We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Ranked #138 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

maybe not the biggest, but one of the best. personal, romantic, fantastic location! highly recommended, easy parking, parc Luxembourg only a few hunderd meters away...escape the crowds at the rive gauche

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuGH, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for having time to review on your Parisian stay at the Hotel des Grands Hommes.

Regards,
Mathieu Billaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    486
    82
    18
    6
See reviews for
207
919
104
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We wanted a good, quiet but well located Parisian hotel to celebrate our anniversary - and that is exactly what we got. From the first smile when we walked up to reception to the smile when we left, the staff were, without exception, faultless. Perhaps surprising to meet truly nice, friendly welcoming people in Paris - but that's what they are.
Our room was well presented in period style, and was clean and comfortable. Most memorable perhaps was the splendid view directly onto the Pantheon - one of Paris' great landmarks sitting just across the road from our room. And the expanse of Place Pantheon gives a feeling of open space and clear air that you'll rarely find in the view from a Paris hotel.
The price for our room was very reasonable, and my main tip would be to ensure you book (or upgrade to) a room overlooking the Pantheon. To stay here and not do that would be a dreadful waste.
The location is good - a bit of a walk to any of several Metro stations, the Luxembourg RER being the nearest public transport (apart from buses). But the point of Paris is to walk the streets and take in the atmosphere and the high points of the Left Bank, Notre Dame, Jardins de Luxembourg, Sorbonne, even the Louvre, Tuileries and Champs Elysee are all easily walkable. And there is a good choice of restaurants in the area, covering all price ranges. One pleasant surprise was to find the steps that feature in Woody Allan's Midnight in Paris on the opposite corner of the Place - right next to the Bombardier pub (I'm not proud of going to Paris and drinking in an English pub, but sometimes need must. And to be honest, while the French do food and wine very well....they don't really do beer.).
Only criticisms of the hotel are minor - their towels have been in use for some time, I suspect, and it's time to order new, fluffy towels (larger size too please). And the shower head wasn't adjustable in our room, so we had a rather aggressive spray rather than a gentle shower. But don't let that put you off.

Room Tip: Front facing room overlooking the Pantheon is a must to get the best from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuGH, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback. I am proud we succeded in leaving you an unforgettable memory of your anniversary stay!

Regards,
Mathieu Billaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

The decor (hotel public areas and rooms) wowed us - elegant, dignified.
Can't say the same for the service - we got in past midnight from Toulouse, asked for a jug of water and were asked to order room service.
The pastries at breakfast were très delicious but you can't ask for a second helping, well you can ask, but won't get it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuGH, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and having noted the quality of the hotel.
We attache a strong imprtance as well to guest service.
We propose different breakfast formulae, at 10€, 12€ & 14€ for the Classic full French breakfast (including a fresh fruits salad and a daily home-made fresh smoothie). You can choose too "à la carte" just one or two items at your convenience, depending of your hunger.
I am surprised to notice that we failed in the excellent service are used to.
Would you please be kind enough to contact me back back e-mail or phone to understand your dissatisfaction on the point your talk about and imrprove our guest service.
Regards,
Mathieu Billaud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed in Hotel des Grandes Hommes in August 2014. The hotel is situated in a fantastic location, it is a very comfortable hotel and with the fresh croissants and coffee in the morning - what more could one ask for?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuGH, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Peter K,
Thank you for your laudatory review which honors us!
Warmest regards,
Mathieu Billaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during August 2014. Four days in Paris for my wife's birthday. We wanted to stay in the Saubonn area as while we have both been to Paris before, we hadn't explored this are. The hotel was typically priced for the area and stands well facing the Pantheon, the staff were excellent over our stay. The room was typically small for a city centre hotel, however it had everything we needed and was very comfortable. We didn't have breakfast but we believe it was very nice if a little pricey for continental. Overall nothing we could fault with the hotel and we'd certainly stop there again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuGH, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Steven T,

Thank for your review! I am happy you liked the hotel and area.
We propose 3 different breakfast formulae : 10€, 12€ & 14€ for the classic full French breakfast (including a fresh fruits salad and a daily home-made smoothie). Otherwise there is as well lot of choice "à la carte" (omelettes...).
Looking forward your next booking!
Regards,
Mathieu Billaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Booking through hotels. Com was efficient and easy with a email direct from the hotel confirming the 3 night booking and amount that would be due. An upgrade (larger room plus balcony ) was offered prior to us travelling but we decided not to take it up.
The hotel is directly overlooking the pantheon which was very quiet this time of year. Check in was very friendly and the room was as requested: classic with double bed on a high floor overlooking a small courtyard. We expected a small room as most decent priced city hotels are, but the room was a good size with a king bed, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Fitted cupboards provided plenty of storage space. There was a mini bar we could store our own drinks in, free safe, AC and a lovely bathroom with a full bath and shower over. The bed was big, comfortable with good linens. The hotel and staff were excellent, and the location perfect for us, 5 mins from the Luxembourg RER station and gardens and with lots of good cafes and restaurants nearby. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charaydis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuGH, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Charaydis,
Thank you for your laudatory review. Ideed, the hotel is a 3 star one with a real four star standard.
All our rooms are queen or king-size bedded. The hotel is ideally located : very central with a very little traffic noice from the outside as the Place du Pantheon is very quite.
All the best!
Mathieu Billaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Our first time to stay in the Latin Quarter, and we could not have selected a better hotel. HGH is located directly across from the Pantheon. We were only there 2 nights, and knew we would be out touring most of the time, so we selected the courtyard view room. It was indeed small, but beautifully decorated and very clean. Bathroom was a very nice size, almost as large as the bedroom itself. Only slight criticism was the shower head. Could not avoid getting water on the bathroom floor. A very minor complaint.

The room was very clean. A/C and internet both worked very well.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. We dined in the breakfast room once due to a very early departure. It was fine, though you'd do better at one of the many cafés in the area.

We would return here without a doubt. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuGH, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Please receive my thanks for having taken time to review on the quality of the hotel and service provided while you were our guest.
All the best,
Mathieu Billaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#139 of 1,802 in Paris
544 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#89 of 1,802 in Paris
1,141 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#111 of 1,802 in Paris
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#172 of 1,802 in Paris
985 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#278 of 1,802 in Paris
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Property: Hotel des Grands Hommes
Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#80 Family Hotel in Paris
#175 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing