We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice staff, clean rm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Agora Saint Germain
Ranked #585 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, clean room/sheets/bathroom. The room was small but unless you want to pay 1000$ a night at a hotel you will not find bigger. It is not cheap but it is Paris and anyone who faults them for that has not travelled to places like NY or London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkmmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 954 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a real favourite of ours. It has a great location on the left bank, short strolls to so many sights and some wonderful local restaurants. The local markets are a treat and enable you to sample some delicious fresh produce. Maubert Mutualite metro is just around the corner. Rooms are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Best rooms are 29 and 39. You'll get used to the bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riddoch88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights there and could not fault this exceptionally pleasant little hotel. The room, though small, was very well-appointed and comfortable. The bathroom was shiny new and the shower works - easily! On some of the hottest days of a very hot summer the bar in the room was a Godsend. Breakfast, in a super little room, is everything you'd expect in France, naturally. The staff (especially Anna and Raphael) were very friendy and helpful and, for those of us for whom French is a challenge, their command of English was very good. The hotel is very handily situated close to numerous local attractions and is within easy walking distance of the Louvre and the Musee' D'Orsay, Notre Dame and St Chapelle. Incidentally, the church bells that some found annoying (evidently) are not at all intrusive and help to tell the time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Agora with our two teenage sons. The hotel is in an excellent location and we were able to walk to most tourist attractions. We found the rooms to be modern and very comfortable. A traditional French breakfast was included in our rate which nice. Hotel staff were very friendly, spoke good English and very helpful with directions. Wi fi worked well. All in all we had a really enjoyable stay at the Hotel Agora and would definitely recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: We booked the deluxe rooms which I believe are a bit more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a smaller, but very well run hotel just off of Saint Germain, about three minutes from Maubert metro station. The staff are friendly and Anna at the front desk is particularly helpful. The rooms are small (like any other European hotel room), but the layout is comfortable and very efficient. The only caveat are the church bells - the church is directly across the street and the bells ring early every morning. Our room was extremely clean and the bathroom was spotless and updated. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, as there are numerous restaurants, bakeries and supermarkets within a few blocks, including Eric Kayser around the corner on Rue Monge. There is also a currency exchange provider several doors down on Rue Monge, and a Laundromat around the block on Rue de la Montagne.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wdcwrldtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a lovely quiet hotel just off Saint Germain and a five minute walk to Notre Dame. Friendly, helpful staff- Anna in particular! Room spotless, aircon and wifi included. Close to the metro and they do offer breakfast but we ate out at a local patisserie overlooking Notre Dame. We can't wait to go back as we walked all over Paris from here. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foster3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Currently staying here on a trip with my sister. Love this hotel so much, felt like leaving a review now.

Pros:
Located on a side street near a church (bells start to ring at 8am, so great alarm clock!) and within moments of Notre Dame. Closest metro is Maubert, but if you're willing to walk a little further (along the Seine), the RER St Michel-Notre Dame is also near (about 10 min). Beds are very comfy, especially the pillows. Rooms are a little on the small side, but we don't much time in them anyway. Bathroom is a great size, with shower over bath. The shower is VERY easy to control, has excellent pressure and no running out of hot water. :-) There's also a mini-bar with prices very similar to what you'd pay in a restaurant. Breakfast is available for about 11€/person, but being in The Latin Quarter, we've opted to explore the many cafes instead. Literally around the corner is a fantastic brasserie (you know it's good when the locals are willing to queue out the door!) and an ATM. What's more is you're within a few minutes of several small markets and Rue de la Huchette, which is pretty much a street of restaurants, piano bars and jazz clubs. Going there tonight!!


Cons:
We're on the fourth floor, so the lift is needed, but it's so small we could only fit my sister and myself in it and we only had carry-on luggage. If you had larger luggage, you'd probably have to take it one at a time. Also, while our room was VERY clean, a dirty towel was left by the bathroom sink when we first checked in. I suspect the cleaner simply forgot/missed it. However, this has not happened since.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piercel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#543 of 1,804 in Paris
578 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#369 of 1,804 in Paris
996 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#262 of 1,804 in Paris
808 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
#450 of 1,804 in Paris
107 reviews
Quartier Latin
Minerve Hotel
Minerve Hotel
#911 of 1,804 in Paris
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Saint Germain

Address: 42 rue des Bernardins | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#390 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#502 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $134 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agora Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Agora Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing