We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel, great location, excellent room and bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de l'Empereur
Ranked #347 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a total of seven nights in August, three of them on a Rick Steves tour. The hotel is charming and the rooms and bathrooms are spacious. The elevator is tiny, but we used the stairs most of the time. The lobby is small, but lovely with small chairs and tables. The location is perfect both for sights within walking distance (Eiffel Tower, L'Invalides, Napoleons's tomb, Rodin Museum, Arc de Triomphe, Rue Cler, etc.) and near the Metro. Pasco, the restaurant across the street was suberb! The staff was so helpful in keeping our wine cool in their refrigerator, letting us borrow a bottle opener, etc. The breakfasts were very good. We loved everything about the hotel and would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a number ending in 4 (24, 34, 44, 54, 64) for a room facing the golden do!me of N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 844 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Loved everything about the hotel exept for the tiny elevator that fits one person at a time with their luggage.

The only staff we met was the front desk guy and he was very friendly and helpful for recommendations of places to eat etc.

Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline_0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is quaint but very charming, with an extremely friendly staff and an incredible location, walking distance from most main attractions and within a block or two of some of the best dining in Paris! 

The rooms, as I mentioned, are small but very clean and well-designed. They have central air and ours had a great view of the Invalides from the fifth floor. The rooms also have flat panel tvs with cable (not that you need it in this city!) and spacious, modern bathrooms. 

There were some quirks we didn't love, such as having to give our room key to the front desk when we left and not being allowed to opt out of maid service, but these didn't detract from our stay nor do they prevent me from giving a 5 star review because I really don't think you can get a better hotel for the money in Paris and it really helped make our vacation extra special.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lttletimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

As soon as we entered in the L'Empereur I thought I would dislike the hotel mainly because of the lobby which was not OK. But when we saw the room we were very glad. The bed was large and very comfortable, the bathroom and the room were very modern and everything was very clean! Our room had an amazing view from the “Invalides”! The location is perfect, just some steps from the The Invalides, Eifel Tower and the subway. There is also a two small Carrefour near the hotel which is very convenient to buy some stuff like water, juices, snacks and sandwiches. The Cler Street is very close to Hotel and I would hardly recommend start and finish the day passing by there. There are lot of cafes and shops with fresh fruits. It’s perfect!!!
I have only one complain about the hotel. As a break my staying in L'Empereur in two different dates, I stayed in two different rooms. The first 4 nights we stayed in the room number 62 which was better than the second one (number 52). From the room 52 we could hear some noises when other guests use the bathroom as well as from the streets. This not happened when we were in the room number 62!
To became perfect the hotel could offer a small refrigerator as well as more english speaking channels. But a part of that I would definitely recommend this nice hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deiamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empereurparis, Propriétaire at Hotel de l'Empereur, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Deiamm,

thank you very much for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us and I hope to welcome you again some day.

Best regards.

Catherine Pelletier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a wonderful find! My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on an anniversay trip (My 5th visit to Paris/His 1st). There are NO negatives to this hotel - Just SO much unexpectedly and wonderfully special about it. The private bathroom is modern and very well organized to fit in perfectly with the available space. The rooms are tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. Eletrical outlets were plentiful and conveniently located. Since Paris was experiencing a very warm spell, we were thankful for the elevator and air conditioning. The front desk was also helpful, especially helping us translate food menues from French to English (and keeping an eye out for our lost luggage being delivered by the airline). And if you are smart/lucky enough to get a room overlooking the Invalides, be prepared to be tempted to stay in your room because the view is incredible with the light and colors changing with each passing hour. Be aware its location is more in a residential area of Paris, so no nightlife nearby and about a 4 block walk to the metro - But oh so quiet at night for a restful sleep (We even able to leave our balcony door open for the fresh air some nights)! Even though it is centrally located and accessible to major sites (Eiffel Tower, Orsay and Rodin museums, etc.), just be prepared to walk a bit. Like most 3* hotels in Paris, the rooms were not huge, the elevator was just large enough for one person with luggage or two persons, the open floor space around the bed minimal. But anyone who might be critical just doesn't understand the difference in hotel standards internationally. I realize this review is being submitted late but wanted to share after recommending to a friend who stayed in 2 rooms with 2 adults/2 teenagers in July 2012 and raved about it, letting me know it was their best hotel during a 2 week trip to Italy and France.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra $ to book a balcony room with an Invalide view - the views and photos are amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnCan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empereurparis, Propriétaire at Hotel de l'Empereur, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear AnnCan_8,

thank you for your nice comment.
I am please to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be very happy to welcome you again.

Best regards.

Catherine Pelletier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is cleanest and most freindly hotel I Paris I keep coming back to this and the sister hotel the Mugeut because they are the he standard has never droped in the past 15 years I would recomend to anyone Its central location means all the sites are in easy walking distance

Room Tip: The ones with aview are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackdaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empereurparis, Propriétaire at Hotel de l'Empereur, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Jackdaw1,

I thank you very much for you review.

I really hope you'll be back soon.

Best regards.

Catherine Pelletier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in Hotel de L'Empereur for 3 nights in the end of May, 2012. The hotel is beautifully located just next to the "Les Invalides" where the highly recommendable French war museum is situated.

By first entering the hotel lobby, we were a little sceptic since it was rather narrow and not very beautifully decorated. The staff working there, however, was friendly and spoke good English. The room itself located on the fourth floor was surprisingly clean and really nice, albeit rather narrow. There was a flat screen tv, but with very few english speaking channels unfortunately. The bed was large and comfortable, and since it was warm we could sleep with the window open. We also had a lovely view of Les Invalides from our window.

The area surrounding the hotel is refreshingly quiet away from the tourist hordes. There is a variety of typically Parisian "Brasseries" scattered around the hotel in the different streets well worth a visit. When in Paris, however, watch out for the beer which is very expensive (8-9 Euros for a pint!) Go for the wine instead.

In spite of its quiet location, the hotel is situated perfectly in the middle of the city, with the Eifel Tower, the Louvre and the Latin Quarters within walking distance. Otherwise there is a metro station just minutes from the hotel, however traveling by metro in Paris also takes some time, considering the obligatory kilometer long transit-walks underground between different lines.

All in all, we highly recommend this clean, well-located and fairly cheap hotel in Paris for anyone who's going there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of "Les Invalides"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empereurparis, Propriétaire at Hotel de l'Empereur, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear hugoN83,

thank you to have taken time to write your review.

I am glad you found our hotel nice and well located.

I hope to welcome you again.

Best regards.

Catherine Pelletier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#167 of 1,802 in Paris
1,409 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
#333 of 1,802 in Paris
869 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Cadran Tour Eiffel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
#130 of 1,802 in Paris
1,999 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#52 of 1,802 in Paris
520 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#161 of 1,802 in Paris
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Empereur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Empereur

Address: 2 rue Chevert | 07 Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#136 Family Hotel in Paris
#263 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $137 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Empereur 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I bought this hotel in january 2010. It is just renovated now.You will find very nice air-conditionned and cosy rooms with bathrooms, safe, hairdryer... Most of them have a wonderful view of the Invalides. Located very close to the Eiffel Tower and Rue Cler, I will be very pleased to welcome you at Hotel de l'Empereur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de l'Empereur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Empereur
De l Empereur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing