We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #780 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent value for money due to the GREAT location (easy metro access, and close to many wonderful sites).Rooms are typical size for older Parisian hotel, small but nice and clean.Staff is friendly most of the time. Breakfast slightly average

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    124
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
38
138
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmer, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, for the second time, last September. The location is perfect with so many wonderful restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance.
We were still very pleased with everything about this lovely, old, very Parisian hotel. Our "old world" decorated room was comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was very modern with toiletries included. The optional breakfast is delicious and well worth the money.
We will be visiting Paris, again, next month. Of course, we have reserved our favorite room at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jbialy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrill Lake, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just a toss of the coin and what a toss to win, very small but incredibly warm in its welcome and its rooms The rooms (especially at the top ate delightful and very clean, ours had a new bathroom and everything was provided. Breakfast was included and you will not be disappointed, we most certainly will stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room , ours was small but very nice to be in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We usually stay in the lively Marais district but decided in the 5th/6th on the Left Bank for a change and didn't regret it. Top marks to the hotel for a quintessentially Parisian experience in one of the most characterful parts of the city - in the midst of cafes, restaurants and fascinating shops as well as being walking distance to the Musee d'Orsay, the Louvre, the Luxembourg Gardens etc etc. The metro is barely a hop, step and jump away - and the Batobus on the Seine at the bottom of Rue Bonaparte. Yes, the rooms are small but this is one of the most expensive parts of Paris - and most hotels in this enchanting area are up to twice the price or more. I'd certainly recommend the hotel to my friends and stay there again. For anyone arriving by train/Eurostar at Gare du North, no. 4 metro goes direct to St German des Pres - so convenient.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor was very quiet with the double glazing and high above the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surprised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and will definitely return. I've stayed in Paris hotels a few times and this has been my favourite. It is reasonably priced and, although rooms are small, they have a very unique and quirky style; no issues whatsoever with housekeeping and cleanliness. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The Saint Germain des Pres metro stop is just a two minute walk from the hotel. The location is excellent and staff recommended some good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 209karent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here on a two night business trip in March.

Saint Germain des Pres is a central and attractive part of the city to be based in. The hotel is about 15 mins walk to either the Musee d'Orsay or the Lourve, when crossing on the foot bridge (Pont des Artes). The famous restaurant Les Deux Magots is at the end of the street.

Small room (normal for Paris) but very clean (not always normal for Paris!). The decor of the room was quite quaint. The bathroom had recently been modernised. The room was quite warm so had to leave window open, it's on a relatively quiet street so that wasn't a problem.

Breakfast was a simple buffet, with coffee and pastries served at the table.

Pleasant staff. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We arranged our accomodation through Air Transat in Canada. Hotel Saint Germain Des Pres was recommended by the booking agent as she stayed there in the recent past. River Seine is a five minute walk, Notre Dame is 20 minutes, the famous restaurant Les Deux Magots - with its impeccable, somewhat stuffy service and high prices - is 2 short blocks away. Metro stations are 4 minutes walk and provide easy access to the city.

The hotel uses a combination of ledger and computer so sometime the staff seem a bit confused, however; are professional and friendly. Air Transat claimed all rooms are air conditioned. Our room was not and that was fine since on arrival we were greeted by the coldest weather in Paris in 50 years. Later in the week as temperatures climbed we had to keep the window open to keep cool. If you like it, do ask for A/C as 2 rooms do not have it.

Our room was small, well appointed and clean. The bed was comfortable and the decor pleasantly interesting. The tub had a shower attachment but, there was no curtain so a standup shower was not possible. We often walked the 4 floors to our room as the single lift was very small and slow.

A breakfast is provided and it was a delightful experience. Of course croissants are present as are other pastries and breads, fresh fruit, varieties of yogurt, cheeses, cold meats and excellent coffee. It was always fresh and of high quality. The small breakfast room has about 6-8 tables and has a very welcoming feeling.

We will definately return and recommend Hotel Saint Germain des Pres.

Room Tip: There are 2 non air conditioned rooms - do ask if you want A/C. The street is popular and may be lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_About_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#647 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#738 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#56 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#1,128 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#377 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain des Pres

Property: Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Address: 36 rue Bonaparte, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#462 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the Paris' most coveted positions, Hotel Saint Germain des Prés provides a cool haven with a feel of a chic Paris pied a terre. Built in the 18th century as a gracious townhouse, the hotel retains many period details and original architectural features.Today Hotel Saint Germain is a landmark of unique character and 21st century timeless elegance. A choice of interesting people the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Germain Des Pres Hotel
Hotel St Germain Des Pres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing