We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charming small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Grands Hommes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Ranked #130 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was a great honeymoon experience. This small hotel brings a lot of Paris on their décor. Very romantic and charming. It's close to everything. Great for couples I wouldn't say the same for big families.

Room Tip: pantheon front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    469
    79
    16
    6
See reviews for
200
876
98
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

The rooms are Paris sized, but very nice. We were on the top floor with a terrace to sit out on and look out over the Pantheon plaza, with Montmartre beyond. The people at the desk were attentive and very helpful and arranged transportation both to and from the airport.
The area is terrific; the plaza the room is on is quiet, but walk three blocks east and you are in the heart of the Latin Quarter, and three blocks west is the 6th arr. and Luxemburg Gardens.
Paris itself feels almost overrun with tourists - try slightly off season if you can.

Room Tip: 6th floor, with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimBradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I cannot express how wonderful the staff of this hotel was to us. They are amazing and I fully recommend this hotel. I did a ton of research to select this place-mainly based on the wonderful reviews on this site and I was not disappointed. We stayed in the romantic room with terrace and it was lovely. It was on the smaller size but nice for two people. Unfortunately it rained the majority of the time and the terrace was not used but it was a wonderful addition.

Room Tip: 6th floor romantic room with terrace was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
298 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located on the left bank on the Place Pantheon,near the Sorbonne. This is a lovely hotel, with beautiful decoration in the rooms and public spaces. Our room was on the second floor in the back - very quiet. It was a small room, but well appointed with adequate lighting and a modern bathroom. This is a small boutique hotel, and the front desk staff was very helpful with check in, restaurant suggestions, and other requests. Breakfast was in the basement, and you can have the continental breakfast (which was very generous) or additional options. There are so many options in Paris for hotels, and this one was a place to return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HoustonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

I booked a double room classified as "comfort category with view"; the price was a bit less than 200 e per night in July. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here (even taking into account the price):

+ The location is excellent, right next to Panthéon and within a short walk from lots of restaurants in the Latin Quarter. The room (3rd floor, facing the street) had a nice view to Panthéon.

+ The hotel was beautifully decorated, both in the lobby and in the room. Everything looked well maintained and clean.

+ The room was fairly large. In addition to the bed, there was also a nice couch for sitting and relaxing. There was enough space for luggage and clothes, and plenty of space for other items in the closets.

+ There was air conditioning, and it worked very well, both in the lobby and in the room, even when it was +36°C outdoors.

+ Wifi was free, very reliable, and fairly fast. There is a login page, but you only need to do the login once (on each device) during your entire stay; then everything just works automatically. (The only place with a poor wifi signal was the breakfast room in the basement.)

+ The reception staff was friendly and helpful.

There were only some minor issues:

- The room is not that practical for business trips if you want to get some work done in your hotel room. There is no writing desk. There are few power sockets, and not in very convenient locations. The lighting is poor; it gets very dark in the evening.

- Breakfast is not worth the price (14 e extra per person). Tiny fruit salad, some fresh bakery products (bread, croissant, etc.) with marmalade, a glass of orange juice, and coffee or (lukewarm!) tea. You can get the same thing in a nearby coffee shop or bakery much cheaper, and in much nicer surroundings.

- For some reason my wakeup call was never delivered. I was fairly upset about this, complained, and did not get any explanation or even a proper apology.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank czfrbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We LOVED everything about our stay. From the moment we entered, Patrick went above and beyond to make our family comfortable. Everyone was friendly and helpful, but Patrick is a real asset to the hotel.
The room was clean and 'cozy', but truthfully, this is Paris. There's so much to see that we only went to the room to sleep. After spending 5 restless nights in London, I was thrilled to get a great nights sleep. The bedding was quite comfortable and the ability to open the widows for fresh air was delightful.
The location is ideal-close to sights and places to eat. Just ask at the desk, they'll direct you to the side streets behind the hotel.
When Patrick saw my daughter was traveling with her 8 month old daughter, he upgraded their accommodations and put them in a larger room so she would have a crib. A very nice gesture-although it left me envious! They wound up in an extraordinary suite.
It was challenging to pick a hotel in Paris, since there are so many, but this exceeded our expectations. We can't wait to get back there--and we will go back!
Oh, BTW, don't forget to tour the Pantheon. Without knowing anything about it, we figured we should go just because it was across the street. We were so glad we did-WOW!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeba820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hotel Des Grands Hommes. 17 Place du Panthéon. This hotel has been around for years. It is clean, well decorated and the room I had, was very adequate for me. Well decorated, very clean although one was aware of the lift as my room was close by. Highly recommended for position and general presentation. However, if you don’t like heights make certain you choose a room no higher than the third floor. Prices as published, breakfast: €14!
I must not forget to mention the friendly, dedicated and welcoming staff!
Will certainly stay there on my next visit.

Room Tip: If you don't like heights don't choose a room beyond the third floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanislas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Stanislas R

I would like to thank you for reviewing on the quality of the hotel and service.
Indeed, the classic full brekfast is at 14€ but we propose a formula at 10€ or 12€ as well.
I look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,
Mathieu Billaud,
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#132 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#283 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#186 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#73 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#136 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Property: Hotel des Grands Hommes
Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#80 Family Hotel in Paris
#175 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing