We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mansart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mansart
Ranked #174 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a wonderful spring Paris vacation due to its location. We had only 2-sunny days during our 5 day-stay at the Mansart Hotel. This hotel is centrally located: within walking distance to high & low end shopping venues (LaFayette, St. Honore boutiques, Rue Rivoli, etc.), Place de Vendome, Place Operah, cafes, metro stations, tour-vendors, and restaurants!

6-months prior to arrival we confirmed availability for 3-confortable twin beds and a large room. Instead, we got 2-twins and a very uncomfortable rollaway. Our AAA-Travel Agent and the hotel BOTH led us to believe good beds would be available.

The staff was both friendly and BUT not accommodating--our sleeping needs were not met.

The breakfast room is beautiful and the continental breakfast did include eggs, sausages, and very good coffee, in addition to the customary cheeses, croissants, yogurt, fresh fruits, and pastries. Elias, our server was extremely courteous, respectful, and accommodating. He was quick to replenish our empty coffee/milk supply.

The hotel loaned us umbrellas during the rainy days! My complaints:
(1) We did not get a recently remodeled room as per our email request.
(2) We did not get 3-comfortable twin beds
(3) We did not get a large room, and
(4) The Hotel was unwilling to provide a cost breakdown for our room. Since we paid a very high price for a 5-day stay, I want to know the cost for the extremely uncomfortable and back breaking COT!

My low ratings for the service, value, and rooms, and sleep quality are all related to the absence of a third "regular" twin size bed and the hotel's failure to let me know they were unable/unwilling to meet my request in response to my email. I would have reserved another room to assure our comfort!!

Room Tip: Loved the location of room #400. The furnishings and bathroom have not been refurbished in years...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionMansart, Directeur général at Hotel Mansart, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Madam,

Firstly I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience of your last stay at the hotel Mansart in Paris by using Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your breakfast, but also the location, friendliness of the team and I will share your comments with the people concerned.

Regarding the room itself, I do not have any sign of an email you sent us. We did receive your booking trough a travel agent who requested a triple room, this travel agent is fully aware that we do not have “real” triple rooms in the house and as soon as we have a request to accommodate three people we propose an extra bed.

I did recheck with the housekeeper this morning and she confirmed that our team did not place the right extra bed, the one placed in your room is usually kept for young children but for adults we have bought few weeks ago 4 good and comfortable extra beds, I do apologize for the lack of comfort the third person had to experience and i would be pleased as a gesture of our goodwill to offer on your next visit to us an upgrade and VIP treatment.

Room 400 has been partially refurbished in 2011, the bedroom entirely, the bathroom painted and small items changed, I found this bathroom very pleasant, of a good size, with daylight in blue and white colors. Room 400 is one of the largest of her category with 28 square meters which is a good size for Paris. Regarding the furniture, it is the spirit of the hotel Mansart to make a mix of old furniture and modern linen, colors.

Again your booking was made and paid by a travel agent, that is the reason why we were unable to provide the cost breakdown. May is the high season and the price of room 400 can be situated between 240 and 290 Euros excluding breakfast per night for two people.

Thank you for your visit, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to the hotel Mansart in the near future in order to prove you that you made the right choice by choosing our property. Please feel free to contact us directly or book directly through our website in order to get the best available rate :

www.paris-hotel-mansart.com

Assuring you of our best care and attention at all times, we remain.

Yours sincerely.

Emmanuel Gamez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    235
    43
    12
    6
See reviews for
97
266
37
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

A very French decor hotel in a prime location. Our room was large for Paris that included a dining table for 2/4 people. This hotel is in walking distance to all major sites and access to both high and low end restaurants/cafes. Public transport is within walking distance. Staff where amazing as we stayed there for 5 nights we where like friends when we left. It's not the cheapest hotel in Paris, but sometimes you do get what you paid for and we did.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with a superb location, really close to Tulleries and Opera. The neighborhood is very quiet and there are a lot of good restaurants in walking distance.
Do not expect any Marriott level, this is an old house that has been renovated. An extra effort on the bathrooms is needed.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Considering this hotel is right in the heart of Paris's expensive shopping district, you would think that the hotel itself would be a little more modern? The lobby/reception area was very beautiful and the staff fabulous, but as we go to our room, along those tiny skinny corridors with a heap of bags & suitcases, we get to our room in the very far corner of the hotel and, as much as the room was spacious enough, it was OLD.. floors were creaking, the bath/shower needs a complete renovation. Its quite pricing to stay here, and I dont really think you get what you pay for, at all. Perhaps we got the crappiest room in the hotel.

Room Tip: maybe you need to spend a little more money to get a better room than just the standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mishface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Mansart is the hotel we alwasy stay in while visiting Paris. It has an idea location (behind Place Vendome) and most of its rooms are spacious (unlike other hotels I have stayed in the past). Public spaces (ie reception area) have undergone renovation recently giving the hotel a air of freshness. Overall good value for Paris.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaMam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The perfect location, spacious rooms that feel more like suites, fabulous bathrooms with double sinks, marble, deep tubs and proper showers, this hotel is in my favourite part of Paris. I came here with my mom for mothers day and it could not have been better. The staff are exceptional and the room was fabulous. I have been staying at the Castille lately, but plan on going back to The Mansart very soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truthserum26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is literally 30 seconds walk from Place Vendome - it backs onto the Ritz. A very good base from which to explore central Paris. Lots of decent restaurants locally. However, nearest Metro is Opera, about a ten minute walk, slightly uphill. As I say, great location, and the prices here are quite steep, but where you are accounts for a lot of the price. Tiny en-suite. Room comfortable, and ok breakfast, but an extra cost for anything over and above a basic continental, such as fried eggs, etc. Good coffee though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GazdeVere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionMansart, Directeur général at Hotel Mansart, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for having taken the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor concerning your last visit at the hotel Mansart .

It is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the location of the Hotel Mansaty, the attitude of the staff, the size of the rooms and the way the lobby area was refurbished.

We try to keep the rhythm of 4 rooms completely refurbished every year with the same spirit as for the lobby area and breakfast lounge (old furniture with modern colors for pillows, curtains, etc..) plus the entire bathroom. For the other rooms we keep an eye frequently with the housekeeper in order to maintain a quality of comfort by changing a carpet, make painting works and light refurbishments.

The hotel Mansart is an old House, that is one of the reason why the ground made of wood is creaking sometimes and also the size of some corridors which are a bit tiny.

I will send you a private message in order to recheck with you the room you occupied and maybe place it in priority for future complete refurbishments.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future in order to show you that you made the right choice by making your reservation at the Mansart hotel.

Yours sincerely.

Emmanuel Gamez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#136 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Edouard 7
Hotel Edouard 7
#131 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton
Hotel Brighton
#163 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Opera Richepanse
Hotel Opera Richepanse
#112 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Therese
Hotel Therese
#138 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansart

Property: Hotel Mansart
Address: 5 rue des Capucines | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#117 Business Hotel in Paris
#117 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#151 Family Hotel in Paris
#242 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mansart 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mansart is ideally located at the corner of the prestigious “Place Vendôme”, a stone away from the “Opera House”, the department stores and the luxurious boutiques of the “Rue Saint-Honoré”, the Tuileries Gardens and the Louvre Museum. This charming hotel welcomes you in a warm and intimate atmosphere with an attentive and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mansart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansart Hotel Paris
Hotel Mansart Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing