We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, uninspired hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel des Arenes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel des Arenes
Ranked #983 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Affordable, uninspired hotel in a great location”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in July.

Pros: Located in 5th arrondissement, a 15-minute walk from Notre Dame, and one block from Rue Mouffetard. Price of room was decent for a good neighborhood close to the center of Paris.

Cons: Teeny room and bath (not unexpected). Accommodations a bit down at the heels. Bath towels could double as emery boards. Beds not horrible, but not comfortable. The rubber sheet under the bottom sheet was a gross touch, and made for a lot of "crackling" whenever one turned in bed.

We were on the first-floor (above the ground floor). When we walked up the stairs, we found plastic sheeting all over the hallway rugs, and the hallway reeked of paint. The painting continued until about 7 p.m., and continued again on subsequent days. Seriosly??

Summary: It's an affordable place in a great location. That's about all that can be said for it. However, we were willing to sacrifice a bit on the room in order to have more funds for meals. If you book with a similar expectation, this place might work for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2niamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    205
    104
    35
    33
See reviews for
78
198
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location could not be better! We wanted a quiet room, and got a really quiet room with a wonderful view towards the Arenes de Lutece. The room was clean, but small, and looked as if it needed some work. The staff was friendly and service-minded. The location is fantastic, just a short walking distance from jardin des Plantes, the Pantheon, jardin du Luxembourg, and other attractions. It is situated very close to the old, charming, lively area around Place de Contrescarpe and rue Mouffetard, where we visited several really nice cafes, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marithgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Well, the location is good, and that is the reason why I chose this hotel. Rooms are small and bathrooms in need of some work, but this is common in Paris. But the management could be better. Desk staff always seem busy doing something else than listening to you, they always ask you to wait. They always offer to sell you shuttle rides or various tourist activities, that you don't ask for. Breakfast is miserable, in the basement and with horrible coffee and food -- it's much better, and way cheaper, to have breakfast at some cafe of patisserie around. Wifi works but it is quite inconvenient, you continuously get disconnected and have to re-register on Orange.fr. The problem is, you may find similar situations in many hotels in Paris in this price range. So, in the end, this is in the average.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ferif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this place with son just a few nights ago. I am totally agree with the previous reviewer. An overpriced hotel but you pay for location. Rooms are of a good size, tidy but quite old and in need of a bit of work. Totally adequate for resting after a big day of sightseeing. You are paying for the location here. Excellent spot for walking or riding through Paris. We brought a ticket for the airport shuttle - we ended up hoping off because we didn't realise that he was going to pick up another 8 people including us. There is no way we would have made the trip to the airport on time if we chose to travel in the bus. It's cheap but make sure you slow pleat of time if you chose the shuttle bus as an option. Also breakfast we though was not great. Not very fresh. The receptionist may encourage you to eat at the restaurant nextdoor, and you receive a pass which entitles you for a complementary drink - don't do it!! I highly recommend the restaurant across the road 'little Barcelona' really lovely and the manager we very nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Simone V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my family. The hotel is very well located from Metro train station called " Place Monge" The hotel receptionist tried to market some tours to us and wasted our 15 minutes on arrival.Finally He succeeded in getting us pay for the taxi to airport for our return , which was convinient but little expensive
The tourist attractions like Pantheon is very close to this hotel
There is very nice french bakery at a walking distance
Overall the hotel is good for Paris sightseeing tour

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeepkarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The rooms are not big, which is to be expected in Paris. However, they are more than enough to live and sleep in since you will most likely spend little time in them. The hotel staff are extremely polite, helpful and can communicate in many languages (mainly French, English, Spanish and German). The location is certainly the hotel's best feature. In the heart of the Quartier Latin in the fifth arrondissement of Paris, it is walking distance from the Pantheon and not too far for postcards like the Eiffel Tower or the Champs-Élysées. Over all I had a very good stay and no problems whatsoever with the hotel. I would definitely stay at the Hotel des Arènes again.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a view to the Arènes de Lutèce tend to be smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFau_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the third hotel my friend and I stayed in Paris during a week. It was rather nice. We used the Metro, so it was in a convenient location. Our view was on the 2nd floor and outside was the 'L' of the 'hotel' sign. The receptionist was.. Eccentric! When we first came in he asked my friend and I 'if we got lucky on New Years Eve!' and did.. ahem.. a thrust manoeuvre! The next morning he was dancing with one of the cleaning ladies and on our final morning he wanted a photo with me and my friend and basically half hugged us! (I thankfully had my ski jacket and my backpack on! Too close for comfort!) So he was not at all.. professional. Though he told us about a dinner cruise along the Seine and happily booked it for my friend and I, which we enjoyed thoroughly on our final evening in Paris!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_LiveLaughLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#542 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#215 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
#1,220 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Quartier Latin
Hotel Au Royal Cardinal
Hotel Au Royal Cardinal
#1,234 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arenes

Property: Hotel des Arenes
Address: 51 rue Monge | 5 Arr, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #983 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arenes 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel des Arenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arenes Hotel
Des Arenes Paris
Hotel Des Arenes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing