We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good location, a bit flawed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Agora Saint Germain
Ranked #512 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Good location, a bit flawed”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We picked this hotel for our trip to be in this particular district, near Notre Dame and many other sights and areas of town. So location-wise it was great. We even had a balcony. We asked for a non-smoking room but unfortunately the people previously to us smoked in it. There were no other rooms, it was pretty small but on a high floor which was nice. Our adult children stayed in a triple on the first floor that was pretty spacious but dark, no windows. The computer never worked but they had free wi-fi.It was near the complicated subway system.

Room Tip: We had a balcony but it was noisy and pretty at the same time. Our kids had quiet but no windows so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redrose524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    468
    114
    19
    21
See reviews for
107
522
37
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Awesome area!!! Close to everything, in a neighborhood that feels like a village instead of a city. Within walking distance to Notre dame and many metros.
Best restaurants and bars- le moderne for dinner, zig zag cafe for drinks, l'authre for breakfast, English pub bombardier.

Room
Pluses:
Very friendly staff
Bed comfy
Good pillows
Full length mirror
Plugs next to night stand
Nice desk
Towels ok
Shower head is god
Sink area good
Bar soap, shampoo and lotion
Clean

Minuses:
Bad lighting
Hairdyer - typical French no power wall unit
Very small shower
Couldn't figure out thermostat but we just opened the window
Our room (the Expedia special) had no view just a wall

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingkam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
287 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The rooms are small. The xlnt tv is really xs. The safe is not digitally coded. Tea coffee not replenished daily. But location is good. For not take breakfast but walk 50m to Eric Kayser for some fancy bread e.g. white chocolate or chocolate bread.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFC_ASR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed here three time & will visit again. Lovely room & ensuite, cleaning is very good & thickwhite fresh towels changed daily. Breakfast is self service,, cooked available if required. Food is very good, fresh & pleasant variety of cheese, cooked meats etc. as well as pastries & croissants etc. Service is very friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal, I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lola52Felixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
418 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I travel enough to know that when traveling from the U.S. to Europe to book the night before so that when I arrive at 7 AM after a nights travel, the room will be waiting. Well, I forgot, or just did not do this, so when I arrived with my wife, the room was not ready. The front desk staff was most helpful, took our luggage, told us of a good little bistro close by and asked for our cell phone number, Within an hour, we got a call. The room would be ready in 30 minutes. Wow, that is service. We stayed there for several days prior to moving on to the South. St. Germain is a wonderful spot to visit and use as a base in the city. While we have traditionally stayed on the East Bank, we really enjoyed this stay. The pictures on the site we used to book the room matched our room and we were happy. Our room was toward the back so very quiet and easy to get a good rest. We will return.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid street noise, and St. Germain can be noisy, ask for a room in the rear of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel very recently. We booked a superior room which was quite small, but apparently the standard one is even smaller.
If affordable, I would choose the Deluxe corner room instead, it is bigger and gets more light.The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very clean. Toiletries are provided but only renewed if needed. I guess that at the Agora the management does not believe in waist.
There is not much storage space, so do not bring loads of clothing. The front desk people are polite and courteous. We took the train directly from Charles de Gaulle airport and got off at Saint Michelle-Notre Dame station, an easy walk to the Agora. Left the luggage at their storage room and started our exploration of this very charming arrondissement. If looking for breakfast, the best option is the superb Eric Kayser boulangerie, located around the block from the hotel. We went there almost every day and loved it. I believe the Agora gets their baked goods from this bakery, so do not waist your money eating at the hotel. A good neighborhood bistro is Terroir Parisien , very close to the Agora. I would suggest making a reservation due to its high popularity.
The nearest metro station is at Maubert-Mutualite and just next to it you will find a very lively market. It is fun to browse through the stuff displayed at the kiosks. you may also find some worthwhile bargains.
If in need of comfortable women shoes , check Hugo Planet, next to Eric Kayser. They have a good selection and prices are competitive. It is a small store with a very patient sales lady.
By the way, the Luxembourg gardens are close by, and if tired and jet lagged , an ideal place where to sit and relax . Watch the locals , take photos, and enjoy this very lovely park !
As a last recommendation, book your reservation directly from the hotel website and more so, if you are willing to take a chance and pay in advance with no cancellation, you will get a good deal.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room one the third floor, the street is not very noisy and the view was of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farmaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My partner and I travelled to Paris a couple of years ago and stayed in the Agora Saint Germain. I was at Uni at the time and we were looking for somewhere cheap for a weekend away.

We couldn't have found a better hotel! The location was perfect - right in between the Notre Dame and Pantheon, and the Metro was close by so it was easy to get to the Eiffel Tower.

The hotel itself was modern, comfortable, and had a luxurious feel to it despite the price. We had the basic room and the rooms were quite small, and the bath was tiny, but it was wonderful, and the view from the room was just gorgeous.

The staff couldn't do enough for us, and I highly recommend getting the shuttle bus from the hotel to the airport - excellent value for money and far easier than public transport!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#502 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#321 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#161 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
#489 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#262 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Saint Germain

Property: Agora Saint Germain
Address: 42 rue des Bernardins | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#390 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#502 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Agora Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Agora Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing