We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Henri IV

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Henri IV
Ranked #1,222 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The location is great, 5 min walk to Norte Dame, and a few metro stations are very close by. You get breakfast every morning consisting of coffee/tea/hot chocolate, baguette and jam. Our room was on the 5th floor and had a little balcony overlooking wonderful Place Dauphine.The room however did not have air conditioning, and the hotel is located in a very old building with a lot of steps and no elevator, so it is going to be a workout for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lera09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    90
    43
    17
    29
See reviews for
37
110
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of this funky hotel is perfect. The spiral staircase to our room was challenging, but got us in shape for the rest of our 3-1/2 week trip. Not much to brag about here. Rooms are small, breakfast small, staff neutral, but it is very reasonable in a very expensive city. However, the location is what makes it all worthwhile.
Excellent restaurants nearby and the river steps away. Metro, Notre Dame, Left Bank all close.
We stayed 5 nights and were only in the room to sleep so it served us well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank September5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Honeymooned here for almost a week in 2010...room came with a mini kitchen so we could store all of the cheese and wine we bought everyday :) the staff spoke English very well and have us pointers on our destinations. The hotel is on a quiet street away from the tourist noise but close enough to most site. If it had air conditioning it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Older style but excellent location Isle de La Citie. The staff were very helpful and provided helpful tourist advice. Good restaurants closeby and not far to a range of tourist attractions. I walked everywhere during my four day stay, even as far as the Eiffel Tower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was assigned room 20 on the 5th floor. The floor was so dirty with grit and grime I had to brush off my feet before getting into bed. Shower stall and toilet were black with filth and mirror appeared to have dried vomit on it. Horrible attitude from the woman at the desk. Stairs were equally dirty and bannister was sticky with grime. One threadbare towel. Absolutely awful.

Room Tip: If you have no choice but to stay here, insist on inspecting a room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Yes, the location is fantastic, but I would not stay here again. The staff ( with the exception of Phillipe) were unfriendly, and the staff serving the little breakfast seemed too scared to say a word. Madame Manageress is keen to do the right thing by the hotel, to the cost of customer service and civility. If you book a twin room, it is just a folding bed added to the double room. Not really suitable for anyone bigger than a child. There were some good points. Bedding looked grotty, but smelt clean. Water was hot and plentiful. Bed was comfortable. However, rooms are very down-at-heel, and the table and wardrobe are only good for firewood. Shower curtain looked awful. It would cost very little to provide a reasonable level of accomodation, and a smile costs nothing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a very old building with no lift and no frills. The stairs are a consideration for those with limited mobility or with a lot of luggage. There is no one to help you carry your bags. That said, our room was clean, had a balcony with a view of the park. We did not find the park noisy. The housekeeping makes your bed everyday but does not change the sheets (but might have changed the towels...can't remember). Sheets and towels do not need to be changed daily - go green! Breakfast is nothing exciting. This is not a hotel where you go to be pampered. This is a perfect hotel for those of us who explore all day long and want a clean bed to lay your head at night. The location is fabulous. The staff are friendly and helpful. They will secure your bags after you check out if you have a later train,etc. We were pleased with our experience overall.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room - the balcony is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
#515 of 1,801 in Paris
560 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#99 of 1,801 in Paris
1,007 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#890 of 1,801 in Paris
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel de Lutece
Hotel de Lutece
#549 of 1,801 in Paris
335 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#250 of 1,801 in Paris
893 reviews
Le Bristol Paris
#4 of 1,801 in Paris
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Henri IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Henri IV

Property: Hotel Henri IV
Address: 25 Place Dauphine, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Henri Iv Hotel
Henri Iv Paris
Hotel Henri Iv Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing