We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem on the Rive Gauche”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de l'Universite
Ranked #185 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New City, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Little Gem on the Rive Gauche”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Hotel de L'Universite is a small hotel on the left back which is well located - close to the Musee D'Orsay and Saint Germain. The service is a pleasure. We stayed there may years ago and it was great to go back. We stayed in a suite on the top floor.

Room Tip: We liked Room 52 & found ti was roomy which is unusual for small hotels in paris.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    166
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
67
167
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, Calif
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I dont normally stay in such a quiet setting in the Latin Quarter, and frankly missed being closer to the more lively and colorful Rue de Buci area, which was five sometimes-long blocks away. But if you like to sleep with your window open as I do, this is a great choice because the street traffic is minimal. Staff are friendly and helpful, for the most part. And the room furnishings were adequate, with a large shower. Family members I was traveling with had problems with their air-conditioner and were moved to a rear-view (even quieter) room with a bathtub which was nicer. The tiny lift, typical of many older Parisian establishments, barely fit three people comfortably. Skipped their breakfast because of the many bakeries nearby. This was my 30th visit to Paris over the years and I will be back, although I might stay a little closer to the St Michel area the next time around.

Room Tip: I think that all rooms (I saw three) would be excellent choices from a noise standpoint because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbeLincoln115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent ten days staying in this delightful hotel. You can't ask for a better location. Cafes, bars and elegant shops are there at your doorstep. Staff are sweet, polite and attentive. Our room was spacious with a rooftop view of the Tour Eiffel and the beds super comfortable. A wonderful place, reasonably priced, in a charming area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fragrantrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Loved this hotel - great find. Lovely reception area with very friendly staff - small bar area - nice gin and tonic late one night (thank you) Lovely room on 4th floor - 6 foot bed - nice bathroom with great shower. Perfect location - we walked everywhere from here. Nice quiet street with lots of restaurants and bars nearby - great location for Saint Germain or Saint Michel areas - short walk to River Seine - no problem finding it from Metro or making our way to RER for return trip to airport

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marykav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Really liked the room decoration: nice colours, a very clean bathtub and shower area. I believe the hotel was recently refurbished. The location is very convenient for the Lourve (10 minutes away) and the River Seine. There is also a Monoprix supermarket a few minutes away. The lift is quite tiny though, we just managed to squeeze in two people and two small pieces of luggage. Didn't try breakfast as we wanted to eat out. All the staff were friendly, especially the guy on night duty. Wished we could have stayed longer. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwaibigmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is very well located, with a lot of services, restaurants and attractions within walking distance to it. The staff was very kind, specially Rino and Michel (who has known my parents for 15 years). The rooms are normally sized, the bathroom is very good and included a jacuzzi. We didn't try breakfast as we were always waking up very late due to the jet lag. Overall it is a very good hotel for a mild price, 185 euros a night in August. Will come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodlamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stay there for 3 days. It is a 3 star hotel. Nice rooms, nice beds, very quiet street, near every site of interest and metro in Paris. The hotel offers breakfast but it is expensive so never tried it. Very near the Louvre, Orsay Museum. I recommend it to anyone who is planing to go there and be near everything without spending much in hotel without taking away the comfort and quiet after a long day walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smr1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#85 of 1,802 in Paris
745 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#727 of 1,802 in Paris
141 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Saint, Paris
Hotel Le Saint, Paris
#207 of 1,802 in Paris
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#259 of 1,802 in Paris
200 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#674 of 1,802 in Paris
314 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#157 of 1,802 in Paris
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Universite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Universite

Property: Hotel de l'Universite
Address: 22 rue de l Universite, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Family Hotel in Paris
#165 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#299 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Universite 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l’Université is a former Benedictine convent and has retained many period features while adapting to the needs of 21st century society. The reception area is vast and delightful with its ancient beams. It is an immediate illustration of the style and appeal of this quality establishment. The Hotel de l’Université only has 27 bedrooms, allowing the staff to focus on an individualized care. Each room has its own decor and character, many ornate with ageless beams, but all benefiting from tall traditional Parisian windows allowing daylight to flood in. All the rooms have been renovated in 2011 and include air-conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit box and a free Wi-Fi connection. A laundry service is available upon request. The rooms on the top floor overlook the rooftops of Paris and some have the rare bonus of a private terrace. The Hotel de l’Université is not a place to stay for the night. It is a journey into the history and style of Parisian life, a chance to experience life as one of the locals and bring back unforgettable memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de l'Universite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Universite
De l Universite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing