We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful affordable romantic Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Ranked #129 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a perfect hotel for a weekend in Paris. It's affordable in that it's high quality for what you pay and in a city where most hotels are overpriced it's so nice to find one like this.

We stayed for our mini-honeymoon in September 2012 and could not have been more impressed with the service by the staff to us. We stayed on the top floor and had a magnificent balcony overlooking the Pantheon square. Our room was large by Paris standards and had a huge and comfortable bed. Lots of closet space to hang clothing and the bathroom was clean and spacious for our needs.

More importantly the hotel is in a great neighbourhood with so many places walking distance or right on the metro (Luxembourg station is so close). Make sure to get a sandwich and a gelato and sit in the Luxembourg gardens one afternoon. Idyllic!

Room Tip: 61 for a perfect view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 8 nights at des Grands Hommes in September 2012. The staff were not only very accommodating but fun to talk to and tried to help in every way. Our room was on the opposite side from the Pantheon and was small but comfortable and quiet. Great water pressure in the shower and plenty of towels and bath amenities. The location was very convenient to the whole city given the close proximity of the Metro, and it was a 12 minute walk to Ile de Cite. Great neighborhood with good restaurants and patisseries. And Paris' most beautiful park, Luxembourg Gardens, is 3 blocks away. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avery B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here in August for 2 nights with 2 other couples. The Hotel des Grands Hommes is located in a very safe area overlooking the Patheon and close to the Luxembourg train station. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby and no shortage of places to shop. Area attractions are very accessible by Metro which is located within 5 min walking distance. We had a room overlooking the Patheon with a balcony. The room was very clean but small, which is typical of European rooms. The staff at this hotel is very friendly, helpful and always smiling. My husband and I truly loved Paris and when we go back, we will be staying at Hotel des Grands Hommes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choujaa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Charming, clean hotel in a quiet area at night with a fantastic, helpful staff! Overlooking the Pantheon & minutes walk from buses, the metro & the gorgeous Luxembourg Gardens. Lots of great little restaurants, cafes & bakeries/patisseries (the stellar Gerard Mulot on the Rue de Seine is a 10 minute walk & is rumored to be where Catherine Denueve gets her morning fix) behind the hotel (Terra Nova was a great find with an excellent staff!) and down the street. The rooms were spacious for Paris but by no means large by American standards. We (3 of us in 2 different room types) loved it & If you stay here, you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: I would recommend a deluxe room for two if you want a bit more room. Our room had a settee (could sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The perfect location looking out over the Pantheon in a great area of Paris. We stayed here to be within walking distance of family and had a wonderful time. Being in Paris the hotel rooms (and lift) are quite compact but this is nothing short of the norm. The room was immaculately clean and all staff we encountered were very polite and helpful throughout.

One very clever trick was on check-in. The receptionist discovered in conversation with us at the desk that we were on honeymoon and even though it was only 5 minutes until we were in the room, there was already a card and gift waiting for us as we walked in! Very impressed!

Some great restaurants to explore along the Rue des Ecoles and Boulevard St Germain which are only a couple of minutes back towards the river.

Highly recommended if your staying in Paris for any reason although it was a special occasion for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpinchbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I spent the night of my 30th birthday in this lovely hotel. The gentleman at check in was very friendly and helpful. He helped us make our dinner reservations for the night. We stayed in a beautiful room with view of the Pantheon. Yes, the rooms are small but that is expected and the room was truly delightful. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We ordered room service for breakfast and it was wonderful. The hotel held our luggage upon check out while we explored until our apartment was ready at 5pm. Perfect stay, perfect service, would recommend and revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizzy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is absolutely divine. It overlooked the Pantheon and was close to the Luxembourg train station and many eateries and of course within walking distance to some attractions.

Upon entering the foyer you have to semi pinch yourself that you are actually in Paris. It was decorated in heavy drapes and gorgeous antiques – it felt like home. The Receptionist was extremely pleasant and helpful and managed to check us in earlier than the normal check in time. We were shown to our room and relaxed.

The walls were wall papered in an interesting printed fabric. The room was rather small with just enough room to walk around the bed but was very neat and clean. We also had our own big bathroom with bath. The room had a television, fridge and plenty of hanging space for clothes. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. We had an inner facing room so didn’t get any street noise.
We loved this hotel, it was so convenient and comfortable. We enjoyed a nice fresh breakfast in the basement breakfast room one morning and were not disappointed. Walking down to the main roadway we were granted our first sighting of the Eiffel Tower. Be sure to visit the gardens at the bottom of the road for some relaxation time.

The only annoying thing is the key size, this hotel has an unusual shaped key which is rather awkward!

On the advice of the reception staff we purchased a museum day pass from the Pantheon across the street which gave us front of line (in some locations) and discounted entrance rates. This is good for extended visits. We chose the two day pass and used it at a variety of locations. They also gave us great advice on the attractions for the city.

We whole heartedly recommend this hotel, it’s a sweet, comfortable and well organised establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snowruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#71 of 1,809 in Paris
1,221 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#179 of 1,809 in Paris
612 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#141 of 1,809 in Paris
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#33 of 1,809 in Paris
342 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#58 of 1,809 in Paris
1,604 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#389 of 1,809 in Paris
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#174 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $159 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing