We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OOH La LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Ranked #394 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Boston MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OOH La LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This Hotel is a jewel. It is in a perfect location for anyone visiting Paris. Just around the corner, a few miutes away is theNotre Dame Cathedral. Fabulous, Awesome to be able to walk. The little streets are filled with lovely shope, cafes and patisseries.
What more could you ask for.
The hotel staff are wonderful, very helpful and pleasant. They are there to serve, to make your stay in Paris everthing you desire.
I recommend this hotel highly but advise you to plan ahead. It is a small hotel so you must make you reservation months in advance.
They do offer a shuttle service from the airport, there is a charge.
I hope you will have a pleasant journey and enjoy the Hotel St Louis as much as we did. Au revoir

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdsoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    181
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
81
308
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

A nice cozy hotel in an area with a lot of cute shops and bistros. It's a slight walk from the metro, so I recommend taking a taxi if you have a lot of luggage. The breakfast room in the cellar is very charming. Rooms were recently redone and in a nice modern taste. Some small details missing, no towel rack in the bathroom or soap dish in the shower, but not a big deal, overall a great modern room. i recomend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewpaul80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

this was our first trip to Paris and we didn't know where we were going to stay. from the moment we entered the lobby we all fell in love with the place. the staff was super friendly... loved the quaint breakfast...room was small but comfy, bathroom was excellent..very clean and quiet. we had the room facing the street .. was not nosey at all.. sorry we were there only for 2 days would have loved to stay longer. planning to return for our 40th anniversay and staying in the same room... great location walked to different places from there... went in sept which was a little cool... took a day trip to Normandy Beach... very emotional.... the guide was fantastic...

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lrivera51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Ile Saint Louis is a great place itself, right by Notre Dame, and this hotel's location is perfect for seeing the whole city, especially if you use the hop-on, hop-off Batobus to get to different quarters. There are two stops very close to the hotel. The hotel was being renovated when we stayed, but the work wasn't inconvenient. The rooms are not huge, but they're very nice, and the decor has obviously been upgraded very recently! There's even air conditioning. The windows are virtually soundproof, which is good because the garbage trucks go by early in the morning and will wake you if you have the windows open. All of the reception staff speak fluent English and various other languages, and they are exceptionally friendly and helpful. There is an elevator, but it stops between floors, so you have to go up or down half a flight on a circular stairway. Breakfast is in a cave-like basement and is fine but not special, so walk a block down the street to a cafe and enjoy the view. The Ile has bakeries, cheese stores, grocery stores, wine shops, fruit stands, a self-service laundrette -- and Bertillion's excellent sorbet! The hotel has free Wi-Fi, but downloads are very slow; if you need the Internet a lot, you'll be frustrated. Also, you must insert the room key in a special holder for the electricity to work, so don't try to charge your cellphone when you aren't in the room. (Ask at reception, though, and you can get a card to work the "juice" without the key.) Overall, a lovely place and a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesFrance2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

When I made our reservations last winter I specifically chose a hotel with air conditioning. After all, we anticipated hot weather in July. Today it is over 90 degrees and the a/c is not functioning. Everyday, since our arrival five days ago we've been promised a/c but NOTHING! Our lively location is far less attractive when you leave the windows open, oping for a breeze but mostly getting the sounds of late night bar hopping and early morning garbage trucks. We were told that renovations to the hotel would be completed this spring. HA! The dust and drilling begins at 7am and continues all day. We're exhausted and annoyed and every other decent hotel is fully booked--at least for our large family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

The hotel is small and simple with some Parisian charm. My room was small but very clean and up to date. The lobby is small but comfortable and the staff was helpful and courteous. (The stairs are steep and the elevator is very small.) Breakfast was fresh, simple and served in a cool, grotto-like cellar room. For me, the best feature was staying on Saint Louis island. It’s charming and quiet, but central to both the Marais and Latin Quarter, and several metro stations. A pleasant surprise: on Friday evening the river bank along the Seine filled up with students picnicking into the evening.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lapope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We arrived on May 24, a day when the temperature in Paris went up to 84 degrees. It was very unusual for it to be that hot in Paris in May. Our room on the third floor was stiffling. We tried in vain to turn on the air conditioning. When we inquired at the front desk, they simply said that the air conditioning is never turned on until June. They weren't very apologetic about it either. Our first night I was so hot that we had to open the windows ,,, the only problem with that is that the narrow street where the hotel is located reverberates with noise. Honestly, you can hear each person cough. It was a holiday in France that day and so people were partying and the street was loud well into the night. I didn't sleep the entire night and came downstairs to talk to the front desk clerk and burst into tears. I am not trying to be dramatic here but I do have to say it is the worst night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel. It just wasn't what I pictured at all. I had to beg for a fan and they made a big deal about the manager bringing over two fans - one for us and one for our daughter;s room. Lucky for us the weather cooled off after the first two days we were there. Otherwise, I don't know if I'd have gotten any sleep and we were staying there for an entire week as we were visiting our son who is studying In Paris for four months. I guess if it was stiffling hot and loud for just one night, you could put up with it but for a whole week ... it just didn't seem like we got what we had hoped for out of our hotel.

The other problem is that the place is under construction. Loud banging all day long ... even on the weekend. If you want to come back to your hotel to rest, you can forget about it. There is construction dust and the carpeting on the stairs is disgusting from all the construction traffic. I complained to the front desk clerk and they didn't offer us anything for our inconvenience. I found this appalling but my husband didn't want us to seem like "ugly Americans."

I loved the location but I wished I had spent more money and stayed down the street at the nicer hotels. The hotel just wasn't the antiques-filled, charming property I thought it would be. The lobby was very rundown with four headboards stashed behind on of the pieces of furniture. It could be so quaint but it was all so run down except for the new bathrooms which were gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janemc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
#333 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel de Lutece
Hotel de Lutece
#608 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#998 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Esmeralda
Hotel Esmeralda
#924 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#220 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 741 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melia Colbert - Paris
Melia Colbert - Paris
#261 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle

Property: Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Address: 75 rue Saint Louis en L Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#340 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#395 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ile Saint-Louis, the hotel Saint-Louis en l’Isle has an outstanding location. A very quiet place in the middle of Paris, the Ile Saint-Louis is a village with a prestigious history, symobolized by the 17th century town houses that lie there. Very close to Notre-Dame cathedral, the Marais quarter, the Place de la Bastille and the Saint-Germain quarter, you will find in Ile Saint-Louis unique Parisian authenticity, well-being and hospitality. A charming hotel by excellence, the hotel Saint-Louis en l’Ile will welcome you in a warm atmosphere. Visible stones, old terra cotta and oak beams make this place unique. An elevator serves all floors, including the stone vaulted basement where breakfast is served.Whether your visit is for tourism or business, the hotel Saint-Louis en l´Isle will see to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Hotel Paris
Hotel St Louis Paris
Hotel Saint Louis Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing