We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Lys
Nearby Hotels
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Peninsula Paris(Paris)
$1,100
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$348
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$263
$211
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Muguet(Paris)
$208
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$234
$172
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$198
$168
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel La Manufacture(Paris)(Great Value!)
$138
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Elysees Union(Paris)(Great Value!)
$294
$224
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$400
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
55
99
61
21
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
99
61
21
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftnotre damebaguetteauthentic parisian experiencecroissantslatin quarterbutter and jamwinding stairsa ground floor roomgermain areaquiet streetcentral locationfamily hotelrooms are smallpetit dejeunerbasic amenitiesevery morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 268 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I first stayed at the Hotel de Lys in 1970 in a lovely room on the 5th floor. When I made our reservation this time, as we are of a certain age, I asked for a room on a lower level (there is no lift). We were given Room 6, one flight up, with an ensuite bathroom. The room was very comfortable with plenty of storage. The only drawback was that it faces onto rue Serpente which can be quite noisy. The included breakfast was a croissant, chunk of baguette, butter, jam, and coffee (or tea or hot chocolate) - simple and delicious. Saint Martin, Sainte Chapelle, Notre Dame, dozens of restaurants, and the Metro and RER lines to and from Charles DeGaulle are only a short walk away. Hotel du Lys is a very comfort hotel, reasonably priced, and in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MarianMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

A charming hotel in the middle of Paris !!! That is the opening sentence on the hotel's website. This is NOT AT ALL the case. It is an old, neglected zero-star hotel in which only the location has some value.
The hotel reception is a small desk. The gentleman at that desk could not or did not want to speak English. In a very unfriendly manner hand me the key to a room on the fifth floor with no elevator. The stairs had an old dirty unfastened carpet that made it dangerous to climb or go downstairs.
The room I had was not cleaned yet and the bed not made. Housekeeping was behind schedule. When I returned, the room was done. The room was very dark with only one floor lamp and two bed lamps. The carpet is old and looks dirty with stains. The bathroom looks modern but the tub had some stains like dirt or they were scratches in the white surface due to extensive usage. I was very happy I was there for only one night.
The hotel claims to have WiFi, but the signal is above the third floor very week and unusable.
The breakfast room was the entry hall (next to the reception). It had three tables and like 6 chairs. The breakfast was one piece of bread, one croissant with butter or jam and coffee. The facilities and service received is not worth more than €25 to 30 instead of €100 charged. It is a shame that the place has been neglected like this and it is now just past glory.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZjouPalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I were only staying in Paris for one night and were looking for a nice hotel, reasonably priced and in a good location. This hotel offered it all. The staff was wonderful. Our room was large and clean. We were on the top floor and the WIFI reception was excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Hotel du Lys was a charming hotel with great location, a short walk away from Notre Dame and La Seine. Despite great hospitality the rooms were outdated in decor and slightly dirty. The manager was very friendly and was very helpful on advising what destinations to visit whilst in Paris and the sorrounding area. I suggest you visit Chateau Fontainbleu, its about a 1 hour train ride from Paris. It offers much of the same authenticity as Versailles but without the large crowds and beautiful grounds. I would recomend this hotel to anyone who wants to really get a feel for the culture of Paris and who would like to see many of the iconic attractions of Paris.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NatePodie387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Hotel du Lys is an excellent value in a perfect location. This is a unique property in an old building - don't stay here if you expect opulent surroundings or standard rooms.

I took a first-floor double which was roomy and well-appointed. My travel companion chose a cozy single on the top floor overlooking the rooftops of Paris. Breakfast was included in the price. Note that there is no elevator or air-conditioning. There are, however, rooms off the lobby which might work for travelers who want to avoid stairs.

It's convenient to everything via metro (Odeon and St.-Michel) bus, or a leisurely walk through the interesting streets near the Sorbonne, St.-Germain and the Luxembourg Gardens. A post office, small grocery and many, many cafes and restaurants are in the neighborhood. The major museums are nearby, as are most right bank sights.

Here is a more detailed report, with photos
https://juliesparis.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/the-hotel-du-lys/

I vote Yes for the Hotel du Lys!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank legato7963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews