We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful in good location”
Review of Hotel Louis 2

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Louis 2
Ranked #567 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great inexpensive hotel - clean, but small - in a great location for exploring the city. Close to the Metro. Close to a macaroon shop and many great restaurants. Not as touristy seeming as other parts of Paris. Moderate walking distance to most attractions. I'd definitely stay here again. Felt it was really good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitcheci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone or by email.
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ to get the best price ever and to get our latest news !

Yours Faithfully,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 - 4* Paris Saint Germain des Prés

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Louis 2
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 437 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here DECEMBER 2011.

Location :: absolutely great, the 5e/6e Arrondissement is the best place to stay when in Paris (contrary to staying at hotels close to some famous landmarks). There are tons of shops selling just about anything, and also book stores (perfect for those who love Bande Dessinée and french novels). Even more charming is the fact that it's chuckful of cafés and restaurants serving great food. :D
*
Metro :: [Odeon]; but from the airport it'd be more convenient to get off at [Luxembourg], then walk from there -- the ride costs 9euros. (You can have the hotel arrange the airport transfers too; in our case, we arranged for one TO the airport, and it was around 30-something euros.)
*
Rooms :: are tiny! Have never stayed in a room as small as Room#34! (After having stayed at a lovely, and cheaper hotel prior to this in another European country, I was quite disappointed!). Then again, I guess this is to be expected with most hotel rooms in Paris.
-
We always had to ask for bath towels because they always 'forgot' to replace them. They were brought up immediately as soon as we asked though. -- freshly pressed!
*
Elevator :: this hotel has one, it can fit two people and two luggages. Old-ish, and a little slow.
*
Wifi :: Equipped with a wifi, but very hard to connect to... the speed was so-so. But it was free.
*
Other comments: The pillows were a little uncomfortable. The bed was quite small. We had a little problem with the A/C, can't be adjusted, we asked for it to be adjusted during the afternoon but was told they can only set in on 'cold' or 'warm'. And in the winter, it's 'warm'. In the end we ended up leaving the windows open in the evening because the room was suffocating.
*
However bad the room was, I had a lovely stay, Paris is a wonderful city, and so are its people. The friendly staff at Hotel Louis do try to make your stay as pleasant as possible at the very least, and that means a great deal to most travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xMiffyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone or by email.
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ to get the best price ever and to get our latest news !

Yours Faithfully,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 - 4* Paris Saint Germain des Prés

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My daughter and I very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Louis II the last weekend in December 2012. The room was very comfortable, small but expected for a hotel in Paris. The location is wonderful in the St. Germaine area. A nice walk to the Seine, very close to the Odeon Metro stop and a taxi stand just one block away. Wonderful bakeries in the area. Fabulous Italian Restaurant across the street, Marco Polo. I thought it was a nice hotel at a decent price for Paris. I had not been to Paris in 25 years and was excited to take my daughter. I was a bit disappointed to see that many of the main attractions, Notre Dame and Sacre Coeur, have gone the "cheesy" route. They have allowed "coin making machines" in the middle of the cathedrals, kiddie rides outside Sacre Coeur, and Notre Dame had piled up storage boxes in many of the chapels along the sides of the nave. It was saddening to see. There is also a monstrous set of bleachers just put up in front of Notre Dame for the next year to celebrate an anniversary. They are hideous as they block the once breathtaking view of the cathedral from a distance. Horrible. But we had a great trip and the hotel was very much worth it. Staff was very helpful as well.

Room Tip: The elevator is tiny so you'll have to get used to it if you are on an upper floor, I think ther...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmdonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone or by email.
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ to get the best price ever and to get our latest news !

Yours Faithfully,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 - 4* Paris Saint Germain des Prés

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a great two-night stay at the Hotel Louis II in October 2012. The staff of the hotel was excellent -- they went out of their way to give us restaurant recommendations and make us dinner reservations, taxi reservations and they even shipped my iPhone back to the states for me after it was mistakenly left in the back of our taxi. The location is fantastic, close to great restaurants, pastry shops and shopping and our room was wonderfully clean, comfortable and quiet. Yes, the rooms are small, but this is the center of Paris and the value of this hotel is outstanding. We plan to stay here again the next time we return to Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eliotm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone : 01 46 33 13 80 or by email : reservation@hotel-louis2.fr !

Yours Faithfully,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Hôtel Louis 2 - 4* Paris Saint Germain des Prés

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

In two words, if you don’t like walking the location is amazing a step from the Odeon metro station, the 6th arr. is the well-known for cafes, restaurants, shops.

The Room:
If the days of honeymoon are forgotten and you didn’t speak or looked at each other for quite some time, it is a perfect room for you!
You will not have a choice the rooms are small, eventually you will meet again and at last you will start your second honeymoon.
If this is your honeymoon, room size is only a statistic for you.
In any case I’m not sure what your category is, take advantage of an opportunity that is potentially not risky, love is not measured by rooms size.

Finally the hotel staff:
I don’t know what is the gossip or the rumor between your buddies in related to the French hospitality; I can assure you that it is all true! they are wonderful, lovely and charming.
If you didn’t decide by now probably you are not ready for Paris yet .

Happy New Year

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone or by email.
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ to get the best price ever and to get our latest news !

Yours Faithfully,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 - 4* Paris Saint Germain des Prés

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location of the hotel is just 2-3 min. walk to metro station, still calm enough to take a good sleep during the night. The rooms are a bit small like most of the Paris hotels, though the room we stayed was quite clean, comfortable and organized that we never had to complain about the size of the room. The staff and especially the hotel manager Mr. Louis are absolutely friendly and helpful, unilke the Parisien people that we came across during our visit. I do not think that we could feel more welcome in any other Paris hotel. For my next visit to Paris, I would definitely stay at Hotel Louis II.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location is amazing (the 6th arr. is the best...local restaurants, cafes, shops, Metro...everything) and the staff was fantastic.

We arrived late on NYE and were greeted with an enthusiastic "Welcome Mr and Mrs [insert name here]!! Happy New Years Eve!" followed by the best words ever "Please let us take your luggage upstairs while you enjoy our celebratory drinks and snacks."

The room is typically small, as are most other Parisian hotels, but clean and a good value. The staff was great and the location was phenomenal.

We will be back to Paris and would certainly stay at the Hotel Louis II again. A great option for the typically expensive 6th arr.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaseTheTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#104 of 1,804 in Paris
1,085 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#194 of 1,804 in Paris
459 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#106 of 1,804 in Paris
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Tonic Hotel Saint Germain
Tonic Hotel Saint Germain
#1,002 of 1,804 in Paris
111 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Victoire & Germain
Hotel Victoire & Germain
#320 of 1,804 in Paris
75 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Fleurie
Hotel de Fleurie
#818 of 1,804 in Paris
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louis 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louis 2

Address: 2 rue Saint Sulpice | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#298 Business Hotel in Paris
#328 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $177 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Louis 2 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 260 metres from le Sénat and the Jardin du Luxembourg, Hotel Louis 2 is a 13-minute walk from Notre Dame Cathedral. It offers 24-hour reception and a buffet breakfast can be ordered.Free Wi-Fi is available in each air-conditioned room, which includes a TV and a minibar. The stylish rooms are mainly decorated in white, red and black and each have an en suite bathroom.A continental breakfast with fresh orange juice, cheeses, eggs and homemade fruit salads is available every morning. Different type of breads and hams are also provided,In the heart of a district typical of old Paris, with freestone buildings, little cafes and busy restaurants, the hotel features 22 bright rooms and junior suites with classic interior design.The Louis 2 is in the district of the editors and booksellers. Odeon Metro Station with direct links to Chatelet and Gare de Lyon is 210 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Louis 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Ii Hotel
Louis Ii Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing