We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Grands Hommes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Ranked #136 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Stow, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here in August for 2 nights with 2 other couples. The Hotel des Grands Hommes is located in a very safe area overlooking the Patheon and close to the Luxembourg train station. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby and no shortage of places to shop. Area attractions are very accessible by Metro which is located within 5 min walking distance. We had a room overlooking the Patheon with a balcony. The room was very clean but small, which is typical of European rooms. The staff at this hotel is very friendly, helpful and always smiling. My husband and I truly loved Paris and when we go back, we will be staying at Hotel des Grands Hommes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choujaa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    477
    80
    17
    6
See reviews for
204
897
103
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Charming, clean hotel in a quiet area at night with a fantastic, helpful staff! Overlooking the Pantheon & minutes walk from buses, the metro & the gorgeous Luxembourg Gardens. Lots of great little restaurants, cafes & bakeries/patisseries (the stellar Gerard Mulot on the Rue de Seine is a 10 minute walk & is rumored to be where Catherine Denueve gets her morning fix) behind the hotel (Terra Nova was a great find with an excellent staff!) and down the street. The rooms were spacious for Paris but by no means large by American standards. We (3 of us in 2 different room types) loved it & If you stay here, you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: I would recommend a deluxe room for two if you want a bit more room. Our room had a settee (could sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The perfect location looking out over the Pantheon in a great area of Paris. We stayed here to be within walking distance of family and had a wonderful time. Being in Paris the hotel rooms (and lift) are quite compact but this is nothing short of the norm. The room was immaculately clean and all staff we encountered were very polite and helpful throughout.

One very clever trick was on check-in. The receptionist discovered in conversation with us at the desk that we were on honeymoon and even though it was only 5 minutes until we were in the room, there was already a card and gift waiting for us as we walked in! Very impressed!

Some great restaurants to explore along the Rue des Ecoles and Boulevard St Germain which are only a couple of minutes back towards the river.

Highly recommended if your staying in Paris for any reason although it was a special occasion for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I spent the night of my 30th birthday in this lovely hotel. The gentleman at check in was very friendly and helpful. He helped us make our dinner reservations for the night. We stayed in a beautiful room with view of the Pantheon. Yes, the rooms are small but that is expected and the room was truly delightful. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We ordered room service for breakfast and it was wonderful. The hotel held our luggage upon check out while we explored until our apartment was ready at 5pm. Perfect stay, perfect service, would recommend and revisit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wizzy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is absolutely divine. It overlooked the Pantheon and was close to the Luxembourg train station and many eateries and of course within walking distance to some attractions.

Upon entering the foyer you have to semi pinch yourself that you are actually in Paris. It was decorated in heavy drapes and gorgeous antiques – it felt like home. The Receptionist was extremely pleasant and helpful and managed to check us in earlier than the normal check in time. We were shown to our room and relaxed.

The walls were wall papered in an interesting printed fabric. The room was rather small with just enough room to walk around the bed but was very neat and clean. We also had our own big bathroom with bath. The room had a television, fridge and plenty of hanging space for clothes. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. We had an inner facing room so didn’t get any street noise.
We loved this hotel, it was so convenient and comfortable. We enjoyed a nice fresh breakfast in the basement breakfast room one morning and were not disappointed. Walking down to the main roadway we were granted our first sighting of the Eiffel Tower. Be sure to visit the gardens at the bottom of the road for some relaxation time.

The only annoying thing is the key size, this hotel has an unusual shaped key which is rather awkward!

On the advice of the reception staff we purchased a museum day pass from the Pantheon across the street which gave us front of line (in some locations) and discounted entrance rates. This is good for extended visits. We chose the two day pass and used it at a variety of locations. They also gave us great advice on the attractions for the city.

We whole heartedly recommend this hotel, it’s a sweet, comfortable and well organised establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel was a real treat. We were upgraded to a very large room on the ground floor. The staff were helpful and charming. Though there are less expensive hotels we felt we got great value here. The location is good for public transport and everything else that makes Paris great and yet was surprisingly quiet. At the end the day just jump in a cab and ask to be taken to the Pantheon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avocetexsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel was recommended by my sister and parents who had stayed there two years ago when it had been recommended to them by a friend. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The hotel is very much a "boutique" hotel. The staff were exceptional and extremely helpful in all matters - nothing was too much for them.
The room was very well appointed having an entry hall, bedroom and bathroom all separate.
We expected a small room as this is Paris. The bed was bigger than a king size double and very comfortable. I was very impressed with the bathroom which had a big bath with shower over it and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job.
It is well positioned to travel around Paris by RER or bus and the Pantheon itself is well worth visiting. There are cafes less than a block away for lunch or dinner.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone (as long as there is still room for us! :) ).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peninaanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#141 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#87 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#138 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#286 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#161 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#186 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Property: Hotel des Grands Hommes
Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#80 Family Hotel in Paris
#175 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing