We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst hotels we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paris Hotel le Mediteraneen
Ranked #99 of 132 Paris B&B and Inns
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the worst hotels we have stayed in”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were travelling with 21 school students& 4 staff on a 3 week tour of Europe & this would have to have been the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The reception staff were friendly enough if you could communicate in French. The rooms were extremely small & scarcely fitted each group of girls, plus bags. There was a shower in our room which was mouldy, dirty & the shower door didn't slide shut....consequently the water went all over the floor which was an accident risk. We had to share a toilet out on a landing. The most difficult part was the narrow spiralling staircase which was the ONLY access to rooms on so many different levels. & almost impossible to carry a biggish suitcase to the room as there was little room on the staircase for a person, let alone a bag. There was no lift. I shudder to think what would have happened in an emergency & I was scared of slipping downwards & twisting an ankle on the downward journey with a suitcase. Two of the girls had chocolates that they had bought as presents "mysteriously" disappear from their bags while we were absent during the day & when we complained, we were fobbed off & they dismissed it. The only slightly positive thing to say was the breakfast was reasonable as long as you made it to the little dining room on time....a typical French breakfast with yoghurt, croissant & baguette, with choice of drinks. I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel as a place to stay

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    14
    13
    41
See reviews for
24
3
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This is among the dirtiest, unfriendliest hotels we have ever been to. The rooms are extremely small (it was not possible to walk between the beds) bedding was stained (pillow cases clearly had not been washed, just turned inside out), the floors, toilets and appliances where filthy. There were no towels, no soap, no toilet paper in any of the toilets on any of the floors. When requesting toilet paper, we were told that they had only one roll left, meanwhile they pulled a face at every request...We had a shower in our room (No 15) that was so dirty and moldy, we hesitated to even use it and there was no toilet in the room, contrary to what was paid for. Breakfast was minimal and they had run out of butter. The whole group of 22 people all agreed, this was the worst place we EVER stayed in. We paid for a room with three beds (had space for two) EU 149.-. Our friends paid for a room with four beds EU 169.-. That was a lot of money for what we got.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank gabgeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I took a group of 35 to this hotel, a mix of single students supposed to be in triples and married couples booked for doubles. Rooms were booked well in advance. When we arrived, they presented us with rooms that were intended to have about half the spaces of our group total and professed to have nothing more. In the end, they jammed as many beds as possible into each room, and all we could do was designate male and female rooms, break up the married couples, etc., and pack ourselves in. In summertime Paris, we had little choice but to deal with it, though there were clearly empty rooms in the hotel. Rooms were not on hallways but took off on various odd levels from one central narrow and dark staircase (I kept wondering what would happen in a fire), and small toilet rooms scattered in rather unpredictable places (no toilets in the rooms, or at least not in mine). No lift, of course. A great deal of street noise, especially from a pub right across the street. The staff was also stunningly rude. There was one key per room and when a person tried to return to the room early alone, they refused to let her in. Terrible hotel.

Room Tip: In another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48lbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel was clean and comfortable to stay in. The beds were comfortable and changed on a daily basis. We stayed in a quintuple room which was a good size and had our own toilet and shower. The staff were very nice, friendly and spoke sufficient English, they always asked if we needed anything and if we were happy. It is in a quiet area and a 4 min walk to the station Gare de Lyon, where you can get a train straight to Disneyland Paris and also the Metro. There are a couple of shops where you can buy snacks etc.... but the supermarket is a bit of a walk! The only downside to this hotel is that there are no lifts, this does get tiring if you are returning late at night and staying on the third floor and above! Overall I highly recommend this hotel for it's location, staff and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Munira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel was THE worst I have ever stayed in.We booked a room for 4 and got a room that should have only slept 2 people comfortably. There was no lift and we were on the fourth floor.The steps of the spiral staircase were so narrow you had to practically step sideways on them. It was a real difficulty with all our luggage. On top of all this, the hotel did not feel like a safe place; we did not even leave our valuables in the room when we went out. The walls were thin with no soundproofing. When we stayed there, in the height of the summer temperatures were reaching 30°C plus. We asked for fans for the rooms and this is what we were told " I think we have one fan but it's broken". The standards of hygiene and safety were awful; Dirty towels, Shaky bunks, See through windows with insufficient net curtains, NO FIRE ESCAPE- Not trying to freak you out, but if there had been a fire everyone above floor one would have definitely died!!!

Room Tip: If you want to get the best room.... GO TO A DIFFERENT HOTEL
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triona165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

a relative travelled to this budget hotel and paid 80 euros for a very small double, single socket in the room but no mirror for drying hair, spiral staircase to the top floor with luggage was a joke and then finally items were taken from the room, others have mentioned this, AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martigny, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My personal experience:

I booked for 4 days. On the arrival, they make you pay the total amount. In my case, 89 euros per night for a room with toilet (79 regular price + 10). What I got is a room without toilet. The same happened to 2 colleagues of mine. Not to mention that the rooms are not very clean, the pillows are uncomfortable and some lights do not work.

We all three complained and asked for a reimbursement of 10 euros per night, since this is what a room without toilet costs. Instead, what the woman on charge suggested was to give a discount for our next visit or free breakfast, but in any case a reimbursement. So basically, we were swindled. Furthermore, by suggestion such a compensaion they tried to convert the swindle into "loyal customers".

On top of that, this same woman (whose name is Dgemila or something like that) was apparently very kind during the first days, speaking in English with me (and even trying her spanish). During the complaints (mainly with my colleagues, since they are french) she didn't speak to me in English when I tried to pose my complaints.

Conclusion: stay away from booking in this hotel. They might charge you something that you are not receiving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adolfo_lopez_mendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Prince Albert Lyon Bercy
Prince Albert Lyon Bercy
#1,467 of 1,802 in Paris
153 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Albe Bastille
Hotel Albe Bastille
#606 of 1,802 in Paris
437 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,164 of 1,802 in Paris
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Prince Albert Concordia
Prince Albert Concordia
#1,281 of 1,802 in Paris
73 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de Reims
Hotel de Reims
#1,101 of 1,802 in Paris
279 reviews
Montmartre
Luxelthe
Luxelthe
#25 of 132 in Paris
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Hotel le Mediteraneen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Hotel le Mediteraneen

Property: Paris Hotel le Mediteraneen
Address: 93 rue de Charenton, 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Paris Hotel le Mediteraneen 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Paris Hotel le Mediteraneen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing