We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location... small rooms 2.5stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Lutece

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Lutece
Ranked #611 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
390 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Good location... small rooms 2.5stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Location is what you are paying for @ $300+USD per night for the trailer size room ... the service & the breakfast were good ($20 UDS - not included). The room was very small (the width and length of a long trailer). Both nights our AC was broken (they did bring us a fan). Consider this hotel but look around first.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    114
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
41
141
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This little place is everything we imagined a Parisian hotel would be. It's a sparkling little jewel of a place tucked in along a charming street on the Ile Saint-Louis. Staff speaks excellent English. It has a pleasant lobby, and small but very charming rooms. We were traveling with our 9 year old son -- the first night they didn't have a triple for us, so they put us in a double with an extra bed, which was perfectly comfortable. The second night they put us in a true triple, which was really nice and quite spacious by Paris hotel standards -- the additional bed was downstairs and tucked in its own little nook. As an added bonus, the staff wrote off what could have been an additional $500 plus in no-show charges for us due to a mutual misunderstanding about arrival dates -- they could easily have stuck us with that bill, but they didn't.

Of course, the Ile Saint-Louis is quite touristy. One caveat therefore, not a criticism of the hotel but a word of advice -- don't go to them for restaurant recommendations. It's not that they sent us to bad places -- they were fine, but painfully conventional and touristy, the Americans eating boeuf bourguignon scene.

Room Tip: The triple on the 5th floor is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoraxLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We just got back from our stay here. As we walked all around Paris for 3 days, I was VERY glad I stayed at the Hotel De Lutece. You can not get a better location if you really want to feel like you are in Paris. It is on a small street, centrally located, full of little restaurants, creparies, ice cream and chocolate shops. Just a very quick walk to the Seine river, which is very fun to see on a Saturday night. Notre Dame is also just a very nice an quick walk from the hotel. The people who work in the hotel are extremely friendly and speak very good English, in fact everyone in Paris spoke very good English.

We had to get two rooms because there were 4 adults but the rooms were nice. Not too small as many people complain about. It was very comfortable. If you want an American experience stay in America. Otherwise enjoy everything about being in Paris.

We would choose this hotel again and again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deddytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We went to Paris to enjoy our 30th anniversary and selected this hotel following a recommendation from a friend. We wanted a Paris experience and were very pleased with the choice. We just got back from our trip and will return to this hotel on a future visit.

After reading others reviews before we got here I was concerned as to what we'd find. Yes the rooms are not huge, but I thought they were bigger than other reviewers suggested. The bathroom was very spacious and the view (the typical narrow Parisian street below and the rooftops of the Isle St. Louis) was absolutely perfect. We were on the 5th floor and didn't bother with the small elevator except on the first day to get the bags upstairs and on the last day to get them downstairs. No, we're not work-out addicts and we're not that young so age has nothing to do with it (we're 63 and 58), we just always take stairs. If you can walk miles around Paris, you can walk up a few flights of stairs. And by the way, there were no lines waiting to use the elevator that we witnessed.

We also read all the negatives about the breakfasts, but we enjoyed them. Shanti has been working there for 17 years and by the end of our stay I was able to call her before we came down and she had our breakfast ready for us by the time we got there (don't tell her I told you). The dining room is small, but we seemed to time it right and had no issues. There were breads, meats and a freshly cooked omelet. OK, breakfast wasn't cheap, but what in Paris is?

The staff was very helpful and accommodating. For example, I don't think I'm the only person who likes ice for my room, and every night the staff was very willing to provide me with this simple request as there is no ice machine (the European way). The rooms were neat and clean. Relatively plain, but fancy decor wasn't our interest.

The location!! Ah, this is most definitely the main positive. You can't beat the location for any path you might take to discover all Paris has to offer. Walk out the front door, turn left and walk 1 block and take in the view of Notre Dame!

If there are rooms available when you plan to visit, grab it Our daughter and her husband wanted to stay here in a few months and the place was already booked full when they tried to reserve a room. We came here to enjoy Paris and its way of life. If you're looking for a modern large room with a large TV and all the amenities you'd find in the states, find a different hotel. This one seemed absolutely perfect for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dr_g11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is located on the most delightful street that runs down the middle of Isle St Louis. It is nestled amidst wonderful shops with a range of food, clothes, gifts to choose from. Just a 5 minute walk away from Notre Dame Cathedral, Marais district and Latin District and scenic walks along the Seine. Our room was small but well appointed with a view across the roof tops. Large and modern bathroom. The breakfasts were very generous, beautifully fresh continental style and served in your room or a small but pleasant dining room. The staff were very polite and helpful at all times. A great place to stay and experience Paris! I will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here in March and found the location to be the best feature! The hotel is situated in an area that is the picture of a quaint Parisian street. There is a bakery across the way that sells amazing almond croissants, a chocolate shop next door and a variety of cafes are in close proximity. Notre Dame is within a 10 minute walk, and so are several metro stops. The staff is friendly and helpful! The rooms are small, clean and well kept. The windows in the room open and the bathroom is updated. As just about every other review states, the lack of a comfortable bed is the biggest drawback. It would be nice if the hotel read these reviews and actually invested in some mattress foam, but it is Paris. I would still return to this hotel for the location and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelgirlPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

L'ile St. Louis is magical but this hotel is just okay. Next time I would spend a little more to stay somewhere with a more comfortable bed and more updated. We love small,European hotels but this one was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mw180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#1,013 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
#398 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
#308 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Esmeralda
Hotel Esmeralda
#944 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
#848 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#221 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Lutece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Lutece

Property: Hotel de Lutece
Address: 65 rue Saint Louis en L Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#411 Family Hotel in Paris
#430 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Lutece 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel de Lutece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lutece Hotel
De Lutece Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing