We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still nice but a slippery sidewalk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Ranked #143 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Liege
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Still nice but a slippery sidewalk”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went back to Hotel des Grands Hommes, for its location, its charm, and the friendly welcome. Unfortunately, we were in Paris when a heavy snow fall painted Paris all white. For two days, absolutely nothing was done by the staff to clear even a little bit the sidewalk and it is a wonder that no patron fell on the hotel doorstep. This time we had a larger room, but not a large room, overlooking the Pantheon. Breakfast is a bit limited and could be extended a bit for the price. Yogurt or fruit would be a nice addition.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms are small and quiet overlooking the courtyard. More expensive rooms are larger and ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fgrandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    480
    80
    17
    6
See reviews for
205
904
103
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The only reason I booked this hotel was the location (we always stay in the 5th or 6th Arrondisment) and the fact that it has air conditioning. I was in Paris two years ago with my daughters and stayed in another hotel while the temperatures reached almost 40 C degrees. This was one of the few hotels that offered confort but was fully booked at the time so we suffered. This summer, same time of year (July 14th to 21st) the mornings greated us with temperatures in the teens on a few occassions. Summers in Paris are so unpredictable so you must pack for all occassions. Ok, back to the hotel....nice location, we had a great view of the Pantheon. Started out in room 21 with a horrible shower and were moved the next day to a higher floor (funny, I heard a yound lady complain about the same room shower that afternoon so it was not just we that were unhappy). The rooms are tiny, the balcony even more so but it did the trick. It is a short distance to the Luxemburg Gardens and to so many great restaurants and attractions. The staff was friendly (made sure we took an umbrella on days that forcasted rain - they had a number of them at the front desk that we could borrow) and always greated us with a smile.
I have visited Paris a number of times and this is a reasonably priced, well situated, friendly, clean hotel - nothing fancy but it fits the bill. My husband, who was in Paris for the first time, loved it. He sat on the steps of the Pantheon every evening taking in the view of the Eiffel Tower. According to him, why would we stay anywhere else on our next visit?

Room Tip: The rooms in the front (with the great view) tend to get quite noisy and remain so for the entire ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondBasicsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked for 2 nights and were confirmed in a room with a view of the Pantheon. We were so tired when we arrived that I took a nap before going down to mention the error that our room did not have a view. By then the man on the night shift spoke little english. The next morning Pierre Louis apologized profusely, changed our room while we were out shopping and left a bottle of wine with his compliments. We were very happy with our charming, beautifully decorated, comfortable room. We were a bit disappointed with the breakfast. I would suggest going out if you have your heart set on a good croissant. Lovely quiet location in the 5th.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel, and everything we expected from Paris. Our room had a great view looking out onto the Pantheon's square, and a small balcony. Like just about all rooms in Paris, it was small, but beautifully decorated. The hotel is not right in the midst of the action - it's a few blocks to the metro and food/shops - but it was a good spot and it was easy to get around on foot or by calling a cab. The staff, service and food were great. Definitely recommended! Traveled in December 2011.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Pantheon (street side) for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robandchrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Needed to get a lot of work done and was terribly disappointed that the "new" wifi system doesn't work at all for 5 days. They said I could go to a cafe but that is hardly a solution. They didn't have a tech person so there was little thra could be done. As much as I love this place I need wifi to keep my business going so I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsnglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
421 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel de Grand Hommes for 5 nights in September, 2012, and it was delightful in every way. On past visits to Paris we always stayed on Rue Jacob, closer to the river, but we decided to try a different location, and we're very happy that we did as it was just as convenient, less noisy, and close to many great restaurants, the Luxumberg Gardens and the subway. Since it was our anniversary, we splurged and reserved what is said to be the nicest room in the hotel......on the top floor, with a balcony overlooking the Pantheon, and a little sitting area adjacent to the bedroom. We felt it was well worth the extra money!
The staff is very helpful and friendly, breakfast in our room was perfect, and, at the end of each busy day, we looked forward to returning to our room to relax. We're happy to recommend this hotel and hope to return for another stay in the near future.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong on the top floor overlooking the Pantheon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Second time in 5 years we have stayed here the staff warm, intelligent, funny helpful and tolerated my French. Great resources for excellent local non touristic restaurants . Booked and make phone calls for us. We stayed a week this time and had a larger room which We liked. The location is perfect , near Sorbonne within walking distance to St Germaine restuatants and shops-oh la la the metro is and easy minute walk from the hotel and it feels like home. We would stay again. It's. a nice area off the noise of Paris but fun to explore

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#138 of 1,798 in Paris
527 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#89 of 1,798 in Paris
1,103 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#124 of 1,798 in Paris
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#284 of 1,798 in Paris
1,267 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#162 of 1,798 in Paris
948 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#179 of 1,798 in Paris
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Property: Hotel des Grands Hommes
Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#80 Family Hotel in Paris
#175 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing