We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris as it should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Ranked #407 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great location, lovely bathroom, big comfortable bed. Restaurant around this area are fantastic.Water pressure was good which is VERY unusual in Paris. Reception are excellent, with good tips and friendly manner.

Room Tip: Smile at the receptionist :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just got back from a very enjoyable week in Paris. We were delighted with Abbatial and its location. The hotel has recently been renovated and is comfortable, very clean, and well run. As hotel rooms in European cities are notoriously compact, we booked a superior room for a slightly higher fee. We stayed for six nights and got a deal that included breakfast, so the room didn't cost us that much more. Our room (number 45) was large enough and had a reasonably-sized bathroom. The bed linen was of very good quality and was frequently changed. We had a pleasing view, including the Pantheon, from our two large windows. All in all, the room was a clean, pleasant, comfortable place to get back to every night after a long day of sight-seeing. The staff were courteous and outgoing, especially Emmanuel at the desk , who is friendly and knowledgeable.

The hotel is a few minutes' walk from the Seine, Notre Dame Cathedral, and the lovely Ile Saint Louis, as well as the Pantheon, the Sorbonne, and the Latin Quarter. Boulevard Saint Germain is a good neighbourhood. The Mobert Mutualite Metro station is a two-minute walk from the hotel, and the much larger Notre-Dame-Saint Michel Metro station is about a seven-minute walk.

We recommend the Basque restaurant, Chez Gladinne, right next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 45 is a larger, though slightly more expensive room. It is what is called a "superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here for a few days the beginning of November and loved it. The location is great - a block from Notre Dame. It is also a 5-10 minute walk from Saint-Michel RER (train) station, for anyone who wants to take that from the airport.

The hotel was clean and well decorated. While the rooms are a bit smaller than US standards, it was perfectly functional. Bathroom was a good size with good water pressure. Beds were comfortable and pristine.

There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, so you won't go hungry.

My only "complaint" was the neighborhood is quite lively on the Friday and Saturday nights, so the sounds of the people coming home late was loud. It probably didn't help that I was jetlagged, so my sleep pattern was messed up to begin with.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Something not on the main street side, if there is that type of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kara7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very decent hotel in a really great location. It's just few minutes away from Notre Dame and Quartier Latin. There are so many great restaurants and coffee-houses in the neighbourhood.

Hotel rooms are rather small but not claustrophobic. Rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The weakest part of the room was the bathroom, which wasn't redecorated. We stayed on the 4th floor (room no. 41): our bathtub was damaged on the side and leaking (it had a little hole in the bottom), toilet seat was damaged (see the pictures).

We booked and pay for the superior room but I don't really know what was the difference to the standard... We had a view on the opposite windows (see the pictures), despite our request for the room with the street view. It wasn't big problem cause we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paradigm_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Terrific hotel in a super location...room size is what you can expect in similar hotels and the bathroom was plenty big enough....free wifi is a bonus...staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful....highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, 29th Oct- 2nd Nov. Got the hotel last minute and at a great price- think it was the last room availkable. The room rate was way more than we paid, about 3 times as much. So we felt very happy we got a good deal. We stayed on the 4th floor- stairs are a pain after sightseeing all day and the tiny lift stopped working on the 2nd day. Comfy bed, clean towels daily, friendly staff. There were no drawers in the room, the shower leaked leaving the whole floor wet. Location is fantastic! One block from Notre Dame Cathedral and 5 min walk to the Latin quarter where we thought the best and cheapest restaurants were. Great to wander round here at night.

Lots of deals in the restaurants- 3 courses at 10euro, 16euro and 20/24 euro. We always went for the 16euro set menu, where there's a few choices for each course. Food was great- i had moules mariniere, steak then tarte tartin in one restaurant. Couldn't fault any food we had in Paris. And the boulangeries!!! (bakeries) Amazing, delicious and reasonably priced.

We did all the sightseeing things, i'd put these in order from the best-
1. Napoleon's Tomb (absolutely stunning! p.s use the toilets in the armour museum- NOT the ones in the cafe that you have to pay for and are horrible)
2. Museum D'Orsay
3. The Louvre
4. Notre Dame Cathedral
5. Eiffel Tower ( we walked to the 2nd floor from the south pier, stairs only, cost 5euros, great fun and i am not fit!)
6. Night time bike ride around Paris - includes 1hour on boat down the Seine with wine! (Big fat tire company- well organised and lovely staff) My boyfriend would put this much higher! If you do do this i'd recommend it for the 1st day, we'd already seen a lot of the sights previously but it was great and the boat was lovely. I was so scared of the Paris roads before we started but there was about 20 of us and 2 tour guides so I felt very safe and was able to enjoy it rather than being in pure fear! I am not a biker, don't own one and i would not go on a bike on the roads in the UK so anyone can do this bike ride)
7. Saint Chapelle in Palais de Justice
8.Sacre Coeur and Monmatre
9. Moulin Rouge (don't bother, very seedy, run down and such an anti-climax)

Some tips:

Get there early for d'orsay, louvre and eiffel tower. We got there 1/2 hour before gates/doors opened and we were near the front and left the attraction to see sooooooo many people in the line to get in!

One HUGE tip we got given on our night time bike ride was where to go in for The Louvre. Don't bother going in through the pyramid, go to the Denon wing (if you're coming through the archway from the river it's the building on your left, if you're coming through the archway where the 'jelly baby family' artwork/sculpture go past the pyramid, cross the little road and it's the building on your left) In the first main doors by the lions (lion's entrance) there's an entrance. Absolutely noone was there and we bought our tickets and went straight in. Straight up to the Mona Lisa before the crowds got there. Such a good feeling! We were in there about 2 1/2hrs and when we came out there were hundreds and hundreds of people lining up to enter through the pyramid.
The glass pyramid connects all 3 wings of the Louvre Museum so you don't miss out because you walk through it and we left through that way. The top tip of our trip! An absolute must. They don't check bags so take in food & drink to eat in the cafe area. Oh, and go to toilets in the wings rather than the centre pyramid- the amount of people is unreal!

Metro is easy to use once you've been on it a couple of times. We were all set on getting a paris visite pass for the 5 days, but it was more expensive than what was said online so we got a book of two 10 tickets for 12euros each- this was for 2 of us for 5 days which worked out much cheaper. Maybe our fantastic location on St Germain contributed but i'd definitely buy as you go now. Metro was safe for us, we got on one night after our bike ride at midnight and it was fine.

We decided to line up to go up the Notre Dame Tower (this and the line for the Saint Chapelle were the longest we stood in, about 45mins), after all the winding small stairs you're hit with a stunning view when you step out. I really liked this view because you got the eiffel tower, the sacre coeur and the rest of the city.

Saint Chapelle in Palais de Justice was recommended by our bike ride guide, the line on the street is just to get through security, then you've got to wait even longer to get in the actual church. I personally think it was overpriced and the wait was way too long for the amount of time you actually spend in there. It was lovely, but i would've lived without it.

Overall we loved Paris. It met all my expectations. I thought i'd just do the one trip to Paris, but i'd love to go back again and wander around more and visit Versailles also.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kirste24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had some problems with a missing member of our party making connections and the hotel was extremely helpful in making calls and suggestions. All ended well and we had a delightful stay in the hotel. Rooms are small but well arranged and very clean. Location was excellent for all we wanted to do and would be very happly to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the front of the hotel and street noise made it difficult to leave windows open at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Agora Saint Germain
Agora Saint Germain
#578 of 1,804 in Paris
960 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#372 of 1,804 in Paris
1,006 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#570 of 1,804 in Paris
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#278 of 1,804 in Paris
1,337 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#195 of 1,804 in Paris
966 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain

Address: 46 boulevard Saint Germain | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#408 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#441 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $110 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbatial Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing