We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”
Review of Hotel du Lys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Lys
Ranked #1,281 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Convenient location & accessible to subway, supermarkets and sightseeing points. We were a bit clumsy carrying large luggages by staircases on 4th floors for 3 girls. Room was clean and cosy old European style. Noted it was a historic building and appreciate their efforts to restore the old building in good shape. Lovely breakfast in a tiny cosy room.

Room Tip: Carrying large luggages better staying in lower floor for ladies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 59fannyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    88
    59
    21
    24
See reviews for
49
88
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I first went to Hotel du Lys thirty years ago with my husband and 16 yr old daughter. We stayed there twice that year for several days and found it to our liking. It's an old historic building and perhaps it is not for everyone: no elevator, no "glitz". But it was just right for us then and great for me solo now. From here you can walk to all the places I'm usually interested in seeing in and around the Latin Quarter. I was thrilled with the ease with which I could get to Charles de Gaul airport from the hotel: a very short walk to the RER and an express metro ride for 9.5 Euros! The neighborhood has many restaurants from which to choose. If you want a livelier scene, you can find it about three blocks away in any direction . The French breakfast is perfect and the staff extremely helpful. I'll always go back.

Room Tip: For some the stairs could present a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel is well located but I think that is the best it can offer. The room was clean but a bit weary rather than romantic. Also my room was quite small. On the other hand, as it was clean and I also liked the small breakfast I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A friend and I had a twin room on the 3rd floor. The building dates back to the 1600's and is lovely. Our room was spacious and clean with everything we needed. The en suite was small but perfectly adequate. We left the window open at night and found the small street to be quite quiet. The continental breakfast was the same for all, a croissant and generous hunk of baguette with preserves and as much coffee as we wanted. It was delicious and set us up well for the day. The staff were all friendly and kind. We wouldn't hesitate to go there again - the location was excellent for tourists to walk or take buses or metro to all parts of the city. The stairs go round in a spiral and are slightly uneven and there is no lift. Anyone with heavy luggage or difficulty climbing stairs should be aware of this and ask for a room on a lower floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbug860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed in Hotel du Lys in May 2014. Location is great, 5 walk to Notre Dame, but at the same time located on a very quiet street with almost no traffic.Trains -RER from the airopt and to versales are 5 minutes away. Situated in Latin quarter with lots of restaurants. restaurants in Latin quarter are made for tourists and you will not find superb french cuisine, but prices are normal.
hotel du Lys is very small and comfy.staff was very friendly.the only problem was the stairs to our 4th floor, because there is no lift, so I won't recomend to take a large suit case ;) but there is room on the ground floor.building is very old and reception area is furnished with antiques so there is a dust smell at public area. bed and especially pillow were very comfortable.generally 9 of 10 (for the stairs)

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jekaterina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tombac98
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Hotel Du Lys has fantastic ambiance- it is a 1600's building with exposed beams, and all the wear and tear of a dwelling that age gives it a beautiful, ancient feel. Do not take a high room number if you may have difficulty with uneven steps; we were on the 2nd and 3rd floors and it was very difficult to make the climb. The bedspreads are the old, 70's type, and ours had large stains on them. The pillows are yellowed and aged, and the hair dryer tips are held on with wide masking tape. Clear plastic throwaway cups are provided for drinking. The shower in one room was a dribble, and good and strong in the other. The breakfast is hand set up individually on a tray and nicely presented. The location is great- just a short walk to the river and Notre Dame- however the street was constantly used as a urinal during our 3 night stay, and the stench was hard to stomach. Staff are friendly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tombac98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESteffen, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lys, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your commentary..

About urinal, it appends sometimes in a place not close to the hôtel. If people can do yhis means the street is very very quiet. . In all cities in the wold this append in quiet streets. You cant't have all the advantages !!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel is on an excellent area. However:
1. there is no elevator and the stairs are very narrow,
2. I had book a room 6 months ago stating that I would come with a small baby and they put me at the 4th floor. As a result I had to carry the baby through the dangerous and narrow stairs.
3. I had requested for a bassinet (baby bed). However, the mastress for the bed was half the size of the bed making the bed totally inappropriate. The baby has to sleep with us at the adult bed.
4. The adult bed was very small.
5. The ceilings were really small.
6. While checking out, i found out that there are also rooms actually next to the reception and the road, which means that the customers would not be able to sleep due to the noise.
I would definetily not go again at this hotel which does not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alino003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESteffen, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lys, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire. Vous aviez une chambre sur cour qui ne vous a pas permis de constater :

1 que la rue est très très calme
2 que toutes nos chambres sur rue disposent de double vitrage.

Que vous commentiez mal votre chambre c'est normal et votre droit. Par contre commenter des chambres où vous n'êtes jamais entrée est pour le moins surprenant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Eugenie
Hotel Eugenie
#1,047 of 1,802 in Paris
288 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#445 of 1,802 in Paris
373 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel St. Andre des Arts
Hotel St. Andre des Arts
#1,304 of 1,802 in Paris
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Cluny Square
Hotel Cluny Square
#389 of 1,802 in Paris
671 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
#957 of 1,802 in Paris
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lys

Property: Hotel du Lys
Address: 23 rue Serpente, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,281 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a 17th century old mansion situated in a very quiet street, Hotel du Lys is one of the best offers in Paris for its location, services and reasonable prices. It is located on the left bank, in a stone’s throw from the Seine river, and in walking distance of Notre-Dame, the Louvre, the Sorbonne, the Luxembourg 's garden, Saint Germain des Prés, Beaubourg, Saint Louis island, Invalides, Sainte Chapelle and the Musee d’Orsay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lys Hotel
Du Lys Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing