We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe, clean and quiet retreat to rest your feet!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de l'Empereur
Ranked #254 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Safe, clean and quiet retreat to rest your feet!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My new husband and I stayed her for our honeymoon, and we were both delighted with our choice of hotel. The location is fabulous, being a two minute walk from a metro, in a clean safe neighbourhood that is close enough to shops and restaurants, but quiet and safe at night. The rooms were nicely decorated as was the rest of the hotel,had comfy beds, TV, free WIFI, and the reception staff were lovely!

You will learn when you visit that the city of Paris that you have to be alert at all times, not only to take in the beautiful sights, but also that there are gypsies trying to flog you stuff everywhere you go. However, once you step up the La Tour Maubourg metro and walk down the pretty boulevard to the hotel, all the worries melt away and you can truly relax and re charge.

Breakfast we felt was satisfactory for 11E, although if you get there a bit later you may have to do without croissants-we also thought that tea and coffee facilities in the rooms would be a nice touch after a busy day.

The only other comment I have is that the cleaning staff start very early, and whilst I am aware that they have a job to do, the walls are quite thin and I was woken up by them most mornings not long after 8am, and on the morning of our departure, we were hoping for a lie in and this didnt happen. There are also no 'dont not disturb' signs, just little buttons on the door that we were not sure if they worked or not. I slept in my full pjs just incase!

That said, I would highly recommend this hotel to any friends staying in Paris for its safe and welcoming ambience.

Bon Voyage!

Room Tip: If you can spare the extra cash, ask for a room with a view of the Invalides...stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unlikelyrose89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    333
    40
    12
    9
See reviews for
168
428
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I was satisfied with our stay here. Clean room, comfortable beds, and it has a lift (small). Very near a metro, and you will appreciate that metro stop after walking all over Paris. Pasco Restaurant is just across the street. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miraong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here Sept. 8-12, 2011. We loved this hotel for many reasons: It had recently been renovated and the rooms were very, very nice. Beds, baths and A/C were all great, and spotlessly clean. Very nice breakfast, too. But the best part of this Hotel is the gracious and friendly service provided by both Remy and Hakim, both of whom speak excellent English. Remy helped us with a medical need by suggesting we start with a Pharmacist nearby, who could recommend a Doctor. At check-out, Hakim made sure our taxi to CDG was waiting at 6:10 am Monday morning, that we got wake-up calls (the 2nd call to make sure we were up) and that our coffee was waiting for us prior to leaving, even though breakfast doesn't start until 7:00. These two gentlemen make this hotel very, very special, as they truly care about each and every guest. We were very impressed and will stay here again! Merci, Remy and Hakim!

We also loved the Rue Cler/Rue de la Motte Piquet neighborhood. It is very "livable" with grocery store, laundry, dry cleaners, pharmacies and doctors, etc. We patronized them all and everyone was very friendly and helpful. There were also many nice restaurants and shops we patronized when not sight-seeing. The hotel is well-located one short block from Metro station La Tour Marbourg, right across from the Invalides. We booked a room with a beautiful view of Les Invalides' majestic dome and it was breathtaking both day and night. In short, we recommend this hotel very highly.

Room Tip: Request a view of Les Invalides and you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Just got back from 17 days in Europe with my 16 yr old grandson (I'm the grandma). London, Liverpool, Amsterdam & Pairs. Paris-what can I say-absolutely enchanting. My 3rd visit, his 1st. Our room was called Twin room - Romantic with shower-View of Les Invalides and what a view! We opened the drapes and there was Napoleon's Tomb gold dome extravaganza staring back at us in all its glory-just fabulous! I couldn't stare at it enough. Now, back to the room-I would call it "quirky" and "interesting." There was a safe in the closet-very handy and appreciated. The beds were extremely comfortable-a top priority of mine. Flat screen TV, also a nice touch. It was beautifully decorated and here is the quirky part. There was a door/tiny room with only a toilet in it. Hum, no sink, no fan, no soundproofing-I am sure you understand what I am saying. We made a deal that if someone went into the toilet, the TV went on. The shower which was black marble, a huge rain shower head, big and beautiful was in another area off the bedroom...and no door! Quirky, definitely. There was a heavy duty black-out drape across the doorway. It did match the drapes across the windows...but one could hear everything going on in the shower/sink area. Funky, yes. The prettiness of the room and beauty of the restroom did outweigh the awkwardness of sharing with my grandson. We managed. The location was perfect. We used the metro, just down the block La Tour Maurbourg or sometime Ecole Militarie. Great restaurants all around the area and a nice grocery store too. The front desk personnel were accommodating, knowledgeable, and very nice. The Free Wi-Fi worked most of the time. Would have to log-on several times though. A little annoying, but not that big a problem. I did use the lobby computer to print my boarding passes-this worked fine once I understood the keyboard. Would I stay here again - most definitely. Would I recommend this to my friends and family-absolutely. It is a real find and I love this area. We walked to the Eiffel Tower-easy and felt safe at night. The hop-on/off bus is located just in front of Les Invalides, so easy to use too. Stay here-you'll love it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have stayed there just for a week but we loved the place, the ambiance and the staff. The refined taste of the hotelier emanates everywhere: the rooms' decor and design, the ingenius choice of the curtains, the comfortable classic furniture. The beds were refreshingly white and clean, the bed-linen was of very good quality. The ambiance of the breakfast (only 11 euros extra) with almost nobody bothering you was syntonizing the home. The staff was very friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. The location is great - the rue Chevert is quiet and takes you straight to avenue La Motte-Piquet that brings you to Champs de Mars and Eiffel Tower. All that creates the ambient atmosphere for guests, light and refreshing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aartemyev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empereurparis, Propriétaire at Hotel de l'Empereur, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Aartemyev,

thank you very much to have added your very nice comment.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards.

Catherine Pelletier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is a very nice hotel - the staff are attentive & helpful, and speak English well. Our room was very clean, and temperature was well controlled (in the hot summer). The bathrooms are particularly nice. Also this neighborhood (Rue Cler area) comes off as safe and clean. We would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empereurparis, Propriétaire at Hotel de l'Empereur, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Greg M,

thank you very much to have added your very nice comment.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards.

Catherine Pelletier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We went to Paris for my parents' 50th anniversary and stayed 5 nights at Hotel de L'Empereur. Hakim and Remy who were the hotel's guest service representatives were great. We had Remy during the morning and afternoons while Hakim worked the evenings. They both made me and my family feel welcomed and comfortable throughout the stay.

The rooms are much bigger than most Europeans hotels but still may feek a bit small for some. I can tell you the value of the hotel was realized very quickly when you looked at the size of your rooms, the cleanliness of the hotel and the sincere desire to make your trip memorable.

The area we stayed was a bit away from some of the major sites but that was not a big deal since you could travel the Metro which was right near the hotel. In fact some of the other areas were somewhat dirty and contained graffiti so we felt more relaxed and at times safer at our hotel.

Within a very short distance we found a small grocery store (opened to 10pm) to purchase wine (bottles of wine around 4 euros or less) and cheese (sampled many different varieties with crackers) which we ate as a family every evening in the downstairs dining area. There is no eating in the rooms which at first was a little different but then you quickly realize it is a policy in place to maintain the quaility of the sleeping quarters. No one wants stains on the carpet or other areas of their room.

There are also a few small cafe and restaurants within walking distance to eat all of the meals. Can not remember the name of one which was not worth going to (believe it was La Costa or something similiar it had red awnings); had bad food and prices were high, will try to review that later.

Walking distance to Napolean's Museum, Effeil Tower and a few other areas but again took the Metro to most places. Also be prepared to walk a lot unless you are going to just relax at cafe' all day long. Averaged roughly 10 -12 miles per day of walking when all was said and done.

Thanks again to the managment of Hotel de L'Empereur, as well as Remy and Hakim for a excellent time in Paris. My family are grateful for your hospitality and willingness to help us with every aspect of our trip.

Room Tip: Beds were very comfortable and rooms clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#167 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#149 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
#350 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Latour Maubourg
Hotel de Latour Maubourg
#611 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Hotel du Champ de Mars
#258 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#66 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Empereur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Empereur

Property: Hotel de l'Empereur
Address: 2 rue Chevert | 07 Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#136 Family Hotel in Paris
#264 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Empereur 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I bought this hotel in january 2010. It is just renovated now.You will find very nice air-conditionned and cosy rooms with bathrooms, safe, hairdryer... Most of them have a wonderful view of the Invalides. Located very close to the Eiffel Tower and Rue Cler, I will be very pleased to welcome you at Hotel de l'Empereur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de l'Empereur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Empereur
De l Empereur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing