We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's the fuss about?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Ranked #444 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Using Trip Advisor's generally glowing reviews to book this stay for a 2 night New Year's Eve trip to Paris, I can only wonder at why people think this hotel is so good and value for money. It is in an excellent location - a 7 minute walk to Notre Dame and cafes and shops in abundance BUT....
- It is on a busy, noisy main road and the windows do not block out the constant traffic noise
- the reception/lobby area is pretty ordinary and there is no bar nor anywhere to sit with friends for more than a short time as there is only one sofa and the rest of the furniture is comprised of small, uncomfortable stools
- our room was NOT modern but was bigger than other European hotel rooms I have stayed in. - -- - The beds were not very comfortable, the bathroom basic and Wifi non-existent in our room except if you stood 2 cm from one wall

Granted the front desk staff were delightful and helpful but the decor was very cheap and not so cheerful, the room was tired with carpet in a style from the 70s-80s and the lift, well only in Paris. Just big enough for one person carrying a small bag!

So all in all I can't give this hotel the review that others rate it at - just overall - average. I can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't eat at the hotel but given there are several cafes in 100m radius I would choose to have my cafe creme and croissant elsewhere!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Signoramarg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

We travelled to Paris with our two teenagers & stayed in this lovely hotel for four nights. It is modern decorated with luxurious rooms. The service is excellent & the Hotel is located near a small minimart as well as a bakery (just up the road). The Hotel is located to many off the main attractions & definitely worthwhile using. There is free Wi-Fi in all the rooms.

Room Tip: The Hotel has a very small lift, so it is better to stay on the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenW511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Nice, clean hotel with helpful staff. Room perhaps a little small. Several blocks walking to Notre Dame so it is convenient to that area of Paris. One block from the Seine. Metro access is one block away. Good neighborhood. Great fromage shop close by and they will vacuum pack cheeses for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel is well located on the Left Bank within a minute's walk of the metro and near lots of cafe and restaurants. The reception personnel are very helpful and go out of their way to assist guests. Check in and out was speedy. The bedroom is small but that's not unusual for this type of Parisian hotel. It contained everything one would require for stay of a few days. The bathroom is also small but does the business. The weather in Paris was cold when I visited but the bedroom and public areas of the hotel were well heated. Breakfast in the cellar breakfast room cost some 12 euros and food was fresh. Breakfast staff was willing and cheerful. Well run, clean and comfortable hotel that afforded a good night's sleep. Would re-visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for three nights in March 2013. We shopped around between online bookings sights and got a very good deal. We booked a delux room and were given a corner room overlooking the street on approx. the 3rd floor. There is a lift, however be warned, it just barely fits two people.

The room itself was not the biggest, but was perfect for just the two of us and one piece of luggage each. The bed was kingsize and very comfortable. The bathroom had a bath and a shower within the bath. Very importantly for me, the bedroom and bathrooms both had natural light and windows that open.

If you are a very light sleeper, you might hear a creaky floorboard, or heating, but generally it wasn’t too noisy considering the busy location. The location in fact is incredible, its literally 300m from the nearest metro station and we moved around the whole city from that one metro stop very easily.

Breakfast was limited to continental style – so we enjoyed croissants with chocolate spread or jam, and other pastries, along with yoghurt and fresh fruit and the most delicious hot chocolate I have ever had (he had coffee).

I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a very central place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samwhiplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Last week I stayed for 2 nights at the Abbatial. I liked my stay there because of the great location, the front-desk supportive attitude and the reasonable price.
I was by myself on a business trip. I also used the cozy lobby for a meeting, which was very comfortable for me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skatzav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for four nights prior to a fast train trip to Barcelona (which was terrific) for a 30 day cruise.We had only spent a day before in Paris on a previous cruise and wanted to explore a lot more of the city. We selected this hotel from Trip Adviser reviews and were very happy with our choice. From the reviews,we requested a large room with balcony and were given a room on level 5 with balcony which was perfect. From our room we could see Notre Dame and down the end of the side street - the river Seine.The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was fantastic and there was a great selection of eating places within easy walking distance.Again from the reviews we did book a Deluxe room and it was certainly worth it. We had plenty of room for our cases and enough hanging space. No hesitation of staying here again if ever we get the chance.
PS. Loved the city and sites. Got the hop on hop off bus and did heaps of walking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coutas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Agora Saint Germain
Agora Saint Germain
#582 of 1,803 in Paris
953 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#365 of 1,803 in Paris
996 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#174 of 1,803 in Paris
939 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#526 of 1,803 in Paris
578 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#259 of 1,803 in Paris
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain

Address: 46 boulevard Saint Germain | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#409 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#439 Family Hotel in Paris
#442 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $122 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbatial Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing