We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Agora Saint Germain
Ranked #520 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, clean rooms”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sure, if you are after large rooms (hello, this is Europe, you are not likely to get them!) this is not the hotel for you. If you are after a hotel that is comfortable, clean, and in an unbeatable location then look no further. I stayed here for just one night but found the staff to be very friendly (and they speak English) and the rooms were clean, although small. Rooms have a small fridge, the location is about a 2 minute walk to the metro and only about 5 minutes from Notre Dame. Perfect! On Saturdays there is a small food market right near the hotel and there is an incredible bakery, Erik Kayser, just around the corner from the hotel. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    468
    114
    19
    21
See reviews for
107
522
37
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was not my first visit in this hotel, stay here since 2004, I love it for its location near to St Germain and Notre Dame. Perfect region in Quartier Latin, very quite with lots af restaurants and shops. The hotel stuff during my last jorney was perfect, super amiable receptionniste, very polite and nice girl at restaurant. The hotel is small, but very clean, newly renewed, room rather small, but suffisant for stay at night and also for work if necessary. Breakfast realy good for Paris, a buffet with french cheese, meat and bread, coffee and more, all you need suffisant more as continental breakfast. When in Paris, I always stay at this hotel and will do it and also recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank menshikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here between November 15-17 and the place was lovely!

I booked the hotel approximately 6 weeks ago via their website. I had read reviews and decided to book a superior room as I'm quite fussy when it comes to staying in clean, modern, nicely decorated hotel rooms. The place is right near most modern sites such as notre dame, louvre and its also very near metro stations which are no more than 10 minutes away from other sights such as the Eiffel Tower.

We got the RER B from Du Nord (the eurostar station) to Saint Michel Notre Dame and then changed and went one stop to Maubert Mutualite which takes you to the main strip of shops which contains a butchers, bakery, wine shop etc. The hotel is about a 4 minute walk from here. All in all the commute from Gare Du Nord took no more than 13 minutes. It really is that quick! Last year I got a taxi from the main station to the Latin quarter and it cost 40euros... -_-

Metro single tickets cost 1.75 so clearly that's far cheaper than a 40 euro taxi that takes 30 mins to get to the Latin quarter due to all the traffic.

Anyway back to the hotel! The reception is beautiful, the staff are very friendly and allowed us to dump our bags so we could look around before checking in (we got there 2 hours before check-in). We stayed in room 304 and were very pleased with how it looked. The bed was comfy and the rooms were very warm, which is exactly what you need for Paris winter weather. The bathroom was decadent and the shower worked a treat with no signs of mould.

I've read that people were unhappy with the room size ... I'd ask those people whether its important to be able to do cartwheels in a hotel room or whether you're just there to get a good, clean, cosy nights sleep and a shower. The room is about 10x10 for those that are concerned.

Emma & Mike

Ps the free WIFI is great and accessible around the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mscurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend. The room was small but comfortable. The bathroom certainly had modern fittings. If I had one complaint about the room it is the lighting -- I know I should respect Eco-friendly lighting but it is a little dim. The front desk staff were very helpful. They gave good directions and were more than willing to make reservations when asked. They also seemed to enjoy speaking English.

The location is excellent: left bank, near both a metro and RER ... Plenty of restaurants. Breakfast was included in our very reasonable rate (about $160 per night) but there are excellent bakeries and cafes nearby. The breakfast in the hotel was basic but there is the opportunity to add to a continental breakfast by paying a supplement.

I would recommend for its location if nothing else and especially this location at this price.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scot_global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

After an exhaustive (trip advisor) search, and on the recommendation of a friend we finally settled on Hotel Agora St Germaine for our 5 days in Paris and we were not disappointed. In fact, the hotel more than met our expectations, since we were warned about the size of the room. We elected the larger deluxe room which was adequate and nicely furnished. Apparently unless you are willing or able to pay a minimum of $450 a night, or stay outside of the city or a less centrally located area, room size in Paris is small compared to the U.S.(Our room was about$300 a night )including tax. Be warned about elevator size which could be an issue if you have large luggage,but this was not a problem for us.
The front desk staff were very helpful, spoke English and able to direct us wherever we went. Location is ideal if you like walking( 5 minutes to the bridge to Notre Dame, then either right to the Marais, or left to any museum you desire.
Many restaurants in walking distance( we discovered several on the ile St. Louis, and loved Pre Verre near the hotel)
There are several metro lines nearby, so when your "dogs are barking "from all of the walking, you have some options.
If location is important, I highly recommend this hotel, with a wonderful morning market, a great fromagerie, boulangerie, patisserie and even a laundromat a block away.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ejbressler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the hotel.

The Agora Saint Germain hotel is well placed on a side street and just a stones throw away from the Pantheon and Notre Dame.There are plently of shops, bars and restauraunts within easy walking distance. Two metro stations were just down the road.

The staff at the hotel and all of locals we met on our travels were very friendly and helpful.

We requested a street view room prior to arrival and our request was met fully ... a nice room on the second floor with small juliette balcony overlooking the church. We chose a deluxe room with coffee making facilities, a small mini bar, air conditioning, hairdrier and flat screen TV. The room was compact (typical of parisian hotels) and through small it had everything we needed for our 4 day stay.

The hotel has a breakfast room where breakfast could be taken for 11 euros pp however I cannot comment on the cuisine as we chose to go out and eat outside of the hotel as we were travelling with friends who were staying in an other hotel in the local area.

If I had to be nit picking I would have one minor grumble as our room was not serviced until after 4pm each day. No deal breaker but worth a mention if you want to spend time in the afternoon in your room.

If we stay in Paris again we would be happy to stay at the Agora!

Higrade

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank higrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. I'm truly shocked that no one mentioned that there is a church right across the street from this hotel that rings it's bells every morning at 6am and then every hour after! Our first room was on the 2nd floor and besides the church bell ringing, the street noise in the morning was unbelievable. We asked the next morning to be moved and were givin a room on the 5th floor which was better noise wise. The price was quite good for a Paris hotel and we did like the location but although the bathrooms were updated the rooms were a little shabby. I don't believe that we would stay here again

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#504 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#319 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#162 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
#487 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#260 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Saint Germain

Property: Agora Saint Germain
Address: 42 rue des Bernardins | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#390 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#502 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Agora Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Agora Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing