We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warmly welcomed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Arenes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Arenes
Ranked #903 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warmly welcomed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel is quiet, clean, efficient and just a few minutes' walk from the bustling rue Mouffetard with it's aromatic array of restaurants, many of them remarkably cheap. The Pantheon, Notre Dame and the Luxembourg Gardens are a short stroll away. The staff on reception are very welcoming and extremely helpful - and multi-lingual. A comfortable and relaxing place to stay, and excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, overlooking the Roman arena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    201
    101
    34
    32
See reviews for
75
194
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel is very correct. and with a good localisation for discover authentics places in Paris : Close to the Metro you are at 15 min walking from Notre-Dame and the Quartier Latin From Notre Dame you can Discover Paris with the Batobus (boat bus). You can also discover Pantheon, Rue Moufetard, Jardin des Plantes et Arenes de Lutèce and Institut du Monde Arabe with on the top one the nicest view of Paris. The hotel is quiet (we were in the room 29) with a lot of restaurants. The welcoming of the hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: athentic place in Paris. Excellente localisation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paventurier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Have stayed in the hotel for more than a month, for business, and will be back!
The location is prefect, not too touristic, very well connected, lots of good resturants nearby at Rue Mofftar....
The hotel's front desk is great, very helpful. If you wish to speak in any language Mr Jacob and Mr Miner would be happy to help, any information, and requests are taken care of. And forgot my watch on checkout day, the house maid and Mr Jacob, made sure i get it back.

Near by- Le Petit Cardinal serves good french food, Yael's cofferiur is great, for Parisan haircut.
Please avoid Vivre Mobile( selling mobiles, etc).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amritasengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just back from another great stay at the Des Arenes hotel and yet again it didn't let us down! Our room was spacious(for a Paris hotel), clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location close to a super variety of eating places - the Moufftard is a 5 minute walk away and we were spoiled for choice! It's also close to metro stations giving easy access to the whole of the city and to Charles De Gaulle airport via the RER for your return journey. There's a great wee market just along from the hotel on Rue Monge on a Saturday morning! We have stayed in the Des Arenes many times now and Jacob is always a helpful and friendly presence at the front desk! Breakfast is served buffet style - croissants, baguettes, cereal, fresh fruit, cheeses and jams and is much better than many breakfasts we have experienced in hotels in Paris!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Roman arena are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solwayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have stayed at Des Arenes for a few days in February for the last five years. Hotel is very conveniently located for metro, left bank attractions and access to the whole of Paris. Rooms are more than adequate and clean. Ask for a room with a renovated bathroom - this makes a big difference. Breakfast is better than many Parisian hotels. Jacob at the front desk deserves a special mention. He is always so cheerful, polite and exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECM110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My father always stays here when he is in Paris and I can see why. Mr. Salah the manager is delightful and made me feel very welcome. When I entered the hotel he took one look and me and said in English, "Ah you have arrived." I forgot how much I look like my father so he recognized me instantly. He got my friend and I checked in and was very helpful. The bathrooms were nice with towel heaters and large tub/ shower. The room was spacious and came with a small bar fridge which came in handy. We were too tired most nights to even both leaving the hotel for dinner so we picked up food at a nearby grocery store and had picnic dinners in our room. The breakfast buffet was nice and offered croissants, hard boiled eggs, sliced fruit, fresh fruit, yogurt, and applesauce. Our room looked out over an old roman amphitheater. It was conveniently located between two metro stops. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the amphitheater/ garden behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 232jenniferv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were a large group with short-notice changes all of which were accommodated with a smile and great professionalism. We were made to feel very welcome by all the hotel staff, including the manager, Monsieur Salah, who was happy to help with any suggestions from places to eat nearby to arranging taxis and transport. The staff spoke both French and English. The rooms were very clean on arrival and were cleaned every day and the hotel is in easy walking distance of some of the loveliest areas of the city. I would certainly recommend the hotel to other visitors.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SATR_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#463 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Quartier Latin
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
#1,202 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Quartier Latin
BEST WESTERN Quartier Latin Pantheon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#204 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Quartier Latin
Hotel Au Royal Cardinal
Hotel Au Royal Cardinal
#1,256 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arenes

Property: Hotel des Arenes
Address: 51 rue Monge | 5 Arr, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #903 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arenes 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Arenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arenes Hotel
Des Arenes Paris
Hotel Des Arenes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing