We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Ranked #123 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Lovely hotel in great location.Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly but totally professional. Lots of great places to eat within a 5 minute walk and very reasonable prices. Spotlessly clean in all areas of the hotel. Comfortable beds. Light bulb by the bed "went" but was replaced without me having to ask! Are begining a program of major restoration at the Pantheon so a little bit of noise during the day, however this did not impede the enjoyment of my stay at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zilla98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We LOVE this place. It's right across the street from the Parthenon and a 10-15 minute walk to Notre Dame. There are some really, really good restaurants within a few blocks and the staff was incredibly helpful with everything we needed. Even the breakfast area on the lower level was terrific. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the parthenon, so it was very bright during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was an excellent hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it! The staff were friendly and professional and were quite prepared to help us with a variety of queries. The hotel itself was immaculate. We had a superior room with a balcony overlooking the Pantheon and it was hard to fault. The bed was comfy, the shower hot and powerful and we had plenty of room for storage as well as a sofa. The location is excellent (and one of the chief selling points) with metro stations nearby as well as a number of different attractions. All in all - brilliant and I hope we can come back!

Room Tip: Superior room overlooking the Patheon was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandJH_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear guest,

I would like thank you for having taken time to report the quality of the hotel & service.

Your comment honors us.
Because guest service is also what customer doesnot expect, I am looking to welcoming you soon to provide you at least the same quality of service.

Best regards,
Mathieu Billaud,
Manager Assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Travelled in April 2013 for the Paris Marathon event. I upgraded my room from standard to superior. A few comments first.....I just wish they would've informed me of this problem prior but the central heating system in the hotel is not working properly. It was at its lowest setting, and one the guest could not adjust. To cover for this the management placed portable room heaters into already very small rooms! When I would leave for the day they would turn the heater on so very high that when I'd come back from my travels the room would be unreasonably hot. Conversely the first night the room was freezing. It was frustrating and I did tell the assistant manager much to his dismay I fear. He apologized and offered some free coffees/espressos, etc. Also, there is a lot of noise from a renovation right next door with a large dumpster outside. They started around 7 finishing around 5 or so.
But, the upside was that the room was very pleasantly decorated and the bathroom was sizable. It was clean and quaint and in a great location---very quiet at night too despite the fact that my room faced the street.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwaller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Madame,

First, I would like to thank you for having taken time to report about the quality of the hotel & service.

Concerning your feedback, I have to say that I am quite surprised as, at your request, I went up in to meet you in room 41after your first night.
We found a solution, for the room not to be too cold or too hot, consisting in a double-check by the housekeeper after the room had been cleaned-up.
This solution seemed to suit you according to what you said to me.

As a commercial gesture, I offer you the breakfast on the next morning (which you did not have, nor the day after) and coffees you had during your whole stay.

Thank you anyway to notice that the superior room you booked was very quiet even facing the Panthéon.

Wishing to welcome you at the next marathon (or before?),
Kind regards,

Mathieu Billaud,
Manager Assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from HDGH and can't wait to return. We stayed for two nights bed and breakfast in a terrace room. Views overlooking the Pantheon were breathtaking and the terrace itself was the length of the room which had two double doors leading out. You can have breakfast on your terrace at no extra charge which weather permitting is a must. Breakfast is the best I have had in Paris : juice, smoothie, figs, prunes, freshly baked bread, croissant and brioche with a choice of tea, coffee and chocolate. The hotel is just beautiful with chic room decor. Only negative would be drilling noise from building work which started just at breakfast time. Plus: location, rooms, views from terrace, staff, breakfast and did I mention the terrace?

Thank MC10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Sir,

First I would like to thank you for having taking time to write your comment about the breathtaking view (over the Panthéon to Montmartre Sacré-Coeur) and the quality of the hotel, breakfast & service.

We change indeed our breakfast formula a year ago to have quality & fresh products. I am glad you noticed & liked it!

But, because of the refurbishment of the building next door (which is independant of our hotel) there is some noise during the week days until 5pm max. I am really sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you a lot for having loaded some photos,

Looking forward to welcoming you soon,
Best regards,

Mathieu Billaud.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Travelled there at the end of March 2013 for a long weekend. First impressions are good as we walked up from the Metro (it's only 3 stops from Gare du Nord for Eurostar), area looked good with enough coffee shops and brasseries to keep most folk happy. Hotel itself is right opposite the Pantheon, so if you like a cracking view of a colonnaded mausoleum, this is for you. The general reception area was smart and we were greeted by friendly staff, and although some eeengleesh was spoken, her indoors scored some points for trying her GCE French. The room was small, there is no other description, but it was fine, with at least a decent size bathroom. If you accept that unless you stay at one of the bland, faceless international chains where square feet means more than decor, every independent hotel bedroom in Paris is this big. Fact. To be honest it was a VERY comfy bed and the room had all that was required for the purpose, so we weren't bothered by the size in the end. Go for a deluxe room, with balcony if possible, as a standard double may well involve you being a contortionist. Location is fab, close to St Germain for shopping, The Seine for a romantic(ish) stroll, and Parc du Luxemborg for a slice of Parisienne life - there's even some nice restaurants in the narrow streets behind the back of the hotel. All in all, we really liked it. Yes, the bedroom is small but with Paris on your doorstep how much actual time will you spend flicking through French cable? As the French say, c'est la vie!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewRdgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear guest,

First , we would like to thank you to have taken some time to review about your stay in our hotel.

We appreciate also that you loved being with us because of our good location, professionalism of our staff and our particularly charming hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon,

Best regards,
Mathieu Billaud,
Manager Asisstant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent 8 nights at the hotel, located right across from the Pantheon. It was a very good experience. The hotel emailed us several days in advance and asked arrival time. We replied 6:30 AM and they said they'd try to accommodate early check-in, which they did. This was very helpful. Our room, 34, was the smallest on the floor of 5 rooms. Small but adequate, with a good size bath. It was on the back of the hotel and quiet, which is what we wanted. The room was wonderfully appointed, with large crown moldings, well designed wall coverings and the like. It's sleeping space didn't share an adjoining wall with another room, so we don't know how sound resistant other rooms might be. Rooms 44 and 54 are on floors with similar configurations. The reception desk was well staffed and all were helpful. BF was expensive but there are several nearby cafes that offer a variety of BF options. Booking via booking.com was easy. We'll stay here again when we want to stay in this part of Paris. No downsides encountered at all. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#79 of 1,803 in Paris
1,199 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#173 of 1,803 in Paris
604 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#132 of 1,803 in Paris
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#166 of 1,803 in Paris
1,410 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#351 of 1,803 in Paris
1,007 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#2 of 1,803 in Paris
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#80 Family Hotel in Paris
#174 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $140 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing