We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safran

Safran
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
Safran is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,478 of 16,718 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Description: Restaurant SAFRAN an innovative, fresh approach to Indian cuisine, Restaurant SAFRAN offers a relaxed, contemporary atmosphere in which to enjoy the extraordinary, vibrant Pan-Asian cuisine. In over a decade of service, the restaurant has sought to redefine Indian food, decor and service. Restaurant SAFRAN elaborate and extensive menu incorporates the best of Indian, Pakistani and Banglades cuisine with specialities and influences from all over the Asia, often, with a European twist. Rare, unusual meats feature on the menu and Cyrus's. Speciality Menu changes fortnightly to take advantage of the best of French seasons have to offer. All dishes use only the freshest of ingredients, cooked with natural herbs and Cyrus's own spice blends. Restaurant SAFRAN is dedicated to promoting environmental awareness and won two 'Environmental Best Practice' Executive Chefs and Experienced Hospitality with full Audio Video inside our restaurant. Restaurant SAFRAN - Speciality of Traditional and Innovative Indian Cuisine.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Visited this restaurant twice during my stay at Paris.
The staff is friendly and courteous, especially the boss - Mr. Durgesh Gera. He is one hell of a great guy who ensures that his customers are well attended to.
The food was good and flavorful. The restaurant is spacious and has a warm, welcoming charm to it.
Worth a visit for sure if you're considering Indian food in Paris.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teddy374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    105
    52
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sans plus - average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Not bad but all the dishes tasted the same. We had korma, vindaloo & masala dishes but just tasted as if extra tabasco had been added to the vindaloo. Quick service and lively atmosphere

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great indian food for good prices in the Latin Quartier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We went there for a quick lunch in the Latin Quartier. Food was very good. They also have some menu deals. We took one lunch vegetarian menu for 10 euro and panner shahi korma and chappati. We paid around 25 euro for everything. which wasnt much, but the food wasnt much either. However, it was tasty and I would go back again!
We booked a table for two, but somebody forgot to write it down, so when we got there, the only table available was very close to the entrance door. We took since we were hungry, but it wasnt very comfortable.
The place itself is ok. One of the very good things is that after you've left the place your clothes dont smell like curry, as it happens in other indian restaurants that I've been.
Overall, food great, prices ok, location ok, but order enough food and make sure you have a booking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeliaTimisoara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good indian in the latin quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had dinner here after reading the TripAdvisor reviews and it did not disappoint. The food was lovely, a bit mild as the French prefer it that way but we asked for extra chilli to spice it up and the staff were great. The menu is also in English if you struggle with French and the staff all spoke excellent English. Definitely worth a visit if you fancy an Indian meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubie-1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian food at ok prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The food is good, and portions rather large. I had the lamb shish kebab for a starter, and it was large enough to share. Entrees are also large enough if you want to swap with your dinnermates after eating a full plate.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safran also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Safran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing