We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel But..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Ranked #129 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Great location, lovely room, friendly staff but...the elevator is very, very small and there is no help with luggage. Only one person at a time with luggage can use the elevator. We were a party of three and it took several trips to get everything to the second floor and several trips to bring it all back down. Our room overlooked the Pantheon and was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mesopotamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2009

I booked a single room and was upgraded to a superior room overlooking the Pantheon. Simply marvellous. Loved the room, loved the feel of the hotel and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carotvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Our stay at the Hotel des Grande Hommes was one of the highlights of our trip. The staff happily accomodated all of our requests (power adapter, ironing board/iron, reservations for dinner, directions). Also important to us was that they spoke English and were happy to take time to explain to us where we were, how we could get around, and some tips for navigating in the city in English. We could not have been happier. While in Paris, returning to the hotel was like returning "home" and it was a relaxing and beautiful room. We some reviews before booking concerning the size of the room. We stayed in room 22 overlooking the Pantheon, a Superior booked through their site directly (which was a great idea pricewise). The room was much bigger than we expected after reading reviews. If you want a big screen tv and need to do jumping jacks and cartwheels in the room you should think about a city other than Paris for your visit.

We have to thank Pierre-Louis personally for his dinner reccommendation, Les Marie Verte, which was cozy, delicious, and the proprieter was warm and inviting. It was like dining in the French countryside at the house of a friend. Fantastic!

In my opinion, it's no surpirse they have so many positive reviews on Trip Advisor and other online ratings agencies. We will absolutely return to the hotel the next time we make it to Paris, and we will be recommending friends and family do the same.

Thank you so much for making our trip great

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnLabut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed at Hotel des Grans Hommes for 2 nights for my wife's 30th birthday and had a fantastic time. We had booked a superior room but were upgraded to a delux penthouse room with view over the Pantheon. The hotel was beautifully decorated and the staff could not be more helpful. The location was bob on. All in all we had an amazing time...and didn't want to leave! 3 cheers for Hotel des Grand Hommes!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband and I went to Paris with a baby and my parents and chose this hotel for its location and previous stellar reputation on trip advisor. The staff is amazing-really helpful and patient with all sorts of questions.

Breakfast is nice-downstairs in a cozy cellar, with yummy croissants, cereal, cheese, cold meats, yogurt, etc. The rooms are comfortable and typical Paris-sized (which means small!) but clean and with funky decor. Also, we didn't hear any noise from other rooms, and our room had a heater and thermostat.

For people traveling with babies, some general recommendations-don't bring a wide stroller (like the typical three-wheeled strollers) to Paris if you plan to take the Metro-they don't fit through the gates and there are tons of stairs (and no escalators or elevators in most stations). Everyone in Paris has a MacLaren for a reason. Also, neither this hotel nor most of the restaurants that we went to had a high chair, so bring your own (hoppop has a great combo high chair/diaper bag).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zurich_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

The Patheon reigns in all its glory across the plaza, the Jardin de Luxembourge blooms a couple of blocks away and the Sorbonne students slouch about the area, exuding youth. This hotel's is really nice in a great part of Paris. The staff is smart and helpful. We had a blast.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artistissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed in mid September. Do try to talk your way into one of the top floor rooms with balcony overlooking the Pantheon. Be careful about arranging a shuttle service to meet your plane- ours never showed up and it was the fault of one of the front desk folks at the hotel. Tough way to start a to week trip in France. That said, this is a very good choice, especially for location, which is critical in Paris. Rooms are smallish, but typical of Paris. There is an elevator. Breakfast is so so. After all that, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billinsugarloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLPelletier, Assistant Manager at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2009

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,


We would like to assure you, and our future guests, that we took good note of the shuttle problem you suffered : we sincerely apologize for what happened and we already gave a strong advice to the person who was in charge.

We would like also to really thank you for your nice comments. We are trying every day to increase our quality, and your review shows that we have to continue our effort.

We hope having the pleasure to receive you another time in Paris.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#71 of 1,809 in Paris
1,221 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#179 of 1,809 in Paris
612 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#141 of 1,809 in Paris
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#33 of 1,809 in Paris
342 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#58 of 1,809 in Paris
1,604 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#389 of 1,809 in Paris
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#174 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $159 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing