We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Ranked #672 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just got back from a week stay at this great hotel in a great location! The staff was wonderfully helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast and ate it every morning. It was 12 euros and worth it considering how expensive everything is in Paris. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was very large and has a hair dryer, a tub and shower. We brought our 10 year old daughter with on this trip and she loved it! The hotel had a cot set up in the room for her when we arrived. The hotel has free WiFi. The location of this hotel could not be better. It is close to all the major attractions and the metro. There is really great restaurants all around the hotel. The only complaint I have is that we were in room 65, on the top floor the last room in the hotel and every night we hear a loud revving sound that sounded like a motorcycle revving then coming down with a crash. The sound would go away for about 5 minutes and then start up again. When I called the front desk they came up and at first said they did not hear it, then they said that it was not from the hotel. After several nights without sleep I told another staff member and on our final night all was silent. I wish I would have told multiple desk people right away. As the time difference and the touring made us exhausted. So the lack of sleep because of the noise was a big problem for us. I wish this had not happened as we really loved everything else about our stay. I would recommend that if you find a noise at night that you talk to several employees until the issue is resolved. Also, the personel were great at helping us locate our desired locations and helpful at navigating us and recommending places to eat. They arranged a taxi pick up for us at the airport and also for our return flight out. The speak very good English and were very friendly and courteous. We would stay here again!!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and heard noises coming from what sounded like the roof. Our friends stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDC118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    172
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
59
174
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic stay here. We were in room 64 on the top floor.
We ate dinner at the restaurants in this neighborhood every day. It was a perfect location for our base in Paris. We set out from here every morning and at the end of a very tiring day of sightseeing it was great to come back to this fabulous area and just hang out at night. We loved it. There are certainly more luxurious accommodations but this hotel and it's surroundings give you the unmistakable feeling that you are no where else in the world than in Paris.

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic book a lower floor because the elevator to the top is Tiny and the spiral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CampHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I could not fault this hotel. Had a great stay. The safe in the room was a nice touch. The location of this hotel was great with loads of eating places very close by, Notre Dame was only 10 minutes walk away and two metro stations are only 5 minutes away. The staff were very friendly and the reception staff all spoke English.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chroph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned from our first time in Paris and the Grand Hotel de lUnivers was perfect. First off, fantastic location. Of all the places we walked in Paris, which was EVERYWHERE, this was our favorite area. The hotel itself is very charming, staff is very nice, and our room 53 was great. Room was charming, clean and ample size for us. Bed was very comfy, and the bathroom clean and nice.Fifth floor put us at the level to see the Paris rooftops and enough above the street noise to help some. In fact, our only complaint would be that the Paris night life usually means having the window closed all night, which was a shame. However, with the window closed, and the air running, you hear nothing. In fact, we never even heard neighbors, which is nice. Lift is small but fit the two of us and our small luggage easily.

We took the RER B train from the airport for only 9 euros each which is far cheaper than any taxi or shuttle, and much quicker at about 30 minutes. Would not be great with big luggage, but we packed light so no problem. The St Michel/Notre Dame stop is only a few blocks away from the hotel right on St Germain Blvd. For our return to the airport, the hotel had a shuttle for 38 euros for the two of us, so that was nice to end the trip. Much longer trip back to the airport though.
Speaking of location again, you cannot ask for better. Notre Dame and the Louvre are only about 1/2 a mile, and the Eiffel Tower about 2 miles. Everything is so walkable and always seemed safe, even late at night. You also cannot go wrong staying here since the amount of places to eat, drink and shop are endless. In fact, we had breakfast at the hotel only once, which was nice, but with so many choices nearby, you never need to eat at the same place twice.

Yes, we will gladly return to the Grand Hotel de l'Univers.

Room Tip: We loved room 53. second to top floor facing the street, so you get a taste of the Paris rooftops an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURLINGTON
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this wonderful little hotel. The location was its best feature. My husband and I walked to most Paris attractions. And when the 12 mile days took their toll on us, we hopped on the Metro and the RER, all within a few blocks of this hotel. The RER-B is faster to CDG than a shuttle bus, but it has been rerouted due to construction on the RER; this was the only time we got lost,
The hotel staff was helpful; the bed and bathroom very comfy and just what we needed. There were great bakeries and cafe's in the immediate neighborhood, as well as a grocery store and 2 Starbucks for my American coffee.
We stayed in Room 36. The light wall was fine; it afforded light and some privacy. For as busy as this area is, the room and hotel were quiet. Best of all, because it was a toasty 90 degrees on 3 of the days we were in Paris, the air conditioning in this room was chilly. All of this meant that we slept incredibly well and were well rested as we embarked on uncovering all the amazing sights, sounds, and tastes of this remarkable city. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We loved room 36. It was charming, bigger than we expected, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location was perfect with all the main attractions easy to walk nearby and easy to get to. We stayed there July 25 thru 30, 2013 my husband and I (in our sixties) stayed on the first level in room number two facing the street with a balcony. The room was blue nicely decorated it was small but you are in Paris and not at all disappointed, our room faced the street it was quite after a long day of walking and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was big with a great rainfall shower and good hot water our towels were perfumed as well as the linen on the bed. We walked everywhere Paris had to offer, the Louvre Musée, Notre Dame, Pont Neuf, Pantheon, Luxembourg Gardens, Saint Michael Fountain, Tuileries Garden, Latin Quarters, Palais Royal, Oblique, Arc de Triumph du Carrousel, Pont Alexander II, Eiffel Tour, Champ Elysées, Arch de Triumph, Place de la Concorde and The Seine River. We didn't use the metros but there are 3 nearby but we like walking and we felt safe to all the places I mentioned above, if we can do it you can too, plus you get to see all the views . Lots of cafés on Rue Buci, our corner hangout for people watching was Conti and lots of restaurants nearby our favorite St. André on Rue St. André de Arts , shopping on boulevard St. Gérmaine de Pres marché, there is a money exchange service nearby too. Grocery store nearby, pharmacy and fresh fruit & vegetable market which was delight to have. We packed a picnic with fruits , bread and wine and headed to the beautiful Gardens of Luxembourg must see the fountain of Medici there. Location, location, location for the price on a tuck away little street near where all the action is. We ate the morning breakfast $15 pp excellent for the price on our last day stay all you can eat, it was very good. The place is clean and the people are very friendly, helpful and fluent in English there are maps in the lobby and they arrange taxi pick-up if needed. We needed one to go to Gare de Lyon for a trip to the South of France they gave us a wake-up call and the taxi was on time. I recommend this hotel and would visit again.

Room Tip: facing the street with a balcony window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nery d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. We stayed there 2 years ago for the 16th birthday of our eldest daughter. The hotel had not changed at all. Clean rooms, clean bathrooms and after walking around Paris for 10 hours the most comfortable beds I have ever experienced in a hotel!
Location is superb and I must recommend taking out a city bike to see the sights! In a lively area with a great atmosphere. Wonderful service and very friendly, helpful staff.
We returned for our youngest daughters 16th and were not disappointed, standards were the same and we had a magical time in Paris! This hotel is a hidden gem . Totally delightful and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saz9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Victoire & Germain
Hotel Victoire & Germain
#405 of 1,801 in Paris
66 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#729 of 1,801 in Paris
147 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Fleurie
Hotel de Fleurie
#810 of 1,801 in Paris
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#145 of 1,801 in Paris
470 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#279 of 1,801 in Paris
839 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#673 of 1,801 in Paris
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Univers

Property: Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Address: 6 rue Gregoire de Tours | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel de l'Univers)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#566 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de l'Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel can boast one of Paris' best addresses. It stands in the centre of Saint Germain des Prés. A short stroll from the Eglise St. Germain des Prés and the famous café "Les Deux Magot's". A place to see and to be seen! Recently restored this delightful hotel of distinction provides a variety of rooms with cosy intimacy. As an old townhouse, Grand hotel de l'Univers still has many of it's original details like the beans in the ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing