We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent recommendation from a friend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Ranked #933 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
paradise, arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An excellent recommendation from a friend”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Note: Sorry for the long post....

My mother and I came into Paris for a few days September, 2012 via the Eurostar from London. Hotel du Quai-Voltaire was recommended by a friend as she teaches here in the summer every year. It is well situated for every thing one would like to do in Paris....even if it is a short stay like ours (3 days) or a longer stay like my friend. (6 weeks.) It is moderately priced but the location is what makes this an excellent bargain. It over looks the Seine river, has beautiful views in all directions, is a short walk to the Louvre across the river, and took about 10 minutes in traffic in a taxi from Gard du Nord.

When we got to the taxi rank, and if you are like mom and I, and could speak very little French, write it down for the driver. I have to apologize to the Parisians as I butchered their language, but I tried, Merci- S'il vous plaît! When we got out at Voltaire, I noted that all the windows faced Voltaire Ave and it was with heavy traffic. I thought for sure that sleeping would be a disaster! We checked in and the front desk spoke English. There is a lift/elevator, but it is very small.... and as typical Americans, we are 'fluffy' people....plus our luggage.... and mom and I wondered if we would make it to the 5th floor! (Obviously, we did.)

The room was smallish, but as with any city in the world, that is almost a norm. Beds felt comfy. Furniture was at a minimum, but your in Paris to see Paris! What surprised us the most and was most pleasing about the room were the windows. First, they were heavy glass with metal frames. I opened one and they feel heavy as they look. They were SOUND PROOF! Hurrah! The bathrooms had the same windows with Frosted glass. They opened wide for a lovely view of the Seine and down either side of the street. Good photo op. Room did not smell like smoke, thank goodness. Sheets and linens were clean. One small issue for us was that the shower was about 12 inches high off the floor, so you had to step in and out with aid of handle. The tile floor is extremely slippery!!!!! so make sure something is under your feet when you descend. Overall, nice hot water and clean towels- good for me. We had to leave the bath door closed all night because another downfall of the view is the river tours. They have huge lights that light up the buildings as they float by. Especially the Voltaire- I thought there was some alien space craft outside shining in the windows it was so bright! (Okay, not really, but the light was eerie from it shining through the trees.) Everything was kept clean and new towels every day, even though we would have used the same for a few days. Front desk was very nice. One night we were just tired and wanted to kick back with some wine. The hotel keep was also the bar keep! He poured us some wine, gentle music in background and we planned our next day. We were alone in the dining room. We never did eat there, we were off and running every morning. Across the hall is a charming reading room, very comfy chairs as we waited for our taxi to the train on more than one occasion.

From here we walked to: Notre dame, St. Chappell, Louvre, picked up a boat ride to Eiffel tower and Champs Elysees. We had a mini bus tour to Versailles, and it was just across the river, and also near Angelique's hot chocolate! More on that later in an additional review. We took a taxi to Gard Montparnasse ( Again, write it out) to the Loire Valley for Château's and wine sampling. Worked out terrific. We were on a high speed train and it took an hour and half to get to Tours. It was a lovely town and I would have stayed there if we had more time.
To sum it up: didn't have enough time in three days to do all that we wanted to do, so we need to go back. The hotel was in a great location and I would stay here again. Clean comfortable rooms for sleeping and showering, but not to stay for the hotel itself. Didn't use the metro, but on my next visit, I may have more French under my belt to communicate better to do that. Louvre is close, could have gone twice...enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms looked more updated than ours on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cworth2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    176
    53
    30
    18
See reviews for
50
197
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had booked a small room on the last floor without the view to the Seine and the Louvre which is certainly amazing. I wanted a quiet room.
My room was just under the roof and some of the walls were inclined, so you had to pay attention about your head, but he overall impression was charming. I've got the room of the French poet Baudelaire.
Ok, it was small, but charming and the bath room also small, but everything you did need.
And you could really imagine the poet sitting at his desk on the window and writing.

Room Tip: I don't know how the windows are on the front side, where traffic is quiet heavy, but the view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWeber57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went back to the Quai Voltaire again in December & still love the place. It is what it is. A small hotel in the centre of Paris but with a view you'd willingly pay a lot more. It's location for pretty well everyting is great & far better than the other hotels we've stayed at for the same price.

The staff are very pleasant & will happily take the mickey out of your pigeon French. The concierge was most amused when I boldy announced we were staying for "quarante" rather than "quatre" nuits & given we were in room 41 he didn't let me forget it every time I asked for the key. But in a very kind way.

We were on the 4th floor again & room 41 was great. They were refurbishing some of the rooms on that level when we were there last month but to be honest I couldn't say if our room had been done already as it really suited us.

On the 1st day of our trip (12th Dec) we met Simon Calder (travel writer for The Independent in the UK) &, as he asked, we told him where we were staying & what we like about it. His article on "48 Hours in Paris" from the paper a few days later on Sat 22nd Dec listed the Quai Voltaire as one of his recommendations, with comments that reflect the generally held view on here.

http://www.independent.co.uk/travel/europe/48-hours-in-paris-8428141.html

We've loved our stays at this hotel. The rooms are what they are & bar knocking the place down they can't change them, but then you'd be paying 5 times the price just for the view. We've always found them very clean & let's face it the higher rooms are bound to be quieter, but then is anywhere in central Paris quiet?

Would we go back again? Mais oui. Certainement. And we will.

Room Tip: We've always stayed on the 4th floor which has been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were in Paris in late September 2012 and stayed at the Holtel du Quai Voltaire at the recommendation of friends who have used it as a base in Paris for years - we loved it - the rooms are small and very French with en suite and its like being in someones house - the staff are very friendly and helpful and breakfast is great - there is a small salon to read in or have a drink before heading out. The rooms do overlook the Quai Voltaire and the Seine river and are somewhat noisy but its a big city and thatwas part of the experience!! It is walking distance to just about everything and the views are great - we loved it and would go back again. Merci Paris! Je t'adore! A la procaine fois!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are noisy - so stay low!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alix1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had two rooms upstairs looking towards the Louvre. Comfortable hotel which is very reasonably priced for Paris. There is some traffic noise at peak times, but this is easily outweighed by the location. Comfortable walking distance to many Paris attractions. Reasonable eating options along Rue de Bac and many more along Boulevarde Saint-Germain

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cromson656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed here twice and loved it both times. What a superb location, right on the Seine, looking across to the Louvre, with the Musee D'Orsay a hundred plus metres down the road, and so much to see within walking distance. The rooms are adequate, with French windows that open to a balcony and views of river life. Peak hour can be noisy if you want to hear it, but the view compensates. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and stable over time, indicating good management. Our one issue is the breakfast which can become monotonous, so we now just provide our own. We will go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Ok, this hotel on it's own is probably not a 5 star, but I can not imagine staying anywhere else in Paris. the rooms are like being transported back in time about 200 years, with big doors leading out to a balcony, which looks out at the Louvre. The room is very small, but why are you spending much time in there anyway? The bathroom is downright cozy, so if you are a large person, taking a shower may be challenging. The bed was comfortable. The staff are amazingly sweet and helpful. The hotel location is the best feature. All the buses seem to end up eventually at the Louvre. We prefer the Metro, since it's easier to figure out, but if the weather is good, you can walk to a lot of the sights. True flavour of Paris, and I would not even look at staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjvdsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Bersoly's Saint Germain
Hotel Bersoly's Saint Germain
#1,352 of 1,802 in Paris
149 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Lille
Hotel de Lille
#237 of 1,802 in Paris
192 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#674 of 1,802 in Paris
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Universite
Hotel de l'Universite
#185 of 1,802 in Paris
397 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#727 of 1,802 in Paris
141 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#85 of 1,802 in Paris
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Quai-Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Quai-Voltaire

Property: Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Address: 19 quai Voltaire, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#555 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Quai-Voltaire 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Quai-Voltaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Quai Voltaire Hotel
Hotel Du Quai Voltaire
Hotel Quai Voltaire Paris
Quai Voltaire Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing