We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #782 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I visited in September of last year and should have written a review sooner. We have friends in London who recommended this hotel and it was for all the right reasons. Service, location and a very reasonably priced hotel in the heart of the city. We love to walk and you could walk or take the metro anywhere easily. The Louvre was just a few blocks away, the Eiffel tower not terribly far away and the Champs d'Elysees close by as well. There is a very authentic jazz club just a few blocks away. Although we only stayed two nights we visited both nights, the music was well worth it. The man at the front desk told us about the department store not too far that carries anything from clothes to wine and food. It's a worthwhile find if you want to bring back gifts or take something back to your room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    127
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
39
139
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Fab location. Quirky rooms. Clean but ours was compact. Would recommend it as a very good place to stay, as it is near to lovely restaurants and shops. We stayed here for 3 nights and had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colvill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April 2013 - our room was small but absolutely charming overlooking Rue Bonaparte. The staff were wonderful, especially Madame Dominique who helped us with tours and restaurants and how to find the shop "Anne Fontaine". The breakfast was excellent and delivered to our room for no extra charge.
The location was perfect - a short walk to access buses and metro. Even though we are senior travellers, it was possible to walk to Notre Dame, Sainte Chapelle, Musee d'Orsay etc etc. Plenty of restaurants cafes in the area. There was no noise at night - we slept with the casement window ajar.
The hotel really made us feel we were in Paris!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent value for money due to the GREAT location (easy metro access, and close to many wonderful sites).Rooms are typical size for older Parisian hotel, small but nice and clean.Staff is friendly most of the time. Breakfast slightly average

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmer, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, for the second time, last September. The location is perfect with so many wonderful restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance.
We were still very pleased with everything about this lovely, old, very Parisian hotel. Our "old world" decorated room was comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was very modern with toiletries included. The optional breakfast is delicious and well worth the money.
We will be visiting Paris, again, next month. Of course, we have reserved our favorite room at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jbialy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrill Lake, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just a toss of the coin and what a toss to win, very small but incredibly warm in its welcome and its rooms The rooms (especially at the top ate delightful and very clean, ours had a new bathroom and everything was provided. Breakfast was included and you will not be disappointed, we most certainly will stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room , ours was small but very nice to be in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We usually stay in the lively Marais district but decided in the 5th/6th on the Left Bank for a change and didn't regret it. Top marks to the hotel for a quintessentially Parisian experience in one of the most characterful parts of the city - in the midst of cafes, restaurants and fascinating shops as well as being walking distance to the Musee d'Orsay, the Louvre, the Luxembourg Gardens etc etc. The metro is barely a hop, step and jump away - and the Batobus on the Seine at the bottom of Rue Bonaparte. Yes, the rooms are small but this is one of the most expensive parts of Paris - and most hotels in this enchanting area are up to twice the price or more. I'd certainly recommend the hotel to my friends and stay there again. For anyone arriving by train/Eurostar at Gare du North, no. 4 metro goes direct to St German des Pres - so convenient.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor was very quiet with the double glazing and high above the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surprised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#727 of 1,801 in Paris
148 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#74 of 1,801 in Paris
643 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#624 of 1,801 in Paris
305 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
#652 of 1,801 in Paris
366 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#674 of 1,801 in Paris
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain des Pres

Property: Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Address: 36 rue Bonaparte, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#461 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the Paris' most coveted positions, Hotel Saint Germain des Prés provides a cool haven with a feel of a chic Paris pied a terre. Built in the 18th century as a gracious townhouse, the hotel retains many period details and original architectural features.Today Hotel Saint Germain is a landmark of unique character and 21st century timeless elegance. A choice of interesting people the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Germain Des Pres Hotel
Hotel St Germain Des Pres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing