We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Ranked #440 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband goes to Paris for business quite regularly. He usually books a room in this hotel. It is not close to where he works but he enjoys being there for when he actually takes a break from work. I stay with him when I can. The rooms are small, but one should not expect big rooms in Paris or New York. It is very well located. The metro is right there, the RER too. The Panthéon is right there...well so many things really. We took a weekend to Switzerland in the middle of our stay and they kept half of our luggage which was a big help considering how painful the parisian metro is as soon as you are loaded. Someone is at the desk 24/7, it can be helpful. The windows are well insulated from the noise outside. A necessity since outside it is St Germain and it is not very quiet. There is a nice brasserie/cafe just down the hotel, perfect for the breakfast and tons of places to eat dinner any time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clairouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I chose this place upon the recommendation of a friend who had stayed here and I was not disappointed. I stayed in a comfort double, which was clean and very warm - important given that Paris was so cold! The bathroom was a decent size with a really lovely shower. Even though the hotel is located on the Bld St-Germain it is not noisy and I was not disturbed at all by any traffic or street noise.

I didn't have breakfast in the hotel so can't comment on that but there are excellent cafes, restaurants and patisseries in the area. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and especially so when I left my passport and other valuables in the safe, which were quickly returned to me.

All in all this is an excellent hotel to stay in if you are based in the Left Bank area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loobyloz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great location, lovely bathroom, big comfortable bed. Restaurant around this area are fantastic.Water pressure was good which is VERY unusual in Paris. Reception are excellent, with good tips and friendly manner.

Room Tip: Smile at the receptionist :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just got back from a very enjoyable week in Paris. We were delighted with Abbatial and its location. The hotel has recently been renovated and is comfortable, very clean, and well run. As hotel rooms in European cities are notoriously compact, we booked a superior room for a slightly higher fee. We stayed for six nights and got a deal that included breakfast, so the room didn't cost us that much more. Our room (number 45) was large enough and had a reasonably-sized bathroom. The bed linen was of very good quality and was frequently changed. We had a pleasing view, including the Pantheon, from our two large windows. All in all, the room was a clean, pleasant, comfortable place to get back to every night after a long day of sight-seeing. The staff were courteous and outgoing, especially Emmanuel at the desk , who is friendly and knowledgeable.

The hotel is a few minutes' walk from the Seine, Notre Dame Cathedral, and the lovely Ile Saint Louis, as well as the Pantheon, the Sorbonne, and the Latin Quarter. Boulevard Saint Germain is a good neighbourhood. The Mobert Mutualite Metro station is a two-minute walk from the hotel, and the much larger Notre-Dame-Saint Michel Metro station is about a seven-minute walk.

We recommend the Basque restaurant, Chez Gladinne, right next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 45 is a larger, though slightly more expensive room. It is what is called a "superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here for a few days the beginning of November and loved it. The location is great - a block from Notre Dame. It is also a 5-10 minute walk from Saint-Michel RER (train) station, for anyone who wants to take that from the airport.

The hotel was clean and well decorated. While the rooms are a bit smaller than US standards, it was perfectly functional. Bathroom was a good size with good water pressure. Beds were comfortable and pristine.

There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, so you won't go hungry.

My only "complaint" was the neighborhood is quite lively on the Friday and Saturday nights, so the sounds of the people coming home late was loud. It probably didn't help that I was jetlagged, so my sleep pattern was messed up to begin with.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Something not on the main street side, if there is that type of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kara7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very decent hotel in a really great location. It's just few minutes away from Notre Dame and Quartier Latin. There are so many great restaurants and coffee-houses in the neighbourhood.

Hotel rooms are rather small but not claustrophobic. Rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The weakest part of the room was the bathroom, which wasn't redecorated. We stayed on the 4th floor (room no. 41): our bathtub was damaged on the side and leaking (it had a little hole in the bottom), toilet seat was damaged (see the pictures).

We booked and pay for the superior room but I don't really know what was the difference to the standard... We had a view on the opposite windows (see the pictures), despite our request for the room with the street view. It wasn't big problem cause we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paradigm_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Terrific hotel in a super location...room size is what you can expect in similar hotels and the bathroom was plenty big enough....free wifi is a bonus...staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful....highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Agora Saint Germain
Agora Saint Germain
#570 of 1,802 in Paris
958 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#358 of 1,802 in Paris
1,004 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#554 of 1,802 in Paris
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#189 of 1,802 in Paris
954 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain

Address: 46 boulevard Saint Germain | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#408 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#438 Family Hotel in Paris
#441 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $110 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbatial Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing