We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable but little room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Grands Hommes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Ranked #136 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“comfortable but little room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

close to the city center, charming hotel, small and cute, but rooms are too small too!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glpitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLPelletier, Assistant Manager at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken on your time to review our hotel.

As many of our guests mention it, you appreciated our location, our Directoire charm and the fact that our hotel is cute.
Size of our rooms correponds totally of our 3 stars classification and, as you can see with all other reviews, is appreciated by our guests who rarelly complain about it.
We regret that you don't take time to say that you had been upgraded to a superior room while arriving, and you don't mention also the fact that your room had a balcony.
As we are very concern by our guest satisfaction, we hope that we will have the pleasure again to receive you.

Best regards
Pierre-Louis Pelletier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    477
    80
    17
    6
See reviews for
203
897
103
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

Our room was ready for us when we arrived (3 pm). It was attractive and comfortable (very good bed & shower), as were the public rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful. All spoke English and were patient with our French. In house "Energy breakfast" (yogurt, juice, granola, apple) was healthy, economical, and very good, and was the traditional petit dejeuner with fresh orange juice. On two of our four days, the hotel staff was facing challenges with the elevator being out of service and worked hard to accommodate guests during this inconvenience. There is free wireless internet service but it is incredibly slow. Hotel is located direct across from the Pantheon and near La Sorbonne, in an area with very good restaurants (try Le Cosi for fine dining) and cafes nearby and the Pantheon across the street. It is 2+ blocks from the RER Luxembourg and 4+ blocks to the nearest Metro station. This was our 6th visit to Paris, and we would stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk_and_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

We spent just three nights at the HGH to celebrate our golden wedding.
If you're looking for a ritzy hotel with busy bars and flashy service, then look elsewhere. If you want a quiet , elegant and friendly place, look no further.
The service was friendly but impeccable – nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were delightful, overlooking the Panthéon and with views to Montmartre. It was not cheap, but it was worth every penny. Thank you to all the staff for making this special occasion even more special.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusterWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

I simply fell in love with this hotel. Super location, spotless, nice room, very friendly staff. Nice neighbourhood. Lots of cafe's and bars close by where you can have breakfast/brunch, at least that's what I did.
It's easy to get to and from the hotel by the RER B train, and the metro isn't far away either for daily excursions.
I will return to Paris-and to Hotel Des Grands Hommes!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

The Hotel Des Grands Hommes - was chosen by my husband - and I couldn't think of a better place for us to spend our 1st wedding anniversary!

The hotel is in the most beautiful location - with views overlooking the Pantheon, and a short walk from the Jardin de Luxembourg.

The staff were super friendly and very helpful.

Each room is decorated differently, which adds to the charm as you just don't know what you are going to get.
The rooms are small, but not uncomfortably so. Everything was just right for a short city break.

I would probably say that this is the nicest hotel I have stayed in in Paris and would definitely stay here again on my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPS888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

This hotel next to the Pantheon is spotlessly clean, well maintained, beautifully decorated and excels for its 3 star rating. It feels more like a 4 star, but the rating must be to do with facilities. Heartily recommended and will re-visit. Surrounded by brasseries and coffee bars, which offer better value for breakfast. Very handy for Luxembourg station on RER B (straight from CDG airport and on the same line as Stade de France). Slow lift, which broke down while we were there, but really did enjoy the stay. The staff are most helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

The best experience ever and I've been to Paris 3 times. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mochitwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#139 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#86 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#138 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#289 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#163 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#178 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Property: Hotel des Grands Hommes
Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#80 Family Hotel in Paris
#175 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing