We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Romantic and Serene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Ranked #141 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quiet, Romantic and Serene”
Reviewed January 14, 2008

This was a lovely, small, charming hotel located near the Pantheon and Sorbonne and a quick walk to the Luxembourg metro and Park. The room had long windows over looking the Pantheon, it was a retreat and beautiful place to rest , relax and retreat. Being a bath maven, I was delighted to relax in the large tub. There was a tiny bar in the hotel . But most charming of all, were the staff that worked the hotel. Everyone was warm, helpful, informative. One morning , still on US time,I had slept right through breakfast. One of the women who managed the hotel brought me breakfast to the room without being asked.The area is nicely out of the way from the hustle and bustle of Paris, but near wonderful areas in which to shop, walk and eat. Oh and the food the area near St Germaine is filled with fabulous food every where. Enjoy. Bon Appetit!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank gail w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    484
    81
    18
    6
See reviews for
207
914
104
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

After reading all the positive reviews on this hotel, my wife and I booked 4 nights for our recent first anniversary stay.

All in all, the hotel was good, not great. I think it's easy to build up your expectations based on others' opinions/reviews, so maybe mine were a little inflated. I booked directly with the hotel, which was far and away the best price. Based on the price I paid, I was happy. If I had paid their standard rates, I would not have been.

The two main problems I had were actually with the service, not the room.

-We flew in via redeye. When I booked the hotel, I requested an early check-in, and was told they could not guarantee it, but would make every effort to have a room available as early as possible.

When we arrived at 10, we were told to come back at 2. When we came back at 2, we were told the room had not been cleaned, but that they would 'do it right now', and we were told to sit and wait in the lobby, which we did - for 40 minutes, with no apology. This, in my opinion, is not acceptable.

-The second and more serious problem was our returning to our room one afternoon to find the door propped open, and no housekeeper in sight. Apparently they had just left the door wide open after cleaning.

My wife went down to the desk, and was told 'relax, our hotel is very safe'. While this may be true, it was a truly shocking response. Again, no understanding or apology. And I think it goes without saying that despite how safe or unsafe the hotel may be, there is at a minimum a privacy and respect issue, whereby a hotel should not leave a guest's room open. This seems like hotelier 101 to me, and really just basic common sense.

Aside from those two issues, the staff was very courteous, and helpful.

Some other general thoughts on the room (we booked a 'superior'):

-As should be expected, the room was very small. If you have more than one large suitcase, you will have trouble storing it. We had to put ours under the desk to be able to walk around the bed.

-The shower is insane, as is typical in europe. No curtain/door, so expect the floor to have half an inch of water when you're done. Get extra towels for the floor, or bring your flippers.

-The bed was comfortable - we slept great here. No noise problems.

- Location is great. Beautiful views of the Pantheon. Lots of restaurants nearby, but less of the elegant little places like you find around Saint Germain. Definitely feels more catered to students, as it should given the location.

All in all, I would say the issues we had were probably unusual, and that as long as you know what you're getting, this hotel is very good. Just go into it expecting that it feels like the low end of the 3-star rating, and don't expect service to be excellent - just good.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Medicore service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank cbarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthieuCROISIEZ, Assistant Manager at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, January 16, 2008
Dear guest,
Futher to your comment, I would like to offer you an answer even if, as you can imagine, I would have prefered to discuss these two "problems" with you when you were at the hotel des Grands Hommes.
Concerning the early check-in - unfortunately and, I assume, like in all the hotel de charme in the world - nobody can garantee an early check-in at 10 am if you don't book the previous night.
Of course, as we told you, we try & do our best to be able to offer a check in before 2 pm when possible.
I checked with our chambermaids what happened on this particular day for you to wait an extra 30 minutes : actually, the previous guest left the room at the very limit time & we had to clean the room completely.
Concerning your room left unlocked, I already spoke with the whole team to remind them to lock every room of the hotel even when cleaning & leaving the room for few seconds as it happened to you.
Concerning the shower, ALL our rooms have a door to protect the bathroom if you take a shower so I don't really understand.
Believe me when I say that I'm very sad you disliked the service as our main efforts are to satisfy the guests & as you were mentionning it, our guets are very happy with the service & our attention to the clients & they recommend our hotel for this.
My best regards
Matthieu CROISIEZ / Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Excellent hotel very conveniently located to some of the main Paris sights. Great reasonably priced restaurants nearby. Hotel staff very friendly and the room decorated to a high standard. Would happily stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, great location
  • Disliked — Rooms a bit small
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank enzdek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2008

This hotel is ideally situated in the Latin Quarter with a terrific view of the Pantheon. We actaully got the room we requested back in July.
The staff was kind and curtious, made us feel truly welcome.
Our stay in Paris was a dream come true.

  • Liked — The room decor, the service and location
  • Disliked — lack of room service options
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank honeymoon_in_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Me and my boyfriend just returned from a seven day stay in the hotel and have only amazing things to say about the hotel. Our little room on the sixth floor overlooking the little courtyard, was one of the most romantic places I have ever stayed at. The staff were exceptionally friendly, the service outstanding, the room gorgeous and clean, the location magnificent (literally in front of the Pantheon, steps away from the lively Rue de Mouffetard market, blocks from the Seine, and the Notre Dame cathedral, as well as the Luxemburg gardens). When you stepped out of the hotel and stood in front of the Pantheon you could see the Eiffel tower hovering in the distance. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Paris!!!
THANKS Hotels des Grands Hommes for making us fall in love with Paris!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Simone_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We have stayed many times at the Hotel du Pantheon which is part of the same hotel group and which we like very much. As the Hotel du Pantheon was undergoing some rennovation we decided to stay at the Hotel des Grands Hommes. We were delighted with the service, particularly the friendliness and warmness of the staff. On New Year's Eve we found a lovely bottle of champagne in our room, which was an unexpected but very nice touch. The location is ideal for seeing all the nearby sites, and nothing can prepare you for seeing the Pantheon by night as you walk back to your hotel. Without question we would stay in this hotel again.

  • Liked — Its staff and location
  • Disliked — Room size is small but typical for Paris
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DndG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2008

The Grands Hommes was warm and inviting with beautiful french decor...the rooms were beyond charming as was the staff!
Great location across from the Pantheon - with our room having front-side balcony overlooking the majestic Pantheon. Down the street from Luxemburg Jardin and easily walkable to Seine and St. Germain..... a little spot of perfection...loved it!!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank mariaheit30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#145 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#91 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#117 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#280 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#173 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#159 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Property: Hotel des Grands Hommes
Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#80 Family Hotel in Paris
#175 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing