We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area - Terrible hotel”
Review of Hotel du Lys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Lys
Ranked #1,365 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel is on an excellent area. However:
1. there is no elevator and the stairs are very narrow,
2. I had book a room 6 months ago stating that I would come with a small baby and they put me at the 4th floor. As a result I had to carry the baby through the dangerous and narrow stairs.
3. I had requested for a bassinet (baby bed). However, the mastress for the bed was half the size of the bed making the bed totally inappropriate. The baby has to sleep with us at the adult bed.
4. The adult bed was very small.
5. The ceilings were really small.
6. While checking out, i found out that there are also rooms actually next to the reception and the road, which means that the customers would not be able to sleep due to the noise.
I would definetily not go again at this hotel which does not worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alino003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESteffen, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lys, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire. Vous aviez une chambre sur cour qui ne vous a pas permis de constater :

1 que la rue est très très calme
2 que toutes nos chambres sur rue disposent de double vitrage.

Que vous commentiez mal votre chambre c'est normal et votre droit. Par contre commenter des chambres où vous n'êtes jamais entrée est pour le moins surprenant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 258 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Delightful Parisian Hotel with authentic exposed beams and brickwork, timbered ceilings and old oak furniture and wardrobes. 5min walk from Notre-Dame and adjacent to Odeon Metro (direct to Gare du Nord) and St Michel RER (direct to Airport). Friendly staff who have limited English. Perfect French breakfast - lots of coffee, orange juice, croissants and bread. Very clean with modern bathrooms. Bedrooms are double-glazed but some slight street noise. Higher bedrooms are quieter and with superb views but there's no lift!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter but no lift. Compromise on 2nd or 3rd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patdixon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is ok. The rooms are quaint but with character. We were on the 4th floor - no elevator! There was actually a problem with our reservation and the manager was willing to work with us but the night guy at the front desk was horrible! Totally unwilling to help so we checked out. Too bad because the hotel wasn't bad. The manager waa apologetic the next day though.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so try for a room as close to the ground floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

It is an authentic XVIIth century building with nice furniture and decoration. The location is excellent between the 5th district (Quartier Latin) and the 6th (ST Germain) just near Notre Dame and other sights nearby.
The staff is really kind, breakfast is a real french breakfast.
It is a bit tiring to climb the stairs if your room is on the 3rd or 4th floor but it is worth it.

Room Tip: Each room is differently decorated, but if you are old or not willing to climb stairs, try to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beabrigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a wonderful week in Alsace. When we arrived the young man behind the desk shuffled through our papers with a quizzical look and pronounced that our reservation was cancelled. I said ‘no I didn’t cancel’ and I confirmed the reservation directly with the hotel via e-mail 3 weeks ago with a reply from the hotel agreeing to the reservation. Oh, he said, Booking.com cancelled it. He produced the print out to verify it. Upon examination of the printout (in French) we noticed the hotel requested the cancellation. When we grilled him about it he finally confessed that he asked Booking.com to cancel it because he tried to verify our credit card but it failed twice. We don’t know why, however we had no problems with the other 5 hotels the previous week. I explained to him that travelers carry multiple credit cards and there was never any issue with payment. Anyway the first night he put us up in an ‘apartment’ belonging to the hotel (I won’t go into that one!!) and then gave us a room with a full bed and a twin. The room was large enough but full of BED! The bathroom sink took up most of the bathroom. We had a good experience with this hotel 20 years ago and have always recommended this hotel, but since they canceled us the way they did I won’t recommend it, won’t stay there again, and won’t ever again use BOOKING.COM to make a reservation.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, Paris is full of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESteffen, Gérant at Hotel du Lys, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We very think your commentary is not appropriate. For the day you come, the hôtel was full and for keeping a room for you we must refuse many reservations requests.
In your very long commentary you never speak about what would happened if you couldn't come. In this case as your credit card will be rejected and we lose money : we keep a room requested by many people and we lose the night because nobody comes.

That's why for the days the hotel is going to be full we verify all the credit cards less seven days before arrival. You say you didn't have problems with the same credit card in other hotels. This mean that not like of Hotel du Lys they were not going to be full. In this case if you come or not, they were not going to lose money because they must not refuse reservations for keeping a room available for you.

When we see your credit card was wrong we told it to Booking.com. This for having the numbers of an other credit card and we keep the room for you. For this Booking.com sent you an email. We wait 72 hours. You never answer. So as it is the rule we ask Booking.com to cancel the reservation. For this Booking.com sent you a second email.. Again you never answer.

It is a very good thing to reserve rooms by internet but if you give wrong credit card and if you don't read your mails you will have problems very often. So please don't do it like this.

When you arrived we knew it was very difficult to find for this night a room in hotel in Paris. We had the right to leave you on your own. Fair we propose you a solution which was correct and you accepted after seeing it. When we read you commentary we regret our fair reaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Situated in the lively part of the Quartier Latin it still is a haven of tranquility. The old spiral stair case can be difficult for people unable to move freely but if you are fit it is quite okay ...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is my third stay at Hotel du Lys over many years, and it keeps getting better. Its location is superb, within easy walking distance of most of the great sites in Paris, the Metro and the RER. Yes, the room is small, but it and the bathroom were both very clean. And it was quiet enough for someone who is so picky about noise like me! Breakfast was perfectly fine for me, and the staff were most helpful. They even arranged for me to have breakfast earlier than normal on my departure day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCL02129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Eugenie
Hotel Eugenie
#1,107 of 1,804 in Paris
301 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Cluny Square
Hotel Cluny Square
#359 of 1,804 in Paris
708 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#216 of 1,804 in Paris
497 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#175 of 1,804 in Paris
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lys

Address: 23 rue Serpente, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,365 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $108 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a 17th century old mansion situated in a very quiet street, Hotel du Lys is one of the best offers in Paris for its location, services and reasonable prices. It is located on the left bank, in a stone’s throw from the Seine river, and in walking distance of Notre-Dame, the Louvre, the Sorbonne, the Luxembourg 's garden, Saint Germain des Prés, Beaubourg, Saint Louis island, Invalides, Sainte Chapelle and the Musee d’Orsay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lys Hotel
Du Lys Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing