proof! There is a "mini" elevator running up to 6th floor, only good for 2 people with 2 pieces of luggage and it has to be renovated.

Room Tip: insist on getting a room looking at the street (Rue des Bernardins) and avoid upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISIKHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent 2 nights here. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Contrary to what people say about the French, I found them to be very friendly!! Excellent location. Walking distance to notre dame cathedral and the pantheon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princessway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed at Agora St Germain this week (16 and 17 October) with my wife. The location, just a short distance from the boulevard St Germain, is great.
We loved the hotel and enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and happy to speak English rather than to tolerate my French! They recommended two good local restaurants which we visited and were helpful in organising transport to CDG on our departure.
The room was small but well appointed with a nice view to the rue des Bernardins. We were on the first floor but the room was relatively quiet. The bathroom was very modern and well lit.
We will certainly stay there on our next visit to Paris.
We had been in Paris about three weeks before and had a disastrous experience in renting an apartment for a week, something I will not do again.
Two nights at Agora St Germain made up for some of the shortcomings of our earlier accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WJH1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#389 of 1,809 in Paris
1,014 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
#495 of 1,809 in Paris
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#225 of 1,809 in Paris
363 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#263 of 1,809 in Paris
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Saint Germain

Address: 42 rue des Bernardins | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#389 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $117 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agora Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Agora Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing