We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Ranked #138 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel and Fantastic Location”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during our stay in Paris. The location of the hotel is a 2 minute walk from the Metro and easy to find. The manager and staff at the hotel were extremely warm and friendly and couldnt be more helpful. The rooms are clean and perfect for a romantic stay. It is the type of hotel you would definitely stay again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    489
    83
    18
    6
See reviews for
214
927
104
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

From start to finish we felt very welcome at this hotel with very good English speaking staff. The hotel was clean, comfortable and stunningly decorated. I had a few e-mails sent prior to our arrival and the hotel and staff could not do enough for us as they always replied quickly and we loved our two night stay. We were on our honeymoon and could not ask for better....

Room Tip: On the breakfast menu , it is not limited select everything that you need..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrightyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night while transiting in Paris. Stayed in Paris many times before, and first time in Latin Quarter. This is right outside the Pantheon, a very quiet street @ night, although my room was facing the inner courtyard. While only walking around for one evening, not many students in the area (given uni), with lots of restaurants and pubs.

The hotel is small, typical for parisian hotels. a Lift is available!, but can fit 1 person with a big suitcase.

The room was small, but impressively, the bathroom is large. Has bath with shower head, and good water pressure and hot water. Extremely clean bathroom. The actual bedroom is nearly filled by the double bed, and two cupboards available. One of the cupboards stock a tiny safe and the other, a tiny TV. Chair and small table provided. Really not much space to put luggage, although could put into bathroom I guess. Would not recommend this hotel as someone wanting a place to stay during the day, as small and darkish. Air conditioning in hotel works very very well.

Reception: very helpful, speaks excellent english. Have to drop your keys with them before you leave.

Overall: enjoyed the hotel, I think price is comparable for French hotels, a nice location to start your day trips in Paris. You can book a reasonable price private car to airport which cost 60 Euro (very clean car compared to the taxi we caught from the airport initially).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We love the St. Germain/Luxombourg Garden area of Paris and couldn't get a room at our usual hotel (forgot its fashion week.). So, we searched for days to find a hotel that would give us the same service and quality accommodations. I chose this hotel after reading the reviews, and we were not disappointed. The service is friendly and prompt, and the rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. Other reviewers mentioned that the rooms are small, so we upgraded to a balcony room and thought the size was fine (The bathrooms are timy but we managed it.) This is a three star hotel and our usual is a four star, but aside from the bathrooms, I can't honestly say that there is any noticeable difference in quality between the two hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I did a lot of research before booking this hotel as was for our 1st wedding anniversary and wanted it to be special.

Rooms - stayed in 61 on the 6th floor. It had a balcony facing the Pantheon and was the full length of the room so had 2 sets of french doors leading out to it. We bought ham, cheese, & baguettes along with a bottle of wine and watch everyone coming and going down below. From it, we could see Sacre Coeur in the distance - beautiful at night when its all lit up and the very tip of the Eiffel Tower if you stood on your tiptoes! The view of the Pantheon was obscured by scaffolding which was a shame. Room was small in comparison to hotels in other countries but it was perfectly adequate for our needs and the balcony gave additional room. It was decorated beautifully - the walls were covered with cloth as opposed to paper and gave it a real boudoir feel. Bathroom clean and room service came every day to replace towels and toiletries.

Service - from start to finish the hotel staff were very helpful with all our enquiries. There was a problem with the trains on the weekend we went so the staff looked into the problem when we were to make our return journey to the airport.

Location - great location. 10mins walk from met station (slow pace with suitcases). 5mins walk to the heart of the Latin Quarter (many reasonable places to eat here). 10mins walk to Sacre Coeur area - very bustling and full of places to eat and drink. Prices reasonable for food but very expensive for drinks if not drinking wine. Beers are about 9-10euros for a pint! This was the case everywhere - it was cheaper to get a beer at the airport!!
It was easy to visit everywhere from here and was perfect to visit all the main attractions.

Only 2 negatives: 1) The breakfast was expensive for what it was and 2) there was a wasp problem on the balcony where we wanted to eat it. We understood that there were flowers and it was summer but there was about 10 that we were fighting off.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is very expensive but this is going rate for a nice hotel in Paris. If you can treat yourself then do it, the balcony is a lovely little addition to your parisian experience!

Room Tip: No.61 - it is facing the Pantheon and has a big balcony with table and chairs - beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Della C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

First trip to Paris and trying to pick a hotel was a bit daunting. We finally settled on the Hotel des Grands Hommes - the location looked excellent, the rooms looked charming, and the entire hotel seemed to have that classic Parisian feel we were looking for. We couldn't have been happier with our choice.

We spent six nights here and loved every minute of it (including the surprising view of the Eiffel Tower from the street out front). Front desk staff were always available and very helpful (they speak English, but are also happy to help you practice your French).

The rooms are small, as is to be expected at this price point in Paris, but well appointed (desk, fridge, tv, phone, two chairs, two closets, AC and a safe). Like others have mentioned, a big suitcase will be a hassle in these rooms. We had one and ended up unpacking it right away and stowing it for the duration of our stay. Otherwise, the bed was excellent - we slept great. The room had two sets of those quintessential French windows that nearly reach from floor to ceiling. We loved coming back to the room and throwing those open to catch some fresh air and take in the action in the Place du Pantheon.

One bonus of this hotel is that being Pantheon adjacent not only offers great views, but provides great light in your room (not always the case in the Latin Quarter's narrow streets). We didn't have any problems with noise coming from outside. The windows are well glazed and while there is definitely action most of the day and night outside, it didn't bother us in the least when the windows were closed.

This hotel is well situated to take advantage of Paris. The Luxembourg RER metro stop is a five-minute walk (if you're traveling light, this would be a very doable option to get to the hotel from Charles De Gaulle airport). Closer to home, you can easily walk to Notre Dame, the Marais, St. Germain des Pres. There are plenty of restaurants in the area as well - we only left the arrondissement once for dinner. A few of our neighborhood favorites included Le Perradin, Au Pere Louis and the Boulangerie Moderne. Also be sure to check out the Rue Moufftard with its fabulous food market.

One quirk that we didn't catch on to right away here was that the key functioned both as a means to unlock the door and also the way to turn on the lights. There is a small slot near the door that you slip the key into to engage the lights. It took us a few minutes to figure that one out. Also, note that you leave your key at reception anytime you leave the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

After a long search on hotels, my boyfriend and I decided for the Hotel des Grands Hommes due to the photos and reviews we saw on the internet. We were very nervous on the way there, afraid of a possible tiny bedroom and a dirty bathroom.
Luckily, we could not be happier! Everything about this hotel was perfect!
The frontdesk man was very polite and welcoming. We arrived starving and he happily helped us order a pizza, suggesting the best ones.
The bedroom size was just fine, and the bathroom was the best surprise. Very clean and huge! The bath was awesome.. perfect after a long day walking around the city.
Breakfast was delicious and very well served!
The hotel is just in front of the Pantheon, one of the city highlights and around 3 minute-walking from the metro.
All the staff were friendly and made our trip even better!
I would definetely go back there :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianaMaccariello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having taken time to express the quality of service providing while you were with us.
We work hard to make every guests stay memorable.
Your comment honors us!!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon,
Best regards
Mathieu Billaud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#131 of 1,800 in Paris
565 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#85 of 1,800 in Paris
1,157 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#112 of 1,800 in Paris
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#186 of 1,800 in Paris
1,002 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#280 of 1,800 in Paris
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Property: Hotel des Grands Hommes
Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#80 Family Hotel in Paris
#175 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing