We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
Review of La Compagnie de Bretagne - CLOSED

La Compagnie de Bretagne
Price range: $20 - $53
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Description: We are happy to make you discover or rediscover Brittany pancakes by mixing tradition and modernity. The Compagnie de Bretagne offers seasonal menus with fresh food, mostly from organic producers in Brittany.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
375 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

A very pleasant restaurant with good food. All four of us were pleased with our dinners. The waiter was very friendly and helpful. The salted caramel ice cream was wonderful for desert and was the chocolate crepe. We also have appetizer crepes that were a treat. The restaurant is very pleasing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SonomaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    49
    16
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excelent food from Brittany in a very classy setting”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We wanted to go to a creperie during our stay in Paris and the hotel concierge suggested this restaurant. Its located in a very busy touristy area but in a quiet street. When you arrive you realize this is not a typical simple and basic creperie. It has a very elegant and understated decoration, all in black and white. The menu has quite a list of galettes and crepes but also features a good number of formal dishes from Brittany. We stayed with the first since that was our purpose; the presentation was impecable, with very original, tasty recipes and high quality ingredients. The service was attentive and correct but not outstanding. The prices are above what you would expect from a creperie, but the experience was far superior, so I considered our bill very reasonable at 70 Euros for both of us. Would definitely recomend it if you want to dine high quality Breton food in a beautifully decorated restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We found this restaurant on a blog written by expats living in Paris and were looking forward too it because it was something different. Sadly we were disappointed.
This restaurant is located on a nice little quiet side street off of St. Germain. The décor is quote nice and the restaurant seemed like a quiet respite from the busy St. Germain. Their focus is the food of Brittany.
We were one of the first tables to be seated. Right a way our server seemed a little confused. Some of our main courses arrived before some of our appetizers. I have worked in a restaurant and I suspect this was the server as opposed to the kitchen because the restaurant wasn’t busy yet.
The high note was the food. We all had the savoury crepes( Galettes). Everything seemed fresh and was cooked very well. We also had some lovely desert crepes.

I don’t think I would recommend this restaurant as it wasn’t the cheapest and the service ruined our meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOMM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Exquisite and delicious”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If I could come up with something I didn't like I would say it but this place was beyond great. The decor is awesome and the food equal to its surroundings. The black and white theme was classy and their presentation of something as simple as a crepe made it that much better. Make sure to get some of the cider and I probably don't need to remind you but a dessert crepe is a necessity as well!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cyclomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A wonderfully different creperie”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I'm a great fan of the traditional Breton creperies around Montparnasse like Josselin, but this is something else! Really beautiful decor, all in black and white, echoing the Breton flag over the entrance. The menu is in French and Breton (they apologised for not having a menu in English, but were eager to explain anything we didn't understand). The staff on the night we went the staff also did not speak English, but were charming about my halting French.

But most importantly, the food was excellent. There are obviously galettes and crepes, but also an interesting range of seafood dishes, and numerous Breton specialities such as kig ha farz and kouign amann. Also a really excellent selection of ciders - the waiter guided us through them, and the one he suggested for an aperitif was absolutely delicious.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Compagnie de Bretagne also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing