We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, average service, decent rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mansart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mansart
Ranked #163 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location, average service, decent rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hmm, I converted euros to pounds and thought this was a bit rubbish for £500 a night (for 2 rooms) but then I worked out it only cost us £400 a night for 2 decent sized, clean, comfortable central Paris hotel rooms and it began to look like pretty good value.

We asked for connecting rooms when we booked and they phoned immediately and said they couldn't promise but they'd try. When we checked in we had adjacent rather than connecting rooms so they didn't really try hard enough (and if I had checked I'd have cancelled as I can't sleep properly when there are 2 locked doors between me and my children) so if it's important to you you might want to check this before booking.

The location is fantastic, really central, and the bathrooms and rooms (which are quite large, we had deluxe rooms I think) are comfortable although there's no conditioner supplied in the bathrooms so take your own. The continental breakfast was fine but the bacon and sausages were pretty unpleasant: microwaved scrambled eggs and flabby sausages. We only ate in the tiny breakfast room once and I wouldn't want to repeat the experience but they do deliver to rooms so we did that on our other days, which was much nicer.

A couple of other things didn't work while we were there: the lights in our room, which were either blazing on or off with nothing in between (despite various lamps in the room - they couldn't fix it, they said, when I called downstairs to ask) and the kettle didn't work either, which was a pain.

In short, the location is brilliant (5 minutes from the Place de la Concorde, less than 10 minutes from The Louvre) the rooms are decent enough, especially for the prices given that this is central Paris, but don't bother eating there or asking them to fix anything that doesn't work.

B minus I'd say, could do better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wickedwaterwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    226
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
93
253
35
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

we stayed at the Mansart for one night last weekend. We'd stayed there a few times over 20 years ago and were keen to see how the hotel had changed. Stayed in room 602 right up at the top. Unfortunately the Ritz are renovating so there was an background noise of drilling - we asked what time the works would be finishing on Sat night and were assured that there would be no work on Sunday...... but drilling started bright and early on Sunday morning! Slightly surprised there was no shampoo - and it was impossible to reach the soap from the bath without standing up to reach the soap machine on the wall - and the bath plug mechanism didn't work to let water out. That said - we still loved the hotel and the staff were very helpful and friendly - and we had a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Better to have a room at the front while the Ritz are doing their renovations behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sev8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Tamborine, Queensland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our stay at the Hotel Mansart was enhanced by one of the staff, a young man named Antony who was helpful, informative and very friendly while still utterly professional. We felt that we were in good hands and that nothing was too much trouble for him. Our room, with no outlook, was generous in size with a few steps leading up to our large tiled bathroom. We found the large bath perfect for soaking walk-weary bodies. The central location of the Mansart encourages lots of walking to the many Paris attractions. The bed was comfort plus and initial difficulties with temperature control were soon sorted by a staff member.
Of interest is the fact that the first exhibition of paintings by a group to become known as The Impressionists was held in a studio at 35 Boulevard des Capucines in 1874.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outlook over the interesting Rue de Capucines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

You can't get any more central. Authentic boutique vibe in the heart of Vendome with classic French style throughout.

A mix up with beds meant we changed room after the first night - Although it took quite a discussion for the hotel to offer this as a solution. That said, both rooms were more than charming and the sleep quality very good.

Bit surprised at the lack of toiletries in the bathroom. A small omission given the price bracket.

All in all, central, classic, and with the potential to make a fantastic city break.

Room Tip: Disappointingly, our double room had twin beds If you want/ expect a double, make sure you clearly s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoroughLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Already been here some times: one of the best locations facing (just some suites) Place Vendôme. Very poor service, unpolite and inadequate receptionists (they cannot explain you where to park, they don't call you a taxi...), misleading website fares (when you book breakfast seems to be included in the room fare, when you receive confirmation of the booking breakfast isn't mentioned but when you check out the hotel you learn it's not included). Very nice suites but very suffocating and crumped standard rooms. Deplorable cleanliness of rooms and common areas.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRMGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionMansart, Directeur général at Hotel Mansart, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Sir,

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your last stay few days ago.

We did share already some of these informations together as I remember I met you in the lobby and we had a discussion when you were staying at the hotel Mansart last march. You sent an email to our head office and I replied few hours later offering the breakfast to you and friends (as you were three rooms in total if I remember well).

I remember we had a technical problem with the Diners club terminal and that we found a solution with one of our sister hotel but I do not remember you mentioned the other subjects. We receive usually good comments of our classic rooms but I will recheck the room you occupied (as I have the number)in details with our housekeeper.

Regarding the cleanliness of the common areas, I do apologize again, it was the end of the complete refurbishment of our lobby area and I do agree it was dusty last march.

For the problem of the taxi, from times to time when it is raining in Paris or during very high occupancy in Paris it is difficult to book a taxi in advance, maybe if you tried to book a taxi during the evening for the next morning we asked you to check with the reception desk few minutes before leaving. As again when it is very busy it is impossible to book a taxi in advance except if the taxi company is charging you a fixed extra amount but honestly I do not think that one of the persons of my team refused to book a taxi for you.

The closest car park is the one of the Vendome Place which is 2/3 minutes walking distance of the hotel, last march a very big fire destroyed the car park, it is not reopened yet and we advised the team to propose the car park of Madeleine Place, Marché Saint Honore Place or Edouard 7, at 5/7 minutes walking distance to our customers, certainly we should have trained our staff to this subject before and I do apologize if they were not able to assist you on this matter.

Yours sincerely.

Emmanuel Gamez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A beautiful boutique hotel in a great location. During our 7 night stay, the hotel staff were incredibly accommodating and friendly. Special thanks to Antony for his excellent restaurant recommendations and for all his assistance! In regards to our classic room, we loved how spacious and clean it was and the bed was so comfortable. I will definitely be recommending this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monaliz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here with friends last month. I had a single "club" room. It was perfect for one person (club rooms are in the back of the hotel), and the bed was SO comfy. Very clean and quiet. The staff and the location make this hotel perfect for a stay in Paris. The people who run the Mansart go out of their way to be helpful and kind, which we appreciated enormously. It made such a difference for our beautiful visit to Paris. (See review by Jane G. just before this one - ditto everything she said!)

Room Tip: My room was not recently upgraded, but I loved it just the way it is. They have more expensive room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinIthaca_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#135 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton
Hotel Brighton
#147 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Edouard 7
Hotel Edouard 7
#143 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Therese
Hotel Therese
#112 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Opera Richepanse
Hotel Opera Richepanse
#199 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansart

Property: Hotel Mansart
Address: 5 rue des Capucines | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#117 Business Hotel in Paris
#151 Family Hotel in Paris
#242 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mansart 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mansart is ideally located at the corner of the prestigious “Place Vendôme”, a stone away from the “Opera House”, the department stores and the luxurious boutiques of the “Rue Saint-Honoré”, the Tuileries Gardens and the Louvre Museum. This charming hotel welcomes you in a warm and intimate atmosphere with an attentive and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mansart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansart Hotel Paris
Hotel Mansart Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing