We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Ranked #443 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great position!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

It's an unassuming place on the Blvd St Germain, but it's clean and tidy, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and it's a good base to get anywhere from. Our room was pretty small, but there was a good sized ensuite shower room, and they had the best air con ever! It was 30C outside, but inside was perfect! Also we were at the front on the second floor, and the double glazing was very effective. Didn't have breakfast there, but went down to the cafe below, which allowed us to sit outside. Great hotel and does exactly what you want it to do. Makes you feel like a local!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PestfromBuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    525
    128
    31
    25
See reviews for
132
542
76
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Abbatial. The people at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. I arrived early in the day so I was able to store my luggage with them safely until check-in. They also booked a shuttle for me to the airport for my departure. The hotel is in an excellent location on the left bank. Notre Dame Cathedral is pretty much right around the corner. There's an Eric Kayser Boulangerie just a two minute walk from the hotel, as well as a lovely market just a few blocks up St. Germain Boulevard on the weekend. It's close to several metro stations but it's also easy walking distance to lots of attractions on both sides of the Seine. I lucked out and got a room on the fifth floor with a classic Parisian rooftop view which was a highlight in itself. The room was clean and comfortable and updated. Yes, it is a traditional European size room (read small) but it's well laid out and had a nice contemporary feel to it, and included a mini-bar fridge and a safe, as well as a kettle and complimentary tea. Bonus! For the price and the location, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We've just returned from a two night stay at the Hotel Abbatial, in the St Germain district of Paris.
Really impressed with the hotel. Very clean. Staff excellent and English spoken at Reception. We stayed in the triple room on the top floor. Double and single bed. Plenty of room for two adults and a 13 year old daughter. Room had two small balconies, one with a view of Notre Dame Cathedral and the Pantheon. Room. Fitted with good quality double glazing, so very quiet at night which was great. Room facilities excellent, including air conditioning - particularly appreciated the (free) safe in the room. Had breakfast both days which was lovely (don't expect English style), but had cereal, juice, omelette, French sausages, coissants, bread, preserves, yoghurt, fruit etc. Location was excellent, five minutes walk (if that) from the Maubert Mutualte Metro station. The Metro system in Paris is excellent. Trains every couple of minutes and a great way to get around during the day (we didn't use them at night so wouldn't like to comment). Hotel is about 15 minutes walk from Notra Dame and about the same from the St. Michel district which has loads of nice restaurants and bars, good shops and has a really great vibe. All in all a great place to stay. We will definitely be returning to Paris and will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I booked 2 rooms at this hotel for a family trip that included our son and my sister. The superior size rooms are "large" by european standards and bigger than what we are used to having in Paris. The staff was fluent in English which made my sister much more at ease. We did not eat the breakfast that was available at the hotel because there is a great patisserie a block away. The hotel had 24 hour coverage so we could always get our questions answered. They also helped arrange for shuttle service for our trip back to CDG for our flight out. I booked for 3 days as they were running a special and the price was very reasonable. There was road construction outside the hotel but that really wasn't the hotel's fault. The elevator was very tiny but find me a elevator retrofitted into a Paris hotel that isn't!! Overall, we were very pleased with Hotel Abbatial and would return again.

Room Tip: both rooms were street facing, better views but noisier, depends on a persons taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stressn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have been to Paris a couple of times and stayed at this hotel on our second visit. I would definitely book this hotel should be return again. Central location walking distance to Notre Dame and close to the metro station. Good selection of cafes and bars nearby.
The room we had was quite small and faced onto an internal courtyard (so no street noise at all) but this is pretty much par for the course in Paris, but it had everything we needed and the room and en suite were immaculately clean.
Tip - We booked our metro tickets in advance via a website called helloparis.co.uk and it saved a lot of time at the stations, epsecially as neither of us speaks French.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LozHammersbaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at this hotel in July. We had two separate rooms on 6th floor, each with view of the Pantheon, which was an unexpected surprise. The rooms were the typical small size for European hotels but accomodated our needs as single travelers and were absolutely clean and nicely decorated. The hotel lobby was still undergoing renovations as mentioned by previous travelers but this did not effect our stay. Should be done by now! I would think. We did not try the breakfast which seemed a bit pricey at 12 euro but found very good bakeries nearby. The location is wonderful, within walking distance of the Pantheon, Notre Dame and many nice cafes and restaurants. Staff was friendly but not overly helpful when we asked for a recommendation for a fish restaurant. We found a great one on Yelp (Fish La Boissonnerie on rue de Seine) and were delighted with our happy luck.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mgbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Convenient location, hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Notre Dame cathedral. Staff were friendly and spoke decent English. Room was small but that is to be expected of Paris and I guess many parts of Europe too.
One downside during our 2-night stay was that there was renovation work being carried out.

There are 2 good boulangeries (bakeries) nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeL758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Agora Saint Germain
Agora Saint Germain
#580 of 1,801 in Paris
943 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#300 of 1,801 in Paris
982 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#517 of 1,801 in Paris
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#264 of 1,801 in Paris
796 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Cluny Square
Hotel Cluny Square
#383 of 1,801 in Paris
678 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Address: 46 boulevard Saint Germain | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#409 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#439 Family Hotel in Paris
#442 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbatial Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing